We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem with a very warm welcome.”
Review of Gilpin Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gilpin Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Crook B&B and Inns
England
2 reviews
“A hidden gem with a very warm welcome.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have only glowingly good things to say about Gilpin Mill. It is the best B&B I've visited. Jo and Steve were immediately welcoming and went out of their way to help, without ever being intrusive. The breakfast was wonderful and we loved Steve's homemade shortbread! The rooms are of particularly high quality — bright, airy and beautifully furnished. Everything from the linen to the fresh flowers and the incredibly powerful shower was perfect. The garden, grounds and surrounding area are idyllic. We saw no other cars, even though it was a bustling summer weekend elsewhere in the Lakes. A haven — I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lhollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
83
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Gilpin Mill. Steve and Jo were fabulous hosts and the B&B was gorgeous. We were served delicious breakfasts (different each morning) and they were completely flexible about timing. We were given lots of helpful advice (and maps!) for walks in the local area and while the B&B feels like it is off the beaten track in reality you are close by to some excellent pubs (where they will book dinner for you) and it is only a short drive to some of the most beautiful parts of the Lake District. Touches like a jar of homemade shortbread in our room (which was topped up each day), bottles of water to take on walks, an extensive dvd library and a dvd player in our room really made the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Lakes District was covered in unseasonal snow and it was very cold outside, but we received a warm and friendly welcome from Steve and Jo. They are naturals at the B & B business and make the perfect hosts. Their home is warm and inviting. We slept well, ate outstanding breakfasts (different every morning) and received excellent directions/maps to local attractions. When we left for home I forgot to pack the power cord to my new tablet, and Jo promptly returned it to me by first class mail. We have travelled on 6 continents (not Antarctica!) and this is one of the very best B & Bs at which we have stayed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'middle' of the 3 rooms and it was excellent - even underfloor heating in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for a fantastic few nights at Gilpin Mill.... a beautiful house / room, a quiet secluded location with access to some great pubs and superb breakfasts ! Jo and Steve were the perfect hosts and the attention to detail is second to none !!!
Y&C

Room Tip: we stayed in the smaller room (Room 2) which was perfect for our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yclee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed another terrific stay at Gilpin Mill with 2 other couples.
Jo & Steve are great hosts and make you feel instantly welcome in their lovely home.

The little touches like home made biscuits and cake with a welcoming tea or coffee set the scene for a relaxing time.
You feel very at home and the rooms are immaculate and good value for what you get for your money.
The bathrooms are excellent and i struggled to get out of the shower as it was just the way i like it..
You really can't fault the place and this is the second time we've stayed there and its highly recommended.
Its a little distance from Bowness but nothing in the car, the surroundings are picture perfect with the sound of water outside is peace itself.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are spotless, but slightly different sizes so ask Jo & Steve dependant on your prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffdebDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilton
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Everything that Steve and Jo provide at Gilpin Mill is to a very high standard.
From Steve's home baked shortcake to the really comfortable beds with the highest quality linen, the experience is completely overwhelming.
We have stayed at some fairly grand hotels all over the world yet none come close to this.
Oh, and the breakfast is possibly the best in England.
Alex & Jane

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We recently stayed at Gilpin Mill purely on the basis of other TA reviews and were absolutely thrilled with the place. As Australians travelling back to the old country after 30 years, we wanted some authentic B&B experiences, and this was by far the best. Accommodation is excellent – bathroom superb, but above all, Steve and Jo’s welcome was the most memorable we had. They are genuinely interested in other people and work hard to make the place a success. Afternoon tea and breakfast were delightful and extremely generous. There are a couple of good local pubs you can drive to and Lake Windermere is not too far away.

The actual Gilpin Mill building is new – although to the untrained eye it appears traditional. The four guest rooms appear to be pretty much all of the same high standard.

The only slight drawback is that it could be a bit hard to find if you are tired or emotional after a long drive, so ask for directions before you set out. However, I would go out of my way to go there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crook
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sonata Guest House
Sonata Guest House
#3 of 42 in Kendal
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Mill

Property: Gilpin Mill
Address: Crook, Crook, Kendal LA8 8LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal > Crook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Gilpin Mill Crook, Lake District, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing