We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location for the beach”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sixpenny Rock

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew C
2 reviews
“Fantastic location for the beach”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Really great location, 5 mins walk from a fantastically large sandy beach. The whole family had a great time and we will be sure to visit again. Excellent places to visit in the surrounding area as well. Richard @ Beside the sea holidays was a brilliant host and took care of every details for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2016
Thank you very much for the lovely review of your stay at Sixpenny Rock, its very much appreciated. It was great to meet you all and hope to see you back again soon.
Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarby99
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A magical family Christmas.”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

4th stay at 'Whitesands'. This time a 2nd stay at Sixpenny Rock for a family Christmas.

We stayed for the week running up and just past the Christmas break. We had family down with us and then a full family contingent for Christmas Day afternoon - 12 adults, three children.

As with all the properties managed by 'Beside the Sea Holidays' everything was in tip top condition when we arrived. The house was also decorated really nicely for Christmas! There were a number of Christmas goodies waiting for us too and that's the kind of personal touch that makes these guys a cut above the rest.

We were blessed with great weather and even ventured out to camber sands a number of times - Boxing Day walk in the crisp sunshine?!? What more can you ask for.

Would always recommend any place Richard and Sophie are looking after and would especially recommend Sixpenny Rock as a unique stay - it's different in design too all the other priorities in the Whitesand estate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
It was great to meet you again and really pleased you enjoyed your Christmas with us at Sixpenny Rock. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th stay with us!
Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is like home from home
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2015
It was lovely to see you guys back again and are really pleased you enjoyed Sixpenny Rock. Look forward to seeing you back for Christmas. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jo C
LONDON
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Autumnal beach holiday......”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We just got back today from our half term holiday at Sixpenny Rock and felt compelled to write a review because we found the house, and it's location, to be simply perfect. The house was spotlessly clean, with every amenity you could imagine.....I had ordered a shop to be delivered the afternoon we arrived but half the stuff was unnecessary (the house had full size l'Occitane products in every bathroom, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, washing machine powder....everything that you would need to hit the ground running with your holiday). The welcome basket of homemade cake, cookies and pear juice were beautiful. The kids were supplied with more toys and games than they knew what to do with. Beds were comfy, garden lovely. Beach two minutes walk away, the dog and children loved it. And Richard and Sophie were lovely and helpful. All in all an amazing break away - we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2015
Thank you very much for the lovely review. The owners really want to make sure their guests want for nothing so will be really pleased with your feedback. Look forward to welcoming you all back again soon. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house in a great location.”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Sixpenny Rock proved to be a great choice as it's a very modern house finished to a high standard and location wise you can't really be much closer to the beach without being on it! Camber Sands is probably one of the best dog friendly beaches in the country and this time of year you get the benefit of having almost the entire beach to yourself.
Even though we picked one of the wettest weeks this summer we still had a great time as there are lots of places to visit.
We really enjoyed our stay here and anybody who is looking for a dog friendly family holiday home within a 5 minute walk of the beach would be hard pressed to improve on Sixpenny Rock.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very high standard of the house and equipment provided and proximity to the beach
Liked least: A TV in the master bedroom would be a benefit (I know the wardrobe layout makes this difficult). Also a wall cabinet of a few shelves in the en-suite bathroom would be useful as there was not really anywhere to keep our toiletries.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Sixpenny Rock. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay even though the weather was a little miserable! We hope that you will come and stay again soon. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca...
1 review
“We would love to come back to Sixpenny”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This house is a lovely "home from home" and all mod cons and necessities are provided. I haven't rented a house in the UK for many years and our family were very impressed with the quality of furnishings, ie. comfy beds! The Camber Sands beach and dunes are outstanding and the grandson enjoyed tearing around the beach and dunes area. We all slept soundly, only once being disturbed by the Pontins site down the road. If you want restaurants nearby there is once literally within 2-3 minutes walking distance. The only downside was the weather but we still had a lovely time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern and well equipped with comfy beds
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Sixpenny Rock. Its a real test for a property to keep guests happy during a week of unsettled weather, so its good to see that Sixpenny passed with flying colours! Hope that you will come back and enjoy sunnier weather! Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry...
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great Little House”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful time at Sixpenny. The house was clean, modern and filled with everything that one could need for a weeks stay. I searched online for hours looking for a house with some soft grass in the garden, and this was one of only a couple that actually had a lawn. My kids love to play on grass and this little garden was really lovely. A nice short walk to the beach and a five minute drive to some great restaurants and historical site.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2015
Thank you for this review of Sixpenny Rock. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here, the lawn is quite unique for the properties here and makes it one of the best cottages for families with young children. We hope to see you back again soon. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing