We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveler rating
292
87
30
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
87
30
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeysconcepcion volcanolocal communitybreathtaking viewsoutdoor showerlake nicaraguasolar powercloud forestcompost toiletshot waterbreakfast and dinneroff gridbeautiful experienceclose to natureremote locationmagical placebring a flashlight
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 438 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017

This place is truly amazing! The views of the volcano are so lovely night and day, the pool is so beautiful and is so relaxing. The bungalows are so nice aswel and the beds are very comfy. I can not complain about anything at this place!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

My visit to Ometepe was incredible thanks to Totoco. This eco-lodge is an experience all on it's own with being surrounded by wildlife and nature (we saw monkeys and various birds and frogs.) However, Totoco also delivers luxury with clean and comfortable rooms, a gorgeous pool with a view, and great food! I stayed for four nights and did not want to leave, it is the perfect place to stay in Ometepe.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bbusslinger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017

We stayed 4 nights as a family here. Beautiful spot, friendly helpful staff who go out of their way to help you. Food is very good, fresh, health and tasty. Our children (11 and 15 ) loved and the highlight of a 3 week trip round Nicaragua. The owners went out of their way to help another guest who needed dental help.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Huttonsoflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

The views from this lodge are the destination. We stayed one night at Totoco Eco-Lodge, but would have stayed another night if we had known. Situated on the hillside of Volcan Maderas, the lodge is at the top of a ridge (accessible by a very rutted road - give yourself a merit badge) with breathtaking views of Volcan Concepcion. Lodges have a netted bed, panorama windows, and an attached open-air eco bath and composting toilet. You are really in the jungle! Without wifi or television, and away from the roads, you hear and see nothing but the jungle around. We heard howler monkeys howling at the sunset rain, and again at dawn. Lots of birds chattering. There are bugs! Food is simple but good and the staff were very helpful. Bring a flashlight.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The lodge is beautiful, surrounded by lush forest and feeding butterflies.

The lodges themselves are spacious with a big outdoor shower and bathroom. The bed is very well protected from insects and mosquitos, which I particularly appreciated.

The lodge also does good work in the community which you can ask the mangers about and they will tell you all about the foundation - micro-loans/education programme/ farm.

I particularly appreciated that all the food and drink in the restaurant and bar were very reasonably priced (three course meat dinner is $18, it's one menu with a choice of vegetarian or meat main course) because it's a steep 20/30minute walk to the main road. They were also fine with us staying late and drinking in the bar/lounge when the staff had finished for the night. The lodges are set far apart so noise isn't a problem.

We were also provided with lots of information about what to do on the island when we arrived.

The pool, however, looks much better on the website than for real and could use a bit of a refurb and some more seats around it.

Note that to get to the lodge it's a $35 dollar taxi from the ferry terminal (and another one back when you leave). The hotel can book one for you if you email or call and ask.

Overall, we enjoyed our visit and it was a lovely relaxing place. If you do stay, which I recommend, be prepared to get quite close to nature and all her variety of insects and bugs (as well as a few slightly bigger creatures). This sort of comes with the territory when staying in an ecolodge.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Renton1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews