We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveler rating
292
87
30
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
87
30
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeysconcepcion volcanolocal communitybreathtaking viewsoutdoor showerlake nicaraguasolar powercloud forestcompost toiletshot waterbreakfast and dinneroff gridbeautiful experienceclose to natureremote locationmagical placebring a flashlight
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 438 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This lodge is really cool. A unique place to stay and hang out. Rooms were very nice. Compost toilet worked out well. Family of 4 in the large cabana (two grown boys) plenty of room and very comfortable. Listened to jungle creatures just outside the windows all night but was able to sleep fine. The dining bar lounge area was great, so was the pool. View from the pool was amazing....views from every spot on the property were amazing! Did the zip line canopy tour. Super fun, great views and fun but safety conscious guides. Had a blast! Lunch and dinner food was really good. Put bug spray on only at night.

Note: The road to the lodge is super bumpy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed only two nights in Totoco, but I wish we could have stayed longer! The layout and location of this property is stunning, and the lodgings are clean and simple. We also really enjoyed the open-air dining location and bar, which overlook the other volcano and the lake.

Nestled at the base of the verdant Maderas volcano, Totoco and its surrounding areas are a mix of jungle and jungle-friendly agriculture, suggesting the deep symbiosis of humans and nature. During our stay, the beautiful surroundings, the comfortable lodgings, the delicious and natural food and the fact that all of this was not at the expense of the trees, shrubs, birds, monkeys, lizards, etc, gave me a sense of peace and well-being. This is a place for nature lovers, leisure lovers, adventure lovers, exercise lovers (if you brave the 8 hour hike up to Madera's summit, or have the staff arrange a kayaking tour on the isthmus) and general lovers :-D

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We taxied our way out here, dropping of guests at nice little lodges along the way. When we got to our lodge we were promptly checked in to our garden room. After settling in we asked the host what activities were available, he said due to the rain the only activity available was a $5 per person tour of the facility...what about horseback riding, no...uh trekking, no to much mud. We spent the night a thin net away from a swarm of unusually large bugs and hightailed it out the next day but this wasn't the end to our adventure. Our kind host sent his girlfriend with us in our ridiculously overpriced taxi to town, perfect ending to this island. We made a bee-line for corn island, which was our best experience in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelMksWorkWorthIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I made Tococo my base for 4 nights on Ometepe. It was fantastic and made it possible with my very limited spannish to have a very good time. Its a unique setting, you can watch the volcanos moods change all day. The staff (Eric is incredibily helpful and welcoming) also arrange any kind of trip you want and all the guides and taxis they orgainsed for me were fantastic. The food is great - lots of vaiiety and very fresh ' and the rooms are incredible. The pool is also brilliant to relax in aftre a Kayak or mountain climb. Had lots of good company too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - its fantastic to wake up to
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJDSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Totoco is a real treat and recommended to anyone thinking of visiting Ometepe. The setting at the foot of Maderas is stunning with Concepcion dominating the view and only Howler monkeys breaking the peace. The rooms are a fantastic standard for the price, the food was very good and the range of activities available makes it a great base for experiencing the island. The way Martijn and his team involve the local community is worth your consideration. Highly recommended

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Topgrumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews