We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on whole trip!!!!”
Review of Rio Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rio Vista Hotel
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was the best place I stayed on my whole trip to Mexico!

First there's the extraordinary river view: Magnificent and unbeatable anywhere in town.
But, secondly, there's Chal, who runs the place, is a mine of information, and incredibly helpful.
I was in town off-season and without him I would have been lost. He knows where everything is, gives directions, is always on hand.... And he even took me to the train station next morning.

Rooms are clean and comfortable and the air conditioning works well. No question: staying at Chal's place makes a vist to El Fuerte a highlight of your trip!

Room Tip: Check out the alternative views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura T, Manager at Rio Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thanks my friend for allow us show you this amazing part of México. Our team really appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you again!!

Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 109 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

I just want to let people know that this hotel used to be nice and beautiful, but now is the worst in price and acommodations.
My friend and I arrived at night, the room was crowded of bugs (crickets), most of the rooms were closed, the outside areas were in dirty and like a ruin.
We spend the next days in other hotel, with the same price much much better and safer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mariana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

We stayed at Rio Vista as the start of a Copper Canyon trip. Chal was great. We arrived at his hotel to find that our tour organizer (Canyon Travel) had taken our money but made no arrangements at all. Chal scrambled and put together our tour with discounted prices to try to make up for Canyon Travel's fraud. He was also a fellow birder, so we had good times with him on a river tour and also just sitting on the deck. Rio Vista is situated at the top of the hill overlooking the river. The mist on the water in the morning was mesmerizing. We had wonderful birding just sitting on the deck. This is a great hotel for people who want comfort and contact with Mexico without being isolated in 5-star luxury. Also ideal for birders!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retired_60ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

My wife and I spent 2 nights going and 2 nights coming back on a Copper Canyon tour. The Rio Vista is a bit of an off-beat place but very charming in its own right because it offers the only view of the river of all the hotels in El Fuerte. The proprieter, Chal is as about as accomodating as you can get and went out of his way to make us feel at home. The meals were good and the margaritas some of the best we've ever had. The hotel sits high above the river and the property offers good views, particularly from the outdoor eating area. We love birds and saw many species while relaxing and enjoying our meals and drinks.

Chal took us on several tours. We drove out to a local indian reservation and were very entertained watching native dancing and Chal's brother took us on floating tour down the river where we saw vast numbers of nesting Great Blue Herons, White Egrets and Cormorants in the trees. We also walked a couple of miles and saw several new bird species and visited some 2500 year old petroglyphs.

If you want a 4/5 star experience this is not the place but if you want a friendly atmosphere with adequate rooms, good meals and great drinks then this is the place. My only warning is come prepared for biting noseeums and put on repellent before going outdoors -- believe me when I say it's better to be safe than sorry. My first afternoon I got over 50 bites on my lower legs while walking around the historical district in shorts from 4-5:30PM in late March. They don't start itching until some hours later and then itch for 2 or 3 days!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed here on the 1st and last 2 nights of a burro hiking tour in Copper Canyon. The owner, Chal, is very nice and helpful, as are all the staff. He arranged for our transport to and from the Los Mochis airport.
The place is lovely, with bougainvilla and lots of other tropical flowers, hummingbirds and other colorful birds everywhere. There was a small gecko in the bathroom. The rooms are fairly large, colorful and rustic. A delicious breakfast is served on a charming balcony with a river view. On our last day Chal arranged for us a birding and petroglyph tour on the El Fuerte River with his brother Felipe. Felipe was an excellent and knowledgeable birding guide. Both Chal and Felipe speak good English.

The hotel is a short and easy walk from the center of town, next to the museum.

The shower worked fairly well, but the beds were a little too soft. I only gave it a 3 for sleep quality because of the roosters, donkeys and the noises from partying neighbors on the hillside below.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volcanolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2009

We arrived in El Fuerte after a long train ride from Creel. The taxi driver took us straight here; it is both well hidden but also very near the centre of the village.

Great welcome, very nice large room with bathroom on the ground floor level. Excellent food although there were few people staying while we were there. Very attentive host.

You can really relax here on the patio, looking out over the river. We wished we had had time to stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We stayed at Rio Vista Lodge as the first overnight on a tour with CanyonTravel.com....the amazing plethera of hummingbirds is terrific - but on the other hand, the laxidaisical attitude of customer service in Mexico prevails, it is once again 'buyer beware'. As an American, it is hard to prepare yourself for the pitfalls other than to lower your expectations to the ground. Thankfully we did not have power outages during our stay, but the ram-shackleness of the facility could have turned bad at any moment - fortunately we were okay and rolled with the punches. But I would recommend if you're booking with CanyonTravel.com, please read more of those reviews first.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plannersis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Fuerte hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada del Hidalgo
Hotel Posada del Hidalgo
#1 of 6 in El Fuerte
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Fuerte
Hotel El Fuerte
#3 of 6 in El Fuerte
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Choza
Hotel la Choza
#4 of 6 in El Fuerte
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torres Del Fuerte
Hotel Torres Del Fuerte
#2 of 6 in El Fuerte
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hacienda ST Cruz EL Fuerte
Hacienda ST Cruz EL Fuerte
#2 of 8 in El Fuerte
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mansion Serrano Hotel
Mansion Serrano Hotel
#1 of 8 in El Fuerte
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Vista Hotel

Address: Progreso s/n | next to the Mirador Museum, El Fuerte 81820, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > El Fuerte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in El Fuerte
Price Range: $52 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the highest hill with a view of the Fuerte River, this lodge is a reconstruction of the original stables to the fort. Verdant gardens are abuzz with hummingbirds and many endemic birds may be viewed from the balconies. The owner, Chal, is an avid birder and his river float offers true birding with a spotting scope. The open trailer offers birding to other areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rio Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing