We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food.”
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Croscombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Healthy, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The George is an award-winning, traditional, dog-friendly, family-owned and operated 17th-century village pub. We serve fresh food prepared from local ingredients, including local meat, game and foraged foods. We grow our own veg, herbs and fruit and make our own ice creams as well! We are renowned for cooking fresh fish and seafood from the south coast -- some say our scallops are so good they are "to die for." And our locally reared meat is mouth-wateringly good. We have two craft beers produced exclusively for us, three other guest ales and eight local ciders. With a lovely beer garden for the summer and a log fire in the winter, families and dog-walkers are always welcome. We have four en-suite bedrooms for b&b and a multi-purpose self-contained function room and skittles alley. But most of all there is "... ALWAYS A FRIENDLY WELCOME."
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb food.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. A friendly atmosphere with charming surroundings, together with a varied menu based on fresh, local produce. Superb food and excellent service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 98NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Ju_Jo29, it is great to get your feedback. Thank you!
Peter Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    83
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very pleasant village pub with friendly landlord”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were looking for a quick simple meal on a hot Saturday evening and this pub was just the thing. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris-and-Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I miss this pub”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was my regular haunt when I lived in the area and I make a point of going back whenever I'm down visiting. The landlord is friendly, the beer is local and well kept and food is tasty and satisfying, the atmosphere is lovely, a proper (and welcoming) village pub.
It's probably enough of a recommendation to say that my family took turns driving the 15 minutes (passing several other places) from home to this pub so that we could also take turns to enjoy a couple of pints with or without dinner...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David_B186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
It's great to be missed!

Thanks, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Brilliant local pub with very original food and good beer”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

A family run pub with outstanding food, good beer and excellent service.... In a village that is 1300 years old!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnnydogmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Glad you liked it here, Johnnydogmatic. Our chef is pleased to do unique food and thanks for your feedback.

I had the stone erected in 2004 since the village didn't have a (millenium) stone marker, and the local historian uncovered the first written records of 'Crascombe' from AD 706. The local quarry owner donated the stone and a local farmer helped transport it here. The slate was from a fireplace in a house in the village and it was carved by a fellow Canadian apprenticing in nearby Shepton Mallet. We're pleased with the result, and it does make a visit to the village more memorable.

Welcome back sometime.

Peter Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry,England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant pub”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited the pub while we were staying in Wells having read other reviews. We visited this pub as it is dogfriendly. Beers were well looked after and it's a very nicely laid out inside as well as looking good outside. I had the fillet steak which was excellent, the inion rings were great. The wife had a mix if starters which were all good too. We would definitely go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

 
 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing