We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, helpful owner/manager, great location, a few oddities”
Review of Neos Omalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neos Omalos Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Omalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I've stayed here twice: in 2004 and in 2010. Please note that it's not in Chania! It's in the village of Omalos, about 1 hour by bus from Chania and close to (4 km) the entrance of the Samaria Gorge (Xyloskala). In 2004, I paid 10 euros and the hotel was quite busy; in 2010, I paid 25 euros and the hotel was very quiet. The price hike is sadly indicative of what has happened to Greece in recent years (and for which it is now paying the inevitable price). This time, I arrived at Xyloskala by bus from Sougia, climbed Gingilos (6 hrs), and then caught the 3 pm bus to Omalos and booked into this hotel. It's very nice, although it is perhaps a little characterless in view of the beautiful and peaceful mountain surroundings. The manager/owner (?), who I think is the same one as from 2004, is very helpful and nice and will give you a lift to Xyloskala in the morning. I was a little disappointed this time with the quality/value of the evening meal (but, sadly again, this was what I found elsewhere (or nearly) in Crete in 2010). If you stay here, I would recommend that you do have some warmer clothes with you, even in summer, as the nights can be a little chilly at this altitude. But do take a walk up the road after dark and take a look at those wonderful stars...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 104 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed one night at Neos Omalos near the start of the Gorge of Samaria. The setting is rustic. The lodge it beautifully constructed of wood and stone. The rooms we had overlooked the surrounding countryside. Each had a balcony. It was a very comfortable stay. The free roaming goats in the area were fun to watch. We enjoyed hearing the goat bells. The traditional Greek meal in the outdoor restaurant was great. The hotel has a complimentary van to the entrance of the gorge each morning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advised_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

I stayed here in May 2010 as part of a hiking group. The location is fantastic, in the Omalos plateau close the entrance of the Samaria Gorge. The rooms were basic but clean and well-furnished. It was a comfortable place to stay, with extra blankets for the chilly plateau nights. The food was generally really good (as in all of Crete). The packed lunches they will provide for hikes were good, though the bread was dry for my taste. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I don't know why I didn't sleep really well, since it was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castle37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Neos Omalos is a simple hotel, that serves one purpose. It offers a comfortable place to stay to anyone who wants to be close to the entrance to the samaria gorge or if you want to hike the mountains or plateau in the area. (Note that if you hike through the gorge you have to take the ferry to sougia and get a taxi back to Omalos for 50 euros in order to get back). It has a small restaurant, where you can eat dinner, lunch and breakfast. We stayed 3 nights, during which time we hiked through the gorge, and climbed gingilos. The staff are friendly and grown on you the longer you stay. It may be wise to reserve as big hiking groups come through every now and then. Also, if you reserve in advance breakfast is included in the price of the room which signifcantly reduces the cost of the room. There are also two other hotels around this one but they seem to be about the same.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed here in August 2007 for 3 nights. The greenery and the roaming goats in the road on our way up to the hotel were very characteristic of the place, I couldn't believe this was Chania region. They welcomed us on our arrival, and were immediately led to our nicely furnished room equipped with private services. It even had a balcony looking on the underneath road and the sarrounding amazing green area. At night it was rather cool because of the high altitude. Breakfast was good, was not the best though. Ideal for those planning to walk the spectacular Samaria Gorge because it is very close to the hotel. I defenitely recommend this place as I was satisfied with our experience.

darren
malta

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pibedoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank fred060612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omalos
8.5 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#1 of 1 in Agia Roumeli
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel To Exari
Hotel To Exari
#2 of 2 in Omalos
26 reviews
12.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Mediterranean Studios Apartments
15.0 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paleochora
184 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Pal Beach
Hotel Pal Beach
#8 of 18 in Paleochora
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neos Omalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neos Omalos Hotel

Address: In the Plain of Omalos, Omalos, Crete 730 05, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Omalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Omalos
Price Range: $42 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Neos Omalos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Neos Omalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neos Omalos Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing