We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Posada del Hidalgo
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in El Fuerte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights when we did the Copper Canyon train ride and enjoyed everything about it. Our room was spacious; the grounds were beautiful; the staff was helpful and friendly; the location was a very short block from the zocolo and a short walk to the mercado. The price was reasonable too!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ving98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 282 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Loved this hotel. It truly takes you back to Hacienda days. Huge patios, calming courtyards - and the rooms were great. Zorro made us laugh at happy hour and the meals we ate at the hotel were great. There is a good museum just a short walk away, and the town is lovely for a saunter about. The bird watching tour is well worth it as well - the guides really are helpful and really know the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I along with another couple spent 2 nights at the Hidalgo before we took the train through Copper Canyon. The hotel is a landmark with a great history. The commom areas are full of antiques and the grounds are beautiful.

The rooms were roomy and comfortable. Large antique doors with open beamed ceilings. The happy hour was fun and the food in the restaurant very good. The staff was welcoming and ready to help in any way we needed.

The only negative was that you must walk up a pretty steep ramp to get into the property from the street.

They set us up with 2 wonderful tours. A walk through the town of El Fuerte which was great - and a tour to an indian village. Do not miss this tour! We were welcomed into their village and homes. They cooked for us, made a clay pot while we watched and danced several native dances for us. This was truely one of the best tours I have ever taken - we were all moved by their hospitality, even in what we would think of as poverty.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel, owned by the Balderama family, was a complete surprise and a delight. By tradition the home of Zorro (who dresses up & dances for Happy Hour), the public rooms, spaces and gardens are immaculate. Antiques everywhere. Well-located next to the plaza. Negatives: tour groups seems to stay here. The floor-plan is odd, requiring you to climb a three-story cattle-ramp from the street to get to the Reception, which is hard to find and requires crossing through the bar. To get to your room, you must wheel your luggage thru the dining room. Very odd. Also, the pool and jacuzzi were cold. WARNING ABOUT EL FUERTE: despite the tropical warmth (especially if you are coming from Copper Canyon), do not wear short sleeves or short pants! I was eaten alive by sand-flies or mosquitos. Four days later, my legs still look like they've been caned.

Room Tip: The best rooms go to those who book directly w/ the hotel. Our friend did so, and got a charming sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalhasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First rate hotel and very well maintained. Our first dinner was upset when the restaurant ran out of shrimp but the alternative choices were fine. The hotel arranged a very successful boat-birding tour on our second day. Our guide was superb, quickly identifying the birds and their location. Bring your binoculars.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank JacksterDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

When completing the comments card provided by the hotel at the end of my two night stay, I really had difficulty thinking of anything they could improve on. This was a superb experience from start to finish. My booking and rate was arranged by Miguel at the front desk who was consistently helpful during my stay. In fact all the staff throughout the hotel were friendly and provided terrific service. The room (67) was big and had a massive, comfortable bed. The shower area was huge with an ample supply of big, soft towels. I used the pool on both days, the bar/pool area was lovely to relax around and the photos you see on the website don't deceive - it's cool. The breakfast service was excellent. Not much more I can say......book it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelbarLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel has outstanding service and a warm, comfortable and beautiful environment. I ate a delightful supper around the pool although there is a lovely dining room if preferred. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Access to wi fi in the main area. I am only sorry my stay was so brief.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Fuerte
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Choza
Hotel la Choza
#4 of 6 in El Fuerte
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torres Del Fuerte
Hotel Torres Del Fuerte
#3 of 6 in El Fuerte
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Fuerte
Hotel El Fuerte
#2 of 6 in El Fuerte
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fiesta Inn Los Mochis
Fiesta Inn Los Mochis
#2 of 18 in Los Mochis
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda ST Cruz EL Fuerte
Hacienda ST Cruz EL Fuerte
#2 of 8 in El Fuerte
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rio Vista Hotel
Rio Vista Hotel
#1 of 5 in El Fuerte
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada del Hidalgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada del Hidalgo

Address: Calle Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla 101, El Fuerte 81820, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > El Fuerte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in El Fuerte
Price Range: $95 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada del Hidalgo 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada del Hidalgo is a beautiful colonial mansion. This attractive structure was built in 1890 by Don Rafael Almada, a wealthy and influential "alcalde" (mayor) who spent five years and 100,000 gold pesos on its construction. The wooden trim was made from 285 Canadian red pine beams. Don Rafael's mansion was the largest and most beautiful in El Fuerte. It was built just below the old fort, and has four layers of brick and adobe construction. The iron work was brought from Mazatlan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Posada del Hidalgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Hidalgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing