We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Home from Home”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach is just a few minutes walk from The Salty Dog.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The beach is just a few minutes walk from The Salty Dog.
We welcome all our guests with a welcome tray including fresh scones and homemade jam
The Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway is one of many possibilities for a lovely family day out.
Church Square in Rye, 3 miles away, is an interesting place to explore.
Mermaid Street in Rye, one of the prettiest streets in the UK.
Bodiam Castle owned by the National Trust is just 30 minutes drive away.
Rye, just 3 miles away, has many ancient buildings and is a joy to explore.
Derek Jarman's garden at Dungeness, a fascinating place.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pauline P
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Home from Home”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent a weekend here with friends and everything worked perfectly. The whole accommodation was very clean, comfortable and practical. All bedrooms had King sized beds with lovely fresh cotton bedlinen. The kitchen, dining area and lounge were good sizes for the 6 of us and there were things in the play room to occupy us when it rained. I can't think of anything that needs improving. It was just perfect. The owners have put a lot of time & effort into making sure the house is suitable for everyone. We can't wait to take our Grandchildren there next year. The beach is just five minuets away and is perfect for kids & adults.
Rye and Winchelsea are close by and we enjoyed walking from one to the other and back again. We would certainly recommend " Let's unwind" for 5 star holiday lets

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved everything about it, location, beach, well equipped house
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, so good to hear you had a wonderful weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back with your family next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJ12
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great weekend away”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Having not stayed in private rental accommodation before we were not sure what to expect, happily The Salty Dog did not disappoint. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights with our 18 month old son. The house was well quipped for toddlers with stair gates, socket covers, high chairs and toys. This meant a lot less to pack! The beach is a bit inaccessible with a buggy through the recommended route of 5 minutes, but a 10 minute walk down the road and through one of the several car parks was much easier. The beach is just brilliant for a toddler and sandcastle making. We were delighted to find sandcastle buckets in the garage and spent a happy afternoon on the beach as we were blessed with some sun. The nearest town is Rye which has places to eat and shops to explore, plus toddler friendly things to do within a 30 minute drive. There is also a fantastic Indian takeaway in Camber which delivers.

As there was just the 3 of us it was quite an expensive break but if you had 3 couples plus a couple of toddlers in travel cots it would be a real bargain. Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: proximity to beach
Liked least: the fog horn for 2 hours on saturday night :-(
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
451Kate
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunny seaside Fun”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a great week at the Salty Dog with our 2 teenagers , one of their friends and our dog Lewis.. The house worked very well for us and the manager and owner are extremely helpful and enthusiastic. The sun shone so each day involved time on the beach. One part of the beach is clearly for dogs and Lewis had the time of his life swimming and digging! We visited Rye a couple of times as well as Battle and Winchelsea and made good use of the Farm Shop which sold delicious home made produce.
We hope to return next year!

Kate and David

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Dog friendly but stairgates mean bedrooms are dog free
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
We are so pleased you had a lovely time and look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at the salty dog”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family have just enjoyed the perfect week at the salty dog camber.From the moment we arrived we were greeted by John who showed us around the property and informed us tea and scones and home made jam were waiting for us.This was very much appreciated after a 3 and 1/2 hour drive. The cottage was beautifully clean and well equipped.The garden is in the sun all day,which also has a BBQ.There was no evidence of any dogs in the property even though it is dog friendly.The cleaner does a very good job. The beds are very comfortable and the bed linen clean and fresh.Carol the owner is so kind and helpful.nothing is to much trouble,and any emails or texts are always answered promptly.The beach is just a short walk away,and perfect for dogs.We are already planning our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everythin
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally R
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect get away.....”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

Stayed here in September 2012... 5 girls and there dogs.. From the moment we were greeted by the owners representative we felt welcome. Scones and Jam and a doggie bag of goodies for the dogs. The house had everything we could have wished for and 3 minute walk from one of the fantastic beaches in England. House very clean, bed linen fab, everything you could possible think of was there. We had a fantastic time and have re-booked for September this year.... Well worth a stay if you want a well equipped house that lets you take your best friends 2 and 4 legged with you..... Highly recommend this little gem of a find. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinkcryst...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely holiday beautiful house lovely beach”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

I wonderful house with every thing you need. super clean. so family friendly. I came home and book to more holidays for this year :)
The is a lovely play room for the kids and a garden with all the toys you can think of.
Fantastic :D

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort and homely feel
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing