We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Torres Del Fuerte
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in El Fuerte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Prior to getting onto El Chepe for our ride into Copper Canyon we stayed at this beautiful Hacienda. The structures were quite old but equipped with modern amenities. We stayed in room #12 which had a very comfortable king size bed. The bathroom was large with a big shower and plenty of hot water and pressure. The east facing window allow's the sun to brighten the room in the morning. Breakfast is included in the price, do not miss a meal in this beautiful dining room. They also serve dinner with reservations which is not included in the room price. The food and service are 5 star quality not to mention the decor. The staff were very accommodating and allowed us to leave our vehicle on the property for a small fee while we were aboard the train to the Copper Canyon. If you drive be aware of the many one-way streets in old Mexican towns.

H&K Upland,Ca.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bajafix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 75 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

The moment you step through the gates of this hotel you know you are somewhere special. The grounds are beautiful. Each large room is uniquely, beautifully decorated. The restaurant feels like an expensive private dining room. The service was great. The food excellent. Unexpected luxury in a town that was the starting point of our Copper Canyon trip.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank redheadca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

You know how you sometimes have a travel day that is one of the all time worst? We left Nogales Arizona in the morning, thinking that we would be in El Fuerte by 3 or 4 pm. Ha! First we had to stop for visas, and apparently this was one of the busiest travel days in Mexico, being the Saturday before Christmas. We were stuck in interminable lines for nearly 3 hours there. Then we were back on the road, only to encounter stopped traffic on the freeway between Hermosillo and Navojoa. That was a 2 hour delay (and we expected that there had been some horrific accident, but, no, they were doing road construction and funneling traffic down to one lane) to travel just a little over 2 miles. There was a toll booth right after the traffic jam, which seemed a little ironic, to pay for the use of that particular stretch of road. Then, we turned off the freeway towards El Fuerte, only to be met with a detour, on a dirt road, through agriculture fields and canals, and the signs abruptly stopped, leaving us lost and wandering at 8 pm at night.

So, we finally find our way to El Fuerte, and I think "since this has been the worst travel day EVER, I'm sure the hotel is going to suck as well."

I couldn't have been more wrong. It was a beautiful oasis in a hacienda, with soaring ceilings, deep red colors, large antique-looking armoires and furniture, gorgeous stone floor bathroom; just gorgeous and completely unexpected. When we woke up in the morning, we walked through a lovely garden area to the restaurant, which seemed to be housed in a former cathedral (looked at least several hundred years old). The whole thing was lovely, and we hated having to leave to go and board the train. They had arranged for a taxi to take us there, and we took off for our Copper Canyon Adventure. They also arranged for our car to be kept safely in their fenced garden area for the duration of the trip.

The good news was that we were staying at this lovely hotel again at the end of our trip! We asked for the same room, and it was like coming home to our own opulent hacienda!

PS Only one complaint, I believe that someone who worked there turned on loud mariachi music at about 5:30 in the morning, and it continued throughout breakfast. Someone might want to let them know that most travellers are exhausted and don't need an early morning wake-up call of that type.

Room Tip: The first room inside the front gate is absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nursetommey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I've stayed in 4 different hotels in El Fuerte, and this has the nicest rooms. They are all differently decorated, and they have character. Mine was #1 (Moroccan style) and I really liked it. Every detail was well thought.
It has a nice restaurant open for dinner, and a bar.
The place in general is "cold" (beautiful, but cold), and that's why I gave it the 3 points. If it had more services, or more opportunities for interaction with people, I wouldn't doubt to give it more.
Absolutely lovely, and I will be back!

Room Tip: My room wasn't noisy as the ones facing the streets. If you want any other room, just take ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Psykiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Torres Del Fuerte while beginning our trip to the Copper Canyon.
It's a gorgeous colonial style hotel and the rooms are large, unique and very comfortable.
Lupita at the front desk was most helpful in accommodating our group of 5. There were a couple of issues which were dealt with efficiently and professionally. The breakfast, which was included,
was delicious and plentiful and in a charming restaurant attached to the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

An amazing hotel to start the adventure of Chepe train tour. Great rooms, food, and hospitality. We loved the decoration.

El Fuerte is a beautiful town full of history and with amazing places to take lots of pictures.

The hotel, decorated with exquisite style will make you travel through time to an ancient colonial mexican age.

We really recomend the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertoPlata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Historic hotel. Central area ~400yrs old. Area where rooms are ~270 years old. Very unique rooms with upgraded fixtures mixed with old doors and furniture. Bar and restaurant on site. Free secure Wifi near hotel office and restaurant. Nice courtyard. Don't miss the humming birds at the bird feeder near the kitchen area behind the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Fuerte hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada del Hidalgo
Hotel Posada del Hidalgo
#1 of 6 in El Fuerte
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Fuerte
Hotel El Fuerte
#3 of 6 in El Fuerte
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Choza
Hotel la Choza
#4 of 6 in El Fuerte
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda ST Cruz EL Fuerte
Hacienda ST Cruz EL Fuerte
#2 of 8 in El Fuerte
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mansion Serrano Hotel
Mansion Serrano Hotel
#1 of 8 in El Fuerte
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rio Vista Hotel
Rio Vista Hotel
#1 of 5 in El Fuerte
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torres Del Fuerte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torres Del Fuerte

Address: Calle Rodolfo G. Robles No 102, El Fuerte 81820, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > El Fuerte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in El Fuerte
Price Range: $105 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torres Del Fuerte 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Boutique Hacienda Hotel" An eclectic mix of casual glamour, luscious gardens, individually decorated rooms with class and understated elegance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Torres Del Fuerte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torres Del Fuerte El

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing