We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit this Nicaraguan Peaceful 'Green' Retreat”
Review of Totoco Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Balgue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2011

An expat living in Nicaragua told us three days on Ometepe would be too much. He must not have known about this wonderful Eco Lodge nestled on the side of Volcan Maderas. We arrived after an arduous journey over the very rough road (pot hole would be putting it nicely). We were welcomed with a luscious fruit/chia seed beverage. Totoco is more than lodging. It has a permaculture inspired organic farm, trails that lead to the volcano, waterfalls and petroglyphs. It truly lives up to a very high standard of ecological friendliness. Make sure you take the site tour with Martin. This lodge is a must!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuandJos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 354 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2011

My family returned last week from 11 days in Nicaragua including two days at Totoco. Totoco is one of the most amazing places I have visited - anywhere. First, the views of Lake Nicaragua and Volcano Conception are spectacular. The grounds are filled with gorgeous flowers. The accommodations are lovely and comfortable and the food is very good. But, even more important than those things are the people. Roslyn, Jonathan, Martin, and Patricia will share their hearts with you. And their hearts are only for environmental sustainability, but it is also for the people of Ometepe. The community development tour - where you learn of the microloans, reading programs, etc. is not to be missed. We also did horseback riding - a blast, the 'behind-the-scenes' tour where you learn how the sustainability works, and hiked the adjacent coffee plantation with a local guide- where we say probably 200 howler monkeys! All of us would go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
Thank Darcy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Totoco is a very special place. The multi-lingual staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Their meals are fantastic. Because of the location, sign up for the half board every day as it is the best food around and difficult to get anywhere else for meals. The accommodations are clean and have an awe-inspiring view of the Conception volcano and Lake Nicaragua. They have a long list of daily adventures to choose from and the guides are top-notch. Most importantly, they are a true eco-lodge. Do not miss Martin's tour of the facilities to learn all about their amazing work on the premises and in the local community. I am eager to return, particularly when they have realized their self-sustaining goal!!!! Thanks Totoco!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitlin108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

An eco-lodge started by idealistist europeans, Totoco has top quality (hot water, wifi, white linen, comfortable beds) and is approaching a zero-waste, energy-neutral environment. They use local guides, massage therapists, animals, produce. There is a new pool and the dorms look great. We splurged and got a king size bed and slept like a dream. They also organized transport onwards for us and couldn't do enough to help. One of the best highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

This place walks the walk. I honestly feel like they are setting the standard by which all other places that call themselves "eco" should be judged. SWIMMING POOLS ARE NOT ECO people! Anyway, besides all the amazing social and ecological good that this place does, it is also gorgeous and beautifully designed. The rooms are clean and luxurious, the restaurant/bar has amazing views. The food is amazing! If you don't stay there, go up and have a cold beer and a great meal. I love this place. The staff and owners are really nice too.

I stayed there with my girlfriend at the time. We are married now. There were thousands of butterflies on the premises, there were monkeys in the trees. All you hear is the sounds of nature. It is very out of the way. It's a pretty long trip from the port but I liked that, I mean, we went to Ometepe to get away so it was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilioCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Martin & co have really done a top job at this fabulous eco-lodge. Our stay coincided with the inauguration of the stunning "natural" swimming pool that serves to make this simply the best location on Ometepe. Don´t miss it - very high quality and very eco.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

My family came here unsure of what to expect from an Eco-lodge. We were totally wowed by the owners, Jonathan, Roz and Martin (and Donald). They are the most wonderful hosts. They are thoughtful to their guests and employees. The lodge is so comfortable in the way they've set up the common space for the guests, where you can have as much or as little contact with the other people there. There are only 5 or so bungalows, so the experience there feels exquisitely personal. The composting toilets were a bit hard to get used, but given the owners' commitment, to sustainability it was well worth the challenge. The hike up the inactive volcano (which they organized just for us) was muddy but invigorating. In staying here, we learned more of the Nicaaguan culture which increased the pleasure of our stay. All the food was grown at their farm, deliciously prepared and served.
In another review I recommended against visiting Nicaragua because of the lack of service to English speaking guests, but if you do go, run to Totoco!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyatheart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balgue
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
415 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Finca del Sol
Hotel Finca del Sol
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
419 reviews
1.1 mi away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#3 of 7 in Balgue
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totoco Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totoco Eco-Lodge

Address: Maderas Volcano, El callejon publico la palmera, Balgue, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Balgue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Balgue
Price Range: $112 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of a pristine biosphere nature reserve with an abundance of wildlife and a cloud forest above you, the Totoco experience is pure comfort in pure nature. Guests can stay in one of our custom designed private lodges all made using local materials and labour. Each lodge enjoys a private garden setting and offers spectacular views of Lake Nicaragua and active Concepcion Volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Totoco Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Totoco Eco Hotel Balgue
Totoco Eco-Lodge Nicaragua/Isla De Ometepe - Balgue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing