We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food with great customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coach and Horses Pub

Coach and Horses Pub
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Coach and Horses is a family run free house, serving homemade pub grub and a traditional Sunday carvery every week...a range of local real ales, ciders and largers as well as a comprehensive wine list. Dogs and children welcome (dogs on leads in the lounge area) We can also offer BnB, with 5 letting rooms, 3 of which are family rooms, all ensuite, with freeview and tea and coffee making facilities.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious food with great customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Three of us eat here on Thursday night as we were also staying in the B&B for the night. Firstly the staff is very friendly. The restaurant has wooden tables lit by chandeliers and with reclaimed wooden floor and has a good atmosphere. There is a good range of food on the menu. Some of the starters seemed a bit expensive (they range from £1.50 for olives to £6.95) but the mains seemed reasonability priced (at £8.50 to £11.50.) The food we ordered was very delicious. I had a problem with the meal I had, but this was dealt with immediately and professionally with no fuss. The service here was perfect as nothing was too much trouble. I would defiantly eat here again when in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KLA31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    63
    31
    21
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chard Somerset
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A welcome repast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

After a tiring frustrating drive back from Bournemouth to Somerset we were fortunate to come across this lovely traditional pub. It was traditional in both decor, warm atmosphere, enjoyable food and good old fashioned good service. The food was freshly cooked and the chips were to die for!! We both had scampi and chips with peas ... our favourite too. The service was good as the drinks order was taken in moments from the time we sat down. The place was neat and tidy and clean and the toilets were well stocked with toilet rolls and paper towels the only thing is that these facilities though hygienic could do with a bit of a repaint/retouch. Otherwise a welcome rapast and there is plenty of parking and disabled access too. We were not here on a romantic trip but I feel sure this pub would be a good place for romance and special occasions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatefromChard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over night stay on the way to Exeter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed overnight at the Coach and Horses with my daughter to break up the journey to Exeter. The room was fantastic, really clean and comfortable, fluffy John Lewis towels etc.. The full english breakfast was delicious and the staff very friendly. We liked it so much we stopped for a meal there on the way home. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice place, but service could do with a few improvements”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by while driving on A35 as saw good reviews on trip advisor. Menu was interesting and reasonably priced. Good choice of drinks including ales. Food was served promptly and was very nice. The only downside was that the waitress started to take our plates away before everyone had finished eating and when the bill was requested it was just dropped on the table with nothing said. Maybe a minor point but small improvements could make this place 5 stars in my opinion. Would probably still visit again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ade257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickerell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Had not been to the Coach and Horses for over 2 years, having a revamp and new owners thought we would give it a go and was not disappointed. Lovely feel to the pub and the food was great. I understand there is a new chef as well. We had a great meal and the staff are very warm and welcoming. Will be going again very soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach and Horses Pub also viewed

 
Winterbourne Abbas, Dorset
Puddletown, Dorchester
 

Been to Coach and Horses Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing