We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely retreat in the Somerset hills”
Review of Hillview Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croscombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillview Cottage
Ranked #4 of 5 Croscombe B&B and Inns
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat in the Somerset hills”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We spent five nights in the Garden Studio with our 11 month old baby and labrador. The studio turned out to be ideal for the 4 of us and had everything we could need on a break - a large and very comfortable bed, space for the travel cot, local guides, a compact kitchen, even including a washing machine and dishwasher! There is a pool in the summer, tennis courts, and lovely walks nearby, plus the town of Wells to explore. The owners were extremely welcoming and we would definitely come here again.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CharDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

It's been over a year since I stayed at Hillview Cottage, but I remember it with such great fondness I was compelled to write a review.

My friend and I felt extremely welcome, and enjoyed the country hospitality of the hosts. A cup of tea and biscuits around the huge dining table on arrival, pleasant conversation and information on history of the area.

Our room was a newly finished (at the time of our visit) log cabin with kitchenette and ample bathroom. Pride has been taken in the presentation of the house, gardens and rooms.

Cathy was a marvellous host who would do anything for you, as two single ladies we felt a part of the family by the time we left.

Thank you for a memorable stay. Next time we are in the area we will DEFINITELY be visiting again

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenelleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

Just ran across the photos we took to add a review. It's been a few months since we visited Hillview Cottage, but my husband and I clearly remember how lovely Cathy and Michael made our stay.

The room was lovely and clean, overlooking a field of gently grazing sheep, and as the B&B really is on top of a hill, the view also included the tops of the village buildings just below in the valley. We stayed in the house, and seriously Cathy and Michael are so relaxed and friendly that it felt like we were staying with family friends. They have two beautiful golden retrievers that we got to play fetch with, and overall we just felt very comfortable and at ease during our stay.

We had dinner at the village pub at the bottom of the hill (can't remember the name, unfortunately), and had a lovely evening. The village was as friendly as Hillview Cottage, and we left hoping we get to return someday. Definitely what a weekend escape to the country is meant to be.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank JMS078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We have just come back from a few days a one of the best b&bs ever. It is situated just outside the lovely village of Croscombe, mid way between Wells and Shepton Mallet.
The b&b was a wonderful old building owned by Cathy & Michael Hay, who are the best of hosts. We had a very tastefully decorated room with a very comfortable king sized bed. and a massive bathroom. Breakfast was served on a massive table full of everything you would want at breakfast time and of course everything was delicious.
There were lots of books and games to play if you had to stay in.
The George was a short distance away and we had a very enjoyable meal there.
Both Cathy and Michael were very informative about the areas we wished to visit.
We will be going back to Somerset in the future as we didn't get to see everything we hoped to and hopefully we will be able to stay at Hillview Cottage.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything perfect
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slee1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Hillview Cottage is at the end of a typical country lane in the little village next to Wells called Croscombe. We stayed for 2 nights to tour the area and it was perfect. Room and bed were extremely comfy, lovely view from the window, excellent breakfast at the big country table in the kitchen shared by fellow guests and the wonderful hosts. Both nights we walked down to the George Inn for dinner and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2007

If you are either visiting the beautiful cathedral city of Wells in Somerset, SW England, touring the area or attending the annual Glastonbury Festival as we were, there is nowhere better to stay than Hillview Cottage! Situated in the small village of Croscombe with its two welcoming pubs, this is a 'Bed and Breakfast' establishment of which dreams are made. Michael and Catherine Hay will be your hosts. Michael is a local land agent, Cathy is a cathedral guide, breakfast chef and fount of all relevant and interesting knowledge. Their cottage is old and picturesque. There are three guest rooms in the cottage itself and a quirky, quaint but beautifully equipped shed/annexe in the garden - actually on the croquet lawn. Hospitality is old fashioned and heartwarming; breakfasts are comprehensive to say the least; rooms are well equipped and comfortable.

Whilst there is no restaurant nor bar in the cottage, there are good examples of both within staggering distance. The Old Spot in Wells is a good choice for dinner. The George Inn in Croscombe serves several cask-conditioned beers and, if my hazy memory serves me well, at least one very potent cider.

Always best to call in advance, you will be able to find details of Hillview Cottage on the web. If you do visit, you will not be disappointed. If you intend to be there over the duration of the music festival you will have to fight me for the privilege!

  • Liked — The Owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Diptych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croscombe
0.2 mi away
The Cross at Croscombe
The Cross at Croscombe
#1 of 5 in Croscombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.9 mi away
Glengarth House
Glengarth House
#18 of 37 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.5 mi away
Coxley House
Coxley House
#4 of 37 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Burcott Mill Guesthouse
2.8 mi away
No. 23 Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#3 of 5 in Croscombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Cottage

Property: Hillview Cottage
Address: Paradise Lane, Croscombe, Wells BA5 3RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Croscombe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Croscombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hillview Cottage Croscombe, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing