We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
125
39
12
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
125
39
12
4
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 181 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The positive reviews here are true. I spent a week at soppong river inn, and the accomodations are indeed very nice, and the surroundings beautiful (especially the deck overlooking the river). The food is fantastic; I tried one or two other spots, but generally just took all meals at the River Inn because it was far superior to other places I tried. In fact, it was easily the best food I had during my stay in thailand. i first stayed in the Bamboo 2 room, which is right on the river. The only problem I had during my stay was that the wifi did not work in the accomodations by the river, so I changed to the Rice Hut. It was fine for me, and since it was rainy season and also since i came back after dark a few times, i appreciated the convenience of being nearer the road and main building. However, it is less peaceful since you can hear the small amount of traffic from the road. All in all, an outstanding value in a peaceful and beautiful place to stay.

Room tip: Rooms by the river are very peaceful; the Rice Hut is nearer the road, so you can hear traffic as well as arriving guests. Also, during my stay, the wifi did not work in the accomodations near the river.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tuvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We loved our hosts at this spot. The mother and daughter are very helpful and full of knowledge of the area. We only stayed for one night and our hosts gave us information about getting to our next spot which was closer to the things we wanted to do....super nice!!! Also...the coffee is great. Enjoy!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We traveled in Thailand for about 10 days, and this was by far the best. We stayed in the "Chumpa" Room and it was nicely furnished. The ambiance of the place is very homely, welcoming, warm and overall charming. There is a personal touch to how this place is maintained, decorated, furnished and presented to the guests.

The patio is the best. It overlooks the soppong river over a small gorge. The sound of the water breaking over the rocks, the insects buzzing/chirping in the rain forest and smell of the flowers/plants/trees makes this place a very refreshing, rejuvenating place. My kids, who are city kids, seem to enjoy the place very much. They loved the snails along the path, the flowers and the insects chirping.

The breakfast was nice, so was the dinner. Unlike, most reasturants in Thailand were the portions are a bit small, here the food was tasty and the portions were comparable to American servings.

We also enjoyed the company of Shaoline and Ninja (mans best friend). They watches over all activity.

Overall, I would recommend this place to any and all.

Room tip: Try to get the rooms that face the River or near the Patio. Spending a little extra for those rooms are worth the extra money. Try out the restaurant. The food is good.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abhi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Having been to Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos and Thailand I can say this is the best place I've stayed, personally its on a par with many 5* resorts in England.

An incredibly tranquil place, with a great location by the river with fantastic rooms and even better service makes this a top spot in Asia.

The balcony area is a fantastic place to unwind with a good book and listen to the river below flowing over rocky rapids.

Not the cheapest place, but the different rooms suit all budgets, its easily the best. Sad to leave, but happy to return.

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithg_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Rooms have different names - we stayed in the RICE HUT - which unfortunately was close to the entrance to the hotel - opposite the kitchen area and within 30 metres of the dining area - so was subject to constant noise. The room was very homely and comfortable - but large gaps in the slatted wood walls left us feeling a little uneasy but to be fair we didn't get many bugs in - good few mozzies tho. We asked about the opening hours of the restaurant as we wanted to go out exploring and would eat late - we were told that we would have to eat by 6.30pm as they had a party in at 7pm and wouldn't be able to serve us, we were told of a restaurant close by if we needed to eat later. We checked out the restaurant but it looked a bit unclean - so we returned to the hotel and ate early. I can't remember what we had but we both thought the food was good. Also ate breakfast there which was basic but good. Toast and fresh fruit.

The staff were nice and the owners daughter who ran the place was very friendly. We left a day early as we'd explored the town in a day and decided to move up to Cave Lodge as we'd heard good things plus it was closer to the main event in the town which was the large cave.

I've rated the hotel as average as it was ok but nothing special - but it did have a couple of lovely rooms overlooking the river along with a seating area on a platform 20m above the river which was really nice.

Room tip: Room overlooking the river is away from the noise of main part of hotel. I wouldn't stay in the rice hut too close to kitchen, reception etc.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
soppong, Owner at Soppong River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments and of course we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. All our rooms are different and in different places around the property, and while some prefer the Rice Hut, its adjoining parking space and location near our cafe building, some do not. Of course, we would have been very happy to offer another room to your preference had we known.

We thank you for your nice comment on our food, but sorry we were not able to seat you past 7pm. Our cafe is not large, and sometimes we receive reservations for all our tables. Regarding breakfast, while you may have preferred having only toast and fruit, our standard western breakfast includes fresh whole wheat toast, eggs cooked to order with tomatoes, homemade pork sausage or bacon, fruit, along with a choice of tea, espresso, or fresh ground coffee. We also offer a fresh-cooked Thai style breakfast if you prefer.

We also appreciate your comments about the gaps in the teak siding of Rice Hut. We performed an inspection today and did indeed find several small ones. Since Rice Hut is constructed entirely of teak in the traditional Thai construction manner, gaps in the teak slats can sometimes develop, but we are so sorry that we did not notice them previously as we should have. Those are being repaired today.

It is always our pleasure to help make everyone comfortable and happy during their stay, and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Rice Hut. And of course we really hope that if you are in Soppong again we have a chance to host you in one of our other rooms that would suit your preferences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews