We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Viura
Nearby Hotels
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$508
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel(Laguardia)(Great Value!)
$127
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Casona del Boticario(San Vicente de la Sonsierra)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Capellania(San Asensio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jatorrena(Labastida)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Internet
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveler rating
415
193
52
10
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
193
52
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla riojamodern hotelrioja regionroof terracesmall villagewine barhotel restauranttapastasting menuold townhelpful staffstandard roomtucked awaycomfortable roomsreasonable priceloved this hotelspent nights here
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 671 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful modern hotel in the middle of a tiny medieval town in La Rioja region of Spain. The decor is beautiful. However if you are staying here as a base point for wine tasting is Spain, make sure you book the bodegas or wine cellar tastings BEFORE as the staff here are not extremely helpful in booking them for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctorworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a modern hotel, all glass and concrete and if you like modern stuff then you will probably love this hotel. We had a deluxe room, which was suitably big and with a large window looking out onto the village. The bathroom, as mentioned in other reviews here, does not have a door. That's fine; you can't see into the bathroom from the sleeping area. What I did find strange, however, was the full length mirror opposite the toilet. Granted it is some metres away because of the size of the room but I thought it a little unnecessary.

There was little welcome upon arrival compare to other hotels in which we've stayed on this trip. However, we were in a hurry to see the inside of the hotel and our room so I didn't really reflect upon this until later.

We had eaten a huge lunch and so did not dine at the hotel. We thought we would try the little wine concession which is located just next door, to see if we could do some wine tasting. We were in wine country, after all. Unfortunately, the guy in charge although friendly when we arrived, soon turned his attention to a group of locals. It seemed, to us at least, that the shop functions as their local bar. We left without buying any wine. We walked around the village instead but found only one bar open. The hotel really is the only game in town!

There was a good selection of food on offer for breakfast and, finally, a smiley member of staff serving coffee and tea. The tortilla was really disappointing, clearly a purchased prepacked-job. However, the orange cake was amazing, well worth trying a slice or two!

Checkout replicated check in. Functional. I wouldn't rush back to this hotel but I know people who love funky buildings who would appreciate the architecture at least.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weary235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is a cat in the dog kennel. its not quite right to its surroundings but its not too strange.
The rooms were a complete joke for one and only reason. the shower has a glass wall which backs into the bedroom. why on earth if you were staying with a friend or family member would you find it "artistic" to have there bits and bobs on full view through a purple glass window. it brought backs memories of the red light district in Amsterdam. Other than that the rooms are fine.

The options for food are typical for breakfast on mainland Europe. Dont go hungry for lunch as in real spanish style while your craving a ham sandwich the entire country has nodded off for a few hours. The dinner in fairness surprised me and was far superior to my expectations. a trip into the local town also provides a small but good selection for Dinner.

The staff were good but i did feel the hotel was understaffed which can only be blamed on management. Waiting for a drink at the bar would take about 10 minutes as the bar man clearly has other duties around the hotel.

Now petty complaining aside, you're in Rioja. It's a base hotel really for a day trip out to wine country. I really did try some superb vino as i did stuff that resembled the the after taste of mouthwash. Your best bet is research and hit the established wineries. Bodegas Sierra Cantabria is one i would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hiphip6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in this unique hotel while we were making our Northern Spain Tour.It is in a small town next to a small church.Ultra modern architecture of the hotel and charming old church makes great contrast.I really enjoyed the silence of the night while we were having our wine at hotel's bar.Hotel staff are very friendly like most of the Spanish people.Our room was big and very silent so we slept very peacefully. If you are visiting La Rioja area which is great place for wine and history lovers,definitely worth to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witchywitchx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked the gastrotour package including the wine tasting menu in Viura. The hotel is located quite hidden in the small village Villabuena. The architecture is super modern. Lots of concrete combined with accessories that bring more warmth and cosiness into the interior. The superior room we had was very spacious with a full window front. However bathroom and toilet is just seperated by a curtain - something I still find weird. The wine tasting dinner in the restaurant was OK but for the given price I would have expected much more. We also had the feeling that dinner was kind of pushed through. They only served wine from winerys of the village - which in general is OK - but it would have been nice to exeprience some contrasts too by tasting wines from other areas of La Rioja. Breakfast was fine and of good quality. Even the breakfast area was nice and warm enough for us. As we were there to explore La Rioja we spent only the nights in the hotel. Otherwise it could become a bit boring.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews