We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveler rating
446
208
55
12
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
208
55
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern hotel la rioja rioja region wine bar small village roof terrace hotel restaurant tapas tasting menu helpful staff comfortable rooms standard room tucked away polished concrete wine tour reasonable price loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 723 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Located in a beautiful village with a population of 350 people and 40-45 Bodegas. This hotel is very unique and if you enjoy modern decor and design it is fantastic. A perfect hub to explore the Rioja wine region. Staff were very helpful with recommending and booking wine tours in English. Would return without question. Very inexpensive for the quality of hotel and service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stunning design in an idyllic village. Just a spectacular experience. The views from our room were breathtaking. The hotel itself is a work of art. Our room was huge with fantastic modern design. Service is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The staff suggested we go to Haro for an evening to check out a local festival. It turned out to be one of the most magical nights of our trip.

Restaurant is good, but a little overly-bright.

One tip, follow the signs from the main road to get to the hotel. We followed our GPS and it led us down a lane that was very, very narrow. It’s much easier to access the hotel by following the signs.

My only complaint is that we had a thick curtain instead of a bathroom door. Nice design element, but not so good for privacy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed two nights of our wine tour here. Others have described in detail the eclectic charm of this hotel - in the middle of a sweet Rioja village. The location is perfect, the staff is top notch, the rooftop terrace is exactly what you want after a day of exploring. The restaurant was closed both nights and although this was disappointing, we had lovely casual dinners in the patio near the bar. Some hotels simply have all the elements that make for a memorable stay- this is one of them. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is the most astonishing place, part industrial chic, part modern art gallery, with rustic wooden tables, barrels suspended from the ceiling of the restaurant, a charming small garden with an outside terrace and large, very comfortable rooms. The hotel has been built against a low cliff-face and, beguilingly, the back wall of Reception is the raw rock of the cliff itself. The rooms have their own little terrace overlooking the village, a very large work-desk (free wifi, and it works), an enormous flat-screen TV with 40-odd channels (several in English) and a king-size bed. Shower room is small but has all the necessary bits, some toiletries and bathrobes. Minibar has free water and fruit juices, plus (pay-for) beer and wine, chocolates and crisps and proper, big glasses. Despite the fact that the new head chef only started two weeks before my visit, the food in the restaurant was excellent - you might describe it as classic Rioja food with a modern twist (all right, fillet steak is not particularly exotic but it was cooked to perfection with sweet piquillo peppers and a timbale of potatoes - €21). The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful (although sometimes a bit limited in English) and it's worth a visit here for the building alone. The village of Villabuena is very small (pop. about 360) although it's home to three of Rioja's top bodegas - Izadi, Valserrano and Luís Cañas - and whilst it's very charming there isn't a lot going on in terms of shops and bars... Well, virtually nothing. The hotel has free loan of bicycles for the energetic but if you're wanting to explore Rioja wine country you will need a car: the walled city of Laguardia is only 13 km away, Haro is 20 km and Logroño is 30 km, so if you want restaurants, bars and shops there's not far to travel. It's not particularly cheap (rooms start at €135) but it is an experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quinbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in september and it was a very nice place. The design is really unique, nicely decorated rooms,very comfortable beds an pillows and a lovely roof terrace. Did not try the resaurant, only some lunch tapas and they were good. Very professioanl and nice staff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hippolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews