We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, room, service & food were all the same: spectacular”
Review of Totoco Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Balgue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Views, room, service & food were all the same: spectacular”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

If you are considering Totoco Eco-Lodge and haven't yet decided, pull the trigger and do it. I traveled there with my husband and 18 month old daughter, and we had a really great time. Like the other reviews say, the views are outrageous, the accommodations are clean & comfortable and classy, and the service is top-notch. The other thing that really stood out to us was the AWESOME food. We had the "meat-lovers" menu half-board, and wound up ordering lunches there too. Each meal was thoughtfully prepared and the ingredients all tasted fresh and delicious!! We took a great hike up the back of the property to an organic coffee plantation and saw petroglyphs on the way there + monkeys & butterflies - it was an awesome hike that our 18 month old loved too. The only thing I'd warn you of is the road up to the property which they call "an adventurous dirt road" - we were not prepared for how bumpy it was, and arrived completely rattled wondering if we'd even venture off the property or just stay up there so we didn't have to battle the road again - but it actually wasn't too bad, we just didn't have our expectations set up front for how rocky & bumpy it is. If you know going into it, it shouldn't be the same shock as it was to us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    65
    20
    15
    8
See reviews for
64
184
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penngrove, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

An expat living in Nicaragua told us three days on Ometepe would be too much. He must not have known about this wonderful Eco Lodge nestled on the side of Volcan Maderas. We arrived after an arduous journey over the very rough road (pot hole would be putting it nicely). We were welcomed with a luscious fruit/chia seed beverage. Totoco is more than lodging. It has a permaculture inspired organic farm, trails that lead to the volcano, waterfalls and petroglyphs. It truly lives up to a very high standard of ecological friendliness. Make sure you take the site tour with Martin. This lodge is a must!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuandJos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

My family returned last week from 11 days in Nicaragua including two days at Totoco. Totoco is one of the most amazing places I have visited - anywhere. First, the views of Lake Nicaragua and Volcano Conception are spectacular. The grounds are filled with gorgeous flowers. The accommodations are lovely and comfortable and the food is very good. But, even more important than those things are the people. Roslyn, Jonathan, Martin, and Patricia will share their hearts with you. And their hearts are only for environmental sustainability, but it is also for the people of Ometepe. The community development tour - where you learn of the microloans, reading programs, etc. is not to be missed. We also did horseback riding - a blast, the 'behind-the-scenes' tour where you learn how the sustainability works, and hiked the adjacent coffee plantation with a local guide- where we say probably 200 howler monkeys! All of us would go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Darcy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Totoco is a very special place. The multi-lingual staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Their meals are fantastic. Because of the location, sign up for the half board every day as it is the best food around and difficult to get anywhere else for meals. The accommodations are clean and have an awe-inspiring view of the Conception volcano and Lake Nicaragua. They have a long list of daily adventures to choose from and the guides are top-notch. Most importantly, they are a true eco-lodge. Do not miss Martin's tour of the facilities to learn all about their amazing work on the premises and in the local community. I am eager to return, particularly when they have realized their self-sustaining goal!!!! Thanks Totoco!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlin108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

An eco-lodge started by idealistist europeans, Totoco has top quality (hot water, wifi, white linen, comfortable beds) and is approaching a zero-waste, energy-neutral environment. They use local guides, massage therapists, animals, produce. There is a new pool and the dorms look great. We splurged and got a king size bed and slept like a dream. They also organized transport onwards for us and couldn't do enough to help. One of the best highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2011

This place walks the walk. I honestly feel like they are setting the standard by which all other places that call themselves "eco" should be judged. SWIMMING POOLS ARE NOT ECO people! Anyway, besides all the amazing social and ecological good that this place does, it is also gorgeous and beautifully designed. The rooms are clean and luxurious, the restaurant/bar has amazing views. The food is amazing! If you don't stay there, go up and have a cold beer and a great meal. I love this place. The staff and owners are really nice too.

I stayed there with my girlfriend at the time. We are married now. There were thousands of butterflies on the premises, there were monkeys in the trees. All you hear is the sounds of nature. It is very out of the way. It's a pretty long trip from the port but I liked that, I mean, we went to Ometepe to get away so it was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilioCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Martin & co have really done a top job at this fabulous eco-lodge. Our stay coincided with the inauguration of the stunning "natural" swimming pool that serves to make this simply the best location on Ometepe. Don´t miss it - very high quality and very eco.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balgue
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
408 reviews
4.6 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 50 in Isla de Ometepe
199 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#11 of 20 in Moyogalpa
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Urraca Loca Hostel
La Urraca Loca Hostel
#2 of 2 in Balgue
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totoco Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totoco Eco-Lodge

Property: Totoco Eco-Lodge
Address: Maderas Volcano, El callejon publico la palmera, Balgue, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Balgue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Balgue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of a pristine biosphere nature reserve with an abundance of wildlife and a cloud forest above you, the Totoco experience is pure comfort in pure nature. Guests can stay in one of our custom designed private lodges all made using local materials and labour. Each lodge enjoys a private garden setting and offers spectacular views of Lake Nicaragua and active Concepcion Volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Totoco Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Totoco Eco Hotel Balgue
Totoco Eco-Lodge Nicaragua/Isla De Ometepe - Balgue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing