We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveler rating
294
87
30
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
87
30
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews howler monkeys maderas volcano local community breathtaking views outdoor shower rocky road compost toilets cloud forest hot water close to nature breakfast and dinner beautiful experience magical place san ramon waterfall bring a flashlight remote location stayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 440 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2011

My family returned last week from 11 days in Nicaragua including two days at Totoco. Totoco is one of the most amazing places I have visited - anywhere. First, the views of Lake Nicaragua and Volcano Conception are spectacular. The grounds are filled with gorgeous flowers. The accommodations are lovely and comfortable and the food is very good. But, even more important than those things are the people. Roslyn, Jonathan, Martin, and Patricia will share their hearts with you. And their hearts are only for environmental sustainability, but it is also for the people of Ometepe. The community development tour - where you learn of the microloans, reading programs, etc. is not to be missed. We also did horseback riding - a blast, the 'behind-the-scenes' tour where you learn how the sustainability works, and hiked the adjacent coffee plantation with a local guide- where we say probably 200 howler monkeys! All of us would go back in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: January 2011
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Darcy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Totoco is a very special place. The multi-lingual staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Their meals are fantastic. Because of the location, sign up for the half board every day as it is the best food around and difficult to get anywhere else for meals. The accommodations are clean and have an awe-inspiring view of the Conception volcano and Lake Nicaragua. They have a long list of daily adventures to choose from and the guides are top-notch. Most importantly, they are a true eco-lodge. Do not miss Martin's tour of the facilities to learn all about their amazing work on the premises and in the local community. I am eager to return, particularly when they have realized their self-sustaining goal!!!! Thanks Totoco!

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitlin108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

An eco-lodge started by idealistist europeans, Totoco has top quality (hot water, wifi, white linen, comfortable beds) and is approaching a zero-waste, energy-neutral environment. They use local guides, massage therapists, animals, produce. There is a new pool and the dorms look great. We splurged and got a king size bed and slept like a dream. They also organized transport onwards for us and couldn't do enough to help. One of the best highlights of our trip!

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

This place walks the walk. I honestly feel like they are setting the standard by which all other places that call themselves "eco" should be judged. SWIMMING POOLS ARE NOT ECO people! Anyway, besides all the amazing social and ecological good that this place does, it is also gorgeous and beautifully designed. The rooms are clean and luxurious, the restaurant/bar has amazing views. The food is amazing! If you don't stay there, go up and have a cold beer and a great meal. I love this place. The staff and owners are really nice too.

I stayed there with my girlfriend at the time. We are married now. There were thousands of butterflies on the premises, there were monkeys in the trees. All you hear is the sounds of nature. It is very out of the way. It's a pretty long trip from the port but I liked that, I mean, we went to Ometepe to get away so it was perfect.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilioCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Martin & co have really done a top job at this fabulous eco-lodge. Our stay coincided with the inauguration of the stunning "natural" swimming pool that serves to make this simply the best location on Ometepe. Don´t miss it - very high quality and very eco.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews