We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth visiting Ometepe just for this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Campestre

Cafe Campestre
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Balgue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe Campestre prepares fresh food daily using organic ingredients many of which are from our farm. We are passionate about food and have created a varied and interesting menu featuring local and international cuisines. We have great local coffee, a relaxed environment, Wifi and some of the most interesting and innovative English language tours on Ometepe.
Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
“worth visiting Ometepe just for this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you are in Nicaragua, GO HERE!

My friend and I spent a week on Isla Ometepe in early April. This restaurant was one of the highlights of our trip! The ambience is comfortable and not pretentious; the staff are super helpful and give great service; and the food is spectacular.

We ended up eating here the entire week, and every dish was fresh and full of flavor. They also produce organic salad greens, coffee, and other vegetables. My friend and I were craved a huge Garden Salad each day. The curries were probably the best I've ever had--mouthwatering, local ingredients. A group of local sisters are now the cooks, excellently trained by the owner.

Campestre Tours are advertised inside the café--also great deals. My friend had previously done the Night Kayak tour of the Rio Istian, and this time we climbed Concepción. It was wonderful to return to the restaurant after a long day of hiking and get filled up on healthy, tasty food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GracielaG604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    52
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must' GO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very good food.... on the island you should stop at the Cafe Campestre to have a good meal
with fresh ingredient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YannL74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful food - great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We ate here on a number of occasions as the food was excellent! The owner is very friendly and does amazing tours as well. Don't miss doing at least one of their tours - excellent and relatively inexpensive - you won't regret it. Thanks Sean and Ben for our tours of Rio Istiam and the Jerusalem Waterfall tour - both were outstanding experiences!!! As for the food, we couldn't get enough of their curries. The food is so fresh and wonderful it is hard to go anywhere else once you have eaten at Cafe Campestre!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Kraken777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Cafe Campestre- Completamente Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

After travelling for weeks in central america, this food blew my mind. The food so real, fresh, farm grown, the recipes diverse, the cooks and contributors happy and excited to share their inspiration.
I met the owner, and his humbleness and involvement left me inspired to run a business of similar style some day down the road.
dont forget to try the moonshine....

Thanks Benny and team,
Special thanks for making 'down to earth food' taste so darn good

all good things,
geronimo

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BradGreenBaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We really loved our dinner and it was well worth the walk from Santa Cruz. The server from Ireland is very nice and we enjoyed talking to him.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ihearttraveling029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Campestre also viewed

Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
 
Balgue, Isla de Ometepe
Altagracia, Isla de Ometepe
 

Been to Cafe Campestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing