We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
34
9
1
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
34
9
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hear the howler monkeys every morning ben farm wildlife hammocks ometepe island jungle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 47 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, we strongly recommend it if you enjoy the jungle and the quiet environment, except for the wildlife ;)
The service here is very personal and nice, Juan is a great help around the house and town
He had to pick us up from the town 3 times and was happy to do it.
They offer free bikes to explore and they are wel maintained.
Every morning they make a great breakfast for the guests and offer to clean the room.

Juan also helped us to get from Ometepe to San Juan del sur for a decent price!

Waking up around 5 to hear the howler monkeys in the nearby trees was an amazing experience!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank S3442EDtomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019

We were so in love with this place that we decided to stay one day longer.The staff is very friendly and helpful, the homemade breakfast is delicious and the best thing are the views from the huge balcony with hammocks. If you love nature, this is an amazing place to relax while surrounded with wildlife. And we loved the dogs!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atru45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018 via mobile

I came here expecting something nice when you see the reviews and it was a big mistake.

The place is indeed nice, the garden cool and ben and juan are extremely friendly.

However, you must wake up at 6 am since the girls who "prepare" the breakfast are being extremely noisy.

You have no privacy AT ALL: everyone sees what you do in your room, and they like to watch.. be warned
The bed is small : I'm 1m85 and couldn't lie straight.

Mosquito nets are peirced and dirty so better bring your own.
Owner has two huge pitbull that freely wander around. I'm not afraid of dogs but if you are, or if you have children then you must avoid this place.

The cleaning/cooking girls apparently need to clean every room before they can leave, they'll therefore do everything to finish as early as possible...sometimes even coming in your room while you didn't authorize them to do so.

Also try to avoid washing your clothes there, since it costs a lot. Around 15 $ for a small pack of clothes, which is almost double than my homeland and the clothes are still wet when given back.
You can take drinks in the fridge, which is cool since you are 25 minutes of walking away of any restaurants, but they are 50 % more expensive than anywhere else.

Overall, for 40 dollars you are trapped in a place that is away from everything, has small comfort, no privacy and bad cleaning / respect mechanics.

If the price was 20 $ i would have put 4 stars but here, i think it's easy to find better elsewhere.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
11  Thank 685alyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018 via mobile

This was one of the places I was having the highest expectations about in Nicaragua due to the great ratings. They are definetly deceiving. You 100% can get more for your 40 bucks a night on Ometepe.
The +: very nice owner and staff. Ben's communication before and during was friendly, he also helped us book a motorbike which was nice. Juan, the guy who does the taxi between the restaurant and the hotel, is awesome and super nice. The food of the cafe campestre is also really good. The remoteness of the hotel and the jungle outside has its charm, a lot of birds to be heard.
The - : no privacy in the room: whether you are on your terrace or undressing in your room, people pass by all morning and you are completely exposed, which is so frustrating given how far away from everything the hotel is. The room lacked a lot of the little appliances that can make it confortable : no mirror in the bathroom (my husband had to shave with a pocket miror), no light, the room itself was quite small, as indicated in other comments the moskito net was damaged. The dry toilet is not a bad idea in itself but the cut bottle they use to pour rice is not convienent ,there was a stupid wood piece close to the bed in which we knocked our foot ten times a day.... so basically there are tons of small details that make the room incomfortable. The ladies prepare a good breakfast but don't ask you what you want so if you have food intolerances/or you're vegan, you end up with something you can't eat. Last but not least the room was VERY loud from the ladies at 6 am in the living room, no chance to sleep in the morning.
To summarize : eat at cafe campestre but go somewhere else to sleep.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank clarav228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2018

we couldn't expect better. Well located in a quiet place in the middle of the forest. The room was was very pleasant and the deck very peaceful. We really enjoyed the overall atmosphere. But what was the best point in this hotel are the services that it offers to the guests: free bike (very useful to visit the island), delicious breakfast made with local product from the farm, possibility to order meals in the restaurant that belongs to the hotels (and free delivery directly in your room), free transportation from Balgue to the hotel. No need to think to another place to stay for our next visit.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mathias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews