We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell On Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pontin's Camber Sands Centre
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hell On Earth”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Never have a budget room, there was blood, sick up are walls. Hairs in the bath, stunk of dusk. Loads of people were complaining, all the staff hid in the office. Had to pay an extra £100 to upgrade, the room was good then but we did not expect to pay another £100. Swimming pool is okay, changing rooms are disgusting. Site looks run down and old. The chicken was go greasy it was unbelievable. The entertainment was average like everywhere. The kids bit, which advertised to have PS3s, I did but none of then were working BUT the staff were really friendly and nice with the activities but the TV in there kept truing itself off because it was so old. I can rough it a bit but this place was full off "council estate" people. I would not even keep chickens in those conditions. Oh yeah and camber sands was a bit of a hell-hole.

Room Tip: Sleep outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benpetben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilMartin, General Manager at Pontin's Camber Sands Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi benpetben,

Thank you very much for your review.

I'm very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your accommodation which was provided whilst staying with us here at Pontins Camber Sands. I am also very sorry that some of our facillities were unavailable during your stay. Unfortunately, we do come up against unexpected issues such as the ones you have described occasionally and whilst we do aim to rectify these as soon as we possibly can, regrettably, this does sometimes slightly affect our guests' stays. I was happy to hear, however, that our staff were friendly and helpful during this situation.

Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Pontins Camber Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    448
    540
    418
    1,655
See reviews for
2,116
200
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I booked 3 nights on a cheap deal but after reading the reviews I was expecting it to be terrible. Check in was easy we found our chalet ok I was dreading walking inside but I was pleasantly surprised. There was clearly new flooring, curtains and sofa bed, it was clean apart from the bath which looked a bit grubby still so i did go over with antibacterial wipes and I did wash up crockery before I used it. The bedding all looked ok and was clean, the chalet had everything you needed other than a SHOWER! Obviously you can still wash in the bath but a shower would have been much more useful. The site was ok, it was all a little tired but the kids really enjoyed the facilities on offer. We used the pool everyday, the pool is very cold but the kids didn't seem to mind but be warned the changing facilities are yuk. Small cubicles, dirty floors and no showers. Only went to the entertainment one night, that was ok and only had food on site once from the takeaway burger place and sorry but it was awful so don't bother! The beach is lovely and if we had gone on a summers day we would have definitely have spent some time there. On a whole we had an enjoyable weekend yes there is room for improvement but for a cheap break away its fine. Much better than expected and we would return although I wouldn't pay the going rate but as a cheap deal its fine just don't go and expect 5 star standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilMartin, General Manager at Pontin's Camber Sands Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi Sarah H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Pontins Camber Sands.

I'm very pleased to hear that you and your party had a good stay with us apart from a few minor issues! I'm also pleased to hear that you could see the benefits of our recent refurbishment in all of our apartments and that the children had fun with all of our activities and events on offer!

I hope that you will be returning in the future for another fun-filled family break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed 5/11/12 - 9/11/12, booked through Sun holidays £60, chalet all ok although could of done with a lick of paint, beds very clean & comfy, you couldt cook & shower at the same time as it's all on 1 switch,ate in the restaurent once £8.95 for a 3 course meal which was very acceptable,pubs all ok,entertainment in the evenings was of a very high standard, the multi tasking bluecoats really did try hard,we were entertained!! considering there was only around 20/40 people in the clubhouse most people joined in, very well done, this is not my usually sort of holiday so all in all a good experiance, the whole place could do with a refurb but will wait & see, fantastic position by the beach.

Room Tip: we were in chalet 119 & 117 np problems at all, the block was fairly full
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilMartin, General Manager at Pontin's Camber Sands Centre, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello Sandra G,

Thank you for your review of Pontins Camber Sands and taking the time to post your reviews. We do appreciate customer feedback as it helps us to ensure that all of our guests get the best out of their stay.

I am glad that you liked the refurbished apartments and that you were able to get a good night's sleep on our new beds & mattresses. I'm also very happy that you enjoyed your meal in our Sands Restaurant and that you found the prices reasonable.

I would also like to thank you for your comments in regards to our Bluecoats and evening entertainment. I will pass your comments onto our Entertainments Manager for his review. We have some amazing entertainment planned for our 2013 holiday season and hope that you'll be joining us to celebrate this!

It's lovely to hear that you had a good stay and we hope to see you and your family again this year for more fun, activites and enjoyment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Sofa bed barely fit for use as a sofa let alone a bed; hard as a rock with springs poking through, my partner didn't sleep at all for 3 nights. Filthy entertainment areas; smelling of sweat and sick. Terrible food; everything drenched in grease. Pool crammed and very basic, the 'great slides' (which look like flumes on the website) are no more than childrens garden slides bolted on to the poolside. The photos on Pontins website are misleading and misrepresentative. Staff were all great, Pontins should be proud of them, shame they have such a miserable environment to work in. We left a day early.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilMartin, General Manager at Pontin's Camber Sands Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi C R,

Thank you for your review!

I'm disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would hope in regards to the accommodation, entertainment venues and our swimming pool. Our apartments have been recently refurbished with new furniture, inventory, decoration and flooring and I'm very sorry that you did not feel as though you could see the benefits of this.

However, I was very pleased to read that you felt that our staff were friendly and helpful. We do work very hard to ensure that our staff provide the best customer service that they can throughout your stay and I am happy that you felt as though this was the case.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Pontins Camber Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camber hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After Watchdog, we were expecting things to be grim at Camber Sands but were pleasantly surprised. The accommodation had been updated and was clean and comfortable - apart from the sofa bed which proved as hard as a rock! The legs broke off the first one as we tried to pull it out but the evening security staff soon replaced it and they provided a good service of information, too. Would like to have seen more of the Bluecoats - we missed the introductory talk which was a big mistake - but our four grandsons aged between 3 and 8 thoroughly enjoyed the soft play area, the arcade and the green space outside our apartments for football. We appreciate there had been considerable rain but the pools that collected on the roads indicate the need for better drainage. Large chance of a soaking when vehicles passing the pavements!

Room Tip: We booked the club apartments which were fine but spoke to others in cheaper accommodation who were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethelandbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a one night stay in pontins camber sands for August 2012 for friends and ourselves. On arrival our first impressions were of a resort that was seriously lacking in health and safety measures, with rusty old washing machines and pulled up mouldy carpets littering the perimeter road. Our Club rooms were no better, with floors covered in used plasters, dust, hair and insects. The bedding was covered in black bits which could've been insects, possibly dirt -we didn't stay long enough to find out. At reception we were told to fill in a complaints form then send another letter in via the post for a full refund, as we did not want to stay in such vile conditions. We therefore drove 5 children 2 hours home rather than stay. After posting our complaint to the customer services manager as requested, pontins are now refusing to refund our money as promised! They are total thieves and liars and the place should be condemned by health and safety! Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We arrived to check, first impressions of run down building and staff helpful but not fully aware of whats happening themseleves so dont ask questions. Got to our club accomadation, newly done but dirty, dust everywhere and a greasy kitchen, had to wash everything. Entertainment was over croweded disorganised, a big let down stayed 1 more night just to see if we could make do the food on site was awful dirty and got cold food, but found a nice chippy on the main road! Ended up coming home eArly as couldnt stand another night in the gell hole. Dont waste your money here its not worth it

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1981deniselynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
0.1 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,245 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
738 reviews
5.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontin's Camber Sands Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontin's Camber Sands Centre

Property: Pontin's Camber Sands Centre
Address: New Lydd Road | Camber Sands, near Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Camber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Pontin's Camber Sands Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontin`s Camber Sands Centre Hotel Camber
Pontins Camber Sands Centre Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing