We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Camber celebration”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach is just a few minutes walk from The Salty Dog.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
The beach is just a few minutes walk from The Salty Dog.
We welcome all our guests with a welcome tray including fresh scones and homemade jam
The Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway is one of many possibilities for a lovely family day out.
Church Square in Rye, 3 miles away, is an interesting place to explore.
Mermaid Street in Rye, one of the prettiest streets in the UK.
Bodiam Castle owned by the National Trust is just 30 minutes drive away.
Rye, just 3 miles away, has many ancient buildings and is a joy to explore.
Derek Jarman's garden at Dungeness, a fascinating place.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
763suep
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Camber celebration”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Visited for New Years break away,three nights with a group of five adults,two teens and three dogs.
Wonderful location for beach,just five minutes walk over dunes.
Set up is ideal for dogs too with fully enclosed garden and hard floors. Taking three was no problem.
Kitchen well equipped and we had lots of lovely meals around the extendable table.
Spotlessly clean house and nice welcome from John who gave us a guided tour.
The scones went down well too!
Beds all comfy with lovely linen and towels provided.
I will definitely be returning at some point.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: We were cold on arrival until heating warmed up.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2015
Thank you for taking time to write a this review. I will pass your praise on to the team, including John and our cleaners. We look forward to welcoming you back with your dogs again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveW2855
1 review
“Excellent Property”
Reviewed November 27, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Had a terrific short break here , this is an immaculate clean,warm, well equipped and furnished house ideal for a family break . Rye is close by and Camber Sands are a mere 5 min walk .. Highly recommended , we'll book again !

Date of stay: November 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your short break at The Salty Dog and look forward to welcoming you again to Camber Sands. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

Carol and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ideal Venue”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We went to Camber for our daughter's wedding and stayed at the house for 4 nights with friends and family joining us at various points. The accommodation is very good and the house has more than sufficient equipment for the 6 it sleeps. We even managed to assemble the wedding cake there, have 3 bridesmaids, bride, 3 couples getting ready and a photographer without it seeming crowded. The beds are very comfortable and the linen and pillows are good quality. Hairdryers are in each room and toiletries are provided in the bathrooms. The owner has gone out of her way to try and think of everything and has made the property seem very safe for young children in particular. There is even plastic table/picnic ware for the beach through to a dozen champagne glasses. The room with games was a nice touch and our men enjoyed the table football and having the use of a gas BBQ was great. Practically, if you have difficulty with stairs the 3 floors may be a problem- I thought it was good exercise. The house was about a ten minute walk to the beach and for us, very near to the Gallivant hotel so it was very convenient. Overall we had a great time and the house suited us very well.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Space, size and location
Liked least: Not enough surface space in the bedroom
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2014
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, enjoying the location and facilities provided. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara C
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday home for families or friends”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Five friends and I have just spent four nights at The Salty Dog in Camber Sands and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The house was well equipped, very clean and comfortable with plenty of space to relax inside and outdoors. It was the perfect location for a short walk to the beach or travel into Rye (we even walked there and back once via a public path/cycle route!). I would definitely recommend staying there to family and friends.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time review your holiday. We are very fortunate being in such a wonderful location with both beach and countryside. The traffic free cycle path to Rye is particularly nice skirting the sheep fields at the edge of the Romney Marshes and a much welcome alternative to using the car.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s_crusz
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Salty Dog - Excellent”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Excellent holiday home: great location for the beach and the village of Rye. The house was extremely comfortable and well thought through to make the stay relaxing and enjoyable. The house was impeccably clean and all utensils to an excellent standard. The owner has thought everything through for what you would want / need during a beach holiday. We made the most of the kids games room and the BBQ plus beach games / equipment included in the house. Would thoroughly recommend to a friend / family in future.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2014
Thank you, I will pass on your praise to my team who help make everything happen. Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shales114
Sindlesham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent holiday let in a perfect location.”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just got back from a week's stay at The Salty Dog and have had a great week. It's a really lovely, modern house with everything you need to live comfortably for the week. We wanted somewhere good to stay with our three children and our dog. There was plenty of space for us all, the children had a fantastic playroom with plenty of games, table football and a play station to keep them occupied when it rained and we were less than five minutes from the beach when the sun shone which the dog (and the kids) thought was fab. The dunes were great for adventures and the beach went on for miles. The whole family would definitely recommend The Salty Dog for a holiday destination. I don't doubt we'll be back.

Date of stay: April 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments. It is always so nice to hear that guests have enjoyed spending time at our holiday home. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfwande...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay near the beach”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Salty Dog is a great house for a holiday within walking distance of the amazing Camber Sands beach.
The house is modern, very clean and well equipped, there is a fully equipped kitchen and even a play room for kids.
The small garden (half decking and half shingle) is very dog proof.
We were very comfortable, and the dogs had an amazing time on the dog friendly beach.
Its a short drive into Rye which is must to visit if you like interesting towns with lots of specialist shops, if you want a good pint in Rye I recommend the Ypres next to the Castle, the area has plenty of dog friendly pubs including The Green Owl which is a five minute stroll from Salty Dog. Salts Farm shop close by sells some great food including excellent ready for the oven meals.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantasically appointed, close to the great beach.
Liked least: Resort would be very busy in season.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2014
You really did make the most of your few days by the beach and had a fantastic time. We too love all the places you mention, we are certainly not short of lovely dog friendly pubs in the area. Thank you for taking the time to share your recommendations with future travellers. Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing