We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveler rating
292
87
30
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
87
30
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews howler monkeys concepcion volcano local community breathtaking views outdoor shower lake nicaragua solar power cloud forest compost toilets hot water breakfast and dinner off grid beautiful experience close to nature remote location magical place bring a flashlight
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 438 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We taxied our way out here, dropping of guests at nice little lodges along the way. When we got to our lodge we were promptly checked in to our garden room. After settling in we asked the host what activities were available, he said due to the rain the only activity available was a $5 per person tour of the facility...what about horseback riding, no...uh trekking, no to much mud. We spent the night a thin net away from a swarm of unusually large bugs and hightailed it out the next day but this wasn't the end to our adventure. Our kind host sent his girlfriend with us in our ridiculously overpriced taxi to town, perfect ending to this island. We made a bee-line for corn island, which was our best experience in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelMksWorkWorthIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I made Tococo my base for 4 nights on Ometepe. It was fantastic and made it possible with my very limited spannish to have a very good time. Its a unique setting, you can watch the volcanos moods change all day. The staff (Eric is incredibily helpful and welcoming) also arrange any kind of trip you want and all the guides and taxis they orgainsed for me were fantastic. The food is great - lots of vaiiety and very fresh ' and the rooms are incredible. The pool is also brilliant to relax in aftre a Kayak or mountain climb. Had lots of good company too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - its fantastic to wake up to
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJDSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Totoco is a real treat and recommended to anyone thinking of visiting Ometepe. The setting at the foot of Maderas is stunning with Concepcion dominating the view and only Howler monkeys breaking the peace. The rooms are a fantastic standard for the price, the food was very good and the range of activities available makes it a great base for experiencing the island. The way Martijn and his team involve the local community is worth your consideration. Highly recommended

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Topgrumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Totoco. It could be the most relaxing place on earth because of the quiet setting and stunning view of Volcan Conception. The lodge is rustic as expected but the rooms are very comfortable and cool. The ownersThe food is delicious and the use of local ingredients is appreciated. We used a guide for the petroglyph hike (about 3 hours). We were able to see tons of wildlife including several troops of monkeys and benefited from the knowledge of our guide who was able to answer any question we had (in Spanish only).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-and-K-on-Vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

All in all wonderful ecolodge environment with incredible hosts and only a few guests (4 bungalows at the time). A small pool overlooking the cliffs is a relaxing recent addition. Open-air bar and restaurant area with amazing views. Several tours could be arranged right on site (we did the coffee plantation tour which was a great value and very interesting). Accommodations were simple thatched roof bungalows with screens and small patio/decks. Ours had an open air bathroom with naturally heated water source and a compost toilet (which wasn't as rustic as it sounds). We had a beautiful view of the active volcano from our mosquito-netted bed! Make sure you bring your sunblock because once you are here- you are out of luck! Unless the nice owner will give you a bottle from her own supply as she kindly did for me :) Meals are all inclusive, fresh and delicious and they do always have a vegetarian option.

Cons: It is a bit difficult to get to...had to take a ferry to the island and then hire a driver to get us to the lodge which took about 45 minutes. This wasn't too bad until the last 1 km which was straight up a very steep road. I know that they were planning to do more road work on it but at the time, it was basically huge rocks and I ended up with a sore neck for a few days. It is quite difficult to do anything once here unless you have your own transportation or are willing to pay for taxi transport (which can be expensive and is unpredictable). We were lucky enough to meet another couple who had rented a huge pick up truck and allowed us to tag along with them. If you come here, I would recommend you simply stay at this ecolodge to relax and not try to do too many activities because the road is so bad that you may not want to go up and down it...may be better to stay somewhere closer to other attractions if that's what you're looking for.

Room Tip: One room has naturally heated water (which was really only lukewarm). I would advise against this room! But maybe that's just me!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamery212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews