We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure”
Review of Ennys

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Hilary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ennys
Ranked #1 of 3 St Hilary B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent three very relaxing days at Ennys, Gill makes you feel so welcome, the rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable, there is a swimming pool and tennis court which we didn't have time to use as we were so busy exploring! We are at Ben's Cornish Kitchen, The Victoria Arms and The Square, all of which were recommended by our host and were superb. Definitely a place to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Ennys
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 64 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Everything is absolutely perfect: nice place; very quiet, spacious and pretty rooms; great, tasty and fresh breakfast; good location for sports and running.
Very beautiful stay, with affordable prices and good services. GO!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank principarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Enny's is tucked away in the countryside of Cornwall, pefect for a stay away from the noise. We were warmly welcomed by the owner with a cup of tea in the garden. The rooms are generous. The buildings are sitting in a luscious garden.The swimming-pool is not really deep, but okay for a short swim. The tennis-court ist not really Wimbledon, but you could play, if you wish.
In the morning you get a healthy breakfast (an unhealthy as well…). And you'll find a few good restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernhard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for four nights during the recent heatwave, having first visited four years ago and been suitably impressed. We were again. This is everything a small hotel or b&b should be. The whole place exudes comfort and elegance without being stuffy.
We had one of the larger rooms in the main house with two sash windows overlooking the garden - and lovely window seats - and a very comfortable bed. Sunlight streamed through into it making it light and airy.
Breakfasts are wonderful and there is also the added bonus of afternoon tea - scones or cake - if you are around between 4.30 and 5.30.
One of the bonuses if it is good weather is a lovely outdoor pool - very warm - and a grass tennis court. The pool is secluded - like being in a corner of Tuscany. There is also a sitting room for guests with lots of books and games if the weather is not so good.
Gill the owner is extremely knowledgable about the area - where to go and where to eat.
This is a real find itself

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikki0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well what a little treat. Once a small gentleman's farm in a remote rural location, lovely gardens and heated swimming pool.

We have just returned from a four night stay supported by super weather. Our room was bright, airing and spotlessly clean. Bathroom and shower was surprising, large double power shower, tray big enough for two! Self catering cottages are also available if preferred.

Owned and efficiently run by the capable Gill Charlton, Daily Telegraph travel writer and former editor who developed Ennys with passion and thought over the past 15 years. Very reasonable rates and centrally located. First class cooked breakfast is a must with a continental option if preferred.

Close to Penzance, St ives and the magnificent Kota restaurant at Porthleven. No evening meals so treat yourself to a little piece of paradise in the beautiful Cornish countryside. Ennys is hard to beat!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We (3 of us) stayed here for 4 days the first week of September. We had two rooms & both were lovely. This is an excellent boutique hotel - everything is first class! The rooms are comfortable and very nicely decorated. And the bathrooms are a real treat - they are very updated. The room I stayed in had a fully glassed-in shower, which is so unusual for England! (Not the half-glass showers that make you spray water on the floor) And there are face cloths(unusual for Europe) as well as fluffy towels on a towel warmer.
Everything in your room is well thought out for your comfort - - a tea service in your room with biscuits, a wall mirror in the room (very thoughtful), comfortable bedding and a comfortable chair, books and magazines for you to read, and even a box of real tissues! (very unusual for most hotels in the UK) There is also a TV in the room. The room is truly a haven in which to relax.
But that is not all, there is a main sitting room downstairs which we put to use often. There are comfy sofas and chairs, games to play, plenty of books, and even a CD player to listen to. Each afternoon the owner, Gill Charlton, serves guests tea and cake - delicious!
The grounds of Ennys are beautiful, too. There are various garden areas (including her vegetable garden), there is a heated outdoor pool, and a grass tennis court, and the view behind the parking area is lovely.
Gill is a most helpful and attentive host. If she gives you sight seeing ideas, you can believe that they are worthwhile to visit! Every recommendation she gave us to see or do turned out to be wonderful.
The breakfasts at Ennys are simply wonderfully delicious. And Gill tries to accommodate most special diets (vegetarian, gluten-free, etc.) Just let her know in advance.
Though the roads are narrow to get to Ennys, it is very centrally located for seeing all of Cornwall. We covered a lot of the area during our 4 day visit.
www.ennys.co.uk I would definitely go to Ennys again!
I have to tell you that I am only writing this review because I liked Gill so much, and want her to continue to have business - - otherwise I'd keep this jewel of a place to myself!

Room Tip: I believe that they are all good rooms!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jainsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had learnt some years ago to appreciate staying at Ennys, but this year it is better than ever. The quality of everything is absolutely first class - very comfortable beds, gracious rooms,smart bathrooms, perfect breakfast,and a beautiful position up a one mile drive, with good walks nearby. Well placed for driving anywhere in West Cornwall. The whole thing put together and run efficiently by the expert Gill Charlton, who could not be more helpful. Great value, too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Hilary
2.2 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Old Vicarage
Old Vicarage
#2 of 3 in St Hilary
40 reviews
2.5 mi away
Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Trevelyan Arms
Trevelyan Arms
#1 of 2 in Goldsithney
46 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ennys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ennys

Address: Trewhella Lane, St Hilary TR20 9BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Hilary
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St Hilary
Price Range: $115 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Georgian country house between Penzance and St Ives. Bedrooms are stylish with big beds, sparkling new bathrooms and artworks from the owner's extensive travels. Enjoy the heated swimming pool and rare grass tennis court sunk deep in the sub-tropical gardens. Sumptuous sitting rooms, award-winning breakfasts, complimentary afternoon tea, and free wireless Broadband access. There's a riverside towpath all the way to the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ennys Cornwall/St Hilary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing