We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find”

Coach and Horses Pub
Price range: $6 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Coach and Horses is a family run free house, serving homemade pub grub and a traditional Sunday carvery every week...a range of local real ales, ciders and largers as well as a comprehensive wine list. Dogs and children welcome (dogs on leads in the lounge area) We can also offer BnB, with 5 letting rooms, 3 of which are family rooms, all ensuite, with freeview and tea and coffee making facilities.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little find”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came accross this lovely place by chance, on our way back to Wimborne. Really friendly staff, nice decor, comfy chairs with pouffes!! Nice selection of food, but the pizza's are excellent, baked fresh to order in an open (visible) oven!!! Its nice to know all the ingredients are locally sourced too.
We even bought some of the spicy tomato relish (on one of our pizzas) it was so good.
Will definately be back again.
Only one thing i would mention, they could do with dimming the lights down in the evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poonie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    63
    31
    21
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“As you like it.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Only pub in the village, but they put the effort in to make sure all is how it should be,
although we only visited once, (won't stop us going again,) service was good and polite staff made
the experience a pleasure, the menu was quite extensive and very reasonably priced, so there is something for everyone, we had rump steak ( the special for that night, two rump steaks and bottle of wine £25) cooked the way we asked, there were families (with small children) and no one had any problems with finding anything to eat, kids loved the stone cooked pizza's.
Will visit this pub next time we visit the area, knowing we will not be disappointed.
Enjoy

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capitalist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza's”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Met a friend for lunch here after driving past for years and was really impressed with the food and service, no waiting for ages even though it was a busy Friday lunch time in summer, only quibble limited veggie choice except for the pizza's guess what I had? but lovely and I'm not a big fan of pizza normally. Carnivorous menu looked excellent and friend really enjoyed her meal. My daughter would love the cupcakes on display.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just stumble across this lovely pub by chance when looking for somewhere to have a meal. The food was superb with lots of different dishes to suit everyone, each one was also cooked to perfection. This pub is perfect for families what ever the occasion. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“5 Star Food for 3 Star Prices!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wow! What a place! My partner, me and our daughter stayed in West Bay for 5 nights, we pulled into the Coach and Horses by chance on the first day for lunch! First impressions were lovely, modern feel. Menu is big with lots to choose from. Ordered drinks and my daughter loved the novelty cups, which the children get to keep; to my daughters delight! The lunches were huge, we took half of it home and amazed when the bill came! 5 star food at 3 star prices. We ended up eating here 3 days out of the 5, even considered staying over an extra night just to try the desserts which we never made it too! Highly recommend the Scallops for starter (4 HUGE scallops) and the ribs for main, they fell off the bone! Perfect! The owners who spent the time to talk to us which was really appreciated, also the chef was lovely to talk to, he explained everything is cooked fresh and all local ingredients, you can really taste it! THANK YOU for an amazing experience and we will be back in October!! See you soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElouiseSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach and Horses Pub also viewed

 
Chideock, Bridport
Puddletown, Dorchester
 

Been to Coach and Horses Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing