We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vietnamese food in a nice setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yen for Viet

Yen for Viet
Ranked #24 of 126 Restaurants in Marrickville
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Vietnamese food in a nice setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The Bahn Xeo and Caramelized fish in clay pot - both signatures of the restaurant - were delicious! A nicely decorated restaurant with good ambience and value. Also try the beef noodle soup - tasty. A short walk from the Marrickville train station, the area around the restaurant in Marrickville is frankly nothing to shout about but we could see glimmers of what the town could develop into. We didn't get the chance to try the other Vietnamese restaurants on the same street but thank you to earlier reviewers for recommending this gem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good pho but tasteless grilled pork chop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

1. Pho was good, soup was tasty and no (or very little) MSG added. Beef was fresh but was a bit over-cooked. I like my beef pink when they served.
2. Grill pork-chop has no flavour at all. And I am sure it was not char-grilled. Tasteless pork-chop rice is not worth of 13 bucks. Avoid the pork-chop here. Many other viet places make superb pork-chop.
3. Two of us went in when the waiter was cleaning two table. One for 2-person and one for 4-person. The 4-person one was cleared first but the waiter didn't let us sit. We were told to wait for the 2-person table. Then a couple went in and took the 2-person table directly, while we were just standing besides. I think it was the mistake of the waiter who should advised the couple to wait. Then the manager-looking person came and was surprised that we were still standing. However, we still had to wait for another 2-person table to be vacant. He didn't offer the 4-person table for us. Finally we were seated and till the time we left the restaurant (about 9pm), the 4-person table was empty. I could understand if the table was reserved so it was not available. Sadly it seemed not to be the case. I don't like restaurant keep customer standing when there is table available just for gaining more potential profit, especially after they made mistake allowing others to cut into the line.
4. The restaurant is extremely noisy. We didn't feel comfortable staying for long because we couldn't hear each other. Maybe a good place for big gathering.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This small restaurant in the Illawarra road vietnamese strip of Marrickville will not disappoint. The restaurant is licensed (all wine $32) or BYO for $2 corkage per head.

We had rice paper rolls to begin with. They were nice. Next we had the crispy duck pancake filled with bean sprouts. This was delicious and a must have if dining here. A meal in itself. It is accompanied by fresh herbs. Next we had caramelised fish in a clay pot. This was very nice - the fish tasty and tender. The other dish we had was pork chop with rice noodles and vegetables. Fresh flavours and very tasty.

The total bill with a bottle of wine was $95. The service was very good.

We are visiting here from Canberra for a couple of weeks. I wonder how many meals we will manage to have here? Several I think.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tamsen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yen for Viet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a restaurant which is on very busy street on Illawarra road. there is a parking place but sometime hard to have a place. Not open up to 17:30 in the afternoon. it is usually very crowded and seats are limited but food are good and services are good , waiting time is reasonable, we can use Amex card here. Hygiene appears acceptable and decoration is average. Restaurant a bit in small size so tables are arranged a bit squashy. Good food include sweet and sour fish soup,roasted fish, fried rice and noodle with seafood

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hoa61nguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The best crispy pancake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Yen for Viet is authentic and great value. Crispy pancake is fantastic....the one with duck is sublime. Caramelised sword fish in clay pot was beautifully cooked. Service is very attentive and very knowledgeable about the dishes. Excellent value.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Siena69a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yen for Viet also viewed

 

Been to Yen for Viet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing