We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as good as other caravan sites!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pontin's Camber Sands Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pontin's Camber Sands Centre
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just as good as other caravan sites!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have just returned from a sun holiday at Pontins Camber sands. On reading the other reviews and watching watchdog we panicked and upgraded our chalet to the club. We arrived on Monday 29th October and because we upgraded we could get into our chalet at 2pm. It was spacious and clean and the surrounding area was pleasant. Overall the chalet was better than some caravans I have stayed in, both with Haven and Park resorts!

The clubhouse was also clean and we enjoyed taking part in the entertainment provided. There was a good amount of security and we felt safe. The Arcade was great with a variety of machines for adults and children to have fun and the children could collect tickets to get a prize at the end of their stay.

The Games room was a favourite for my children where most of the equipment was free to use. They particularly enjoyed the giant chess and ping pong!

The pool was a bit cold, but once your in and swimming around you soon get used to it. The slide was a bonus.

The beach is absolutely stunning with miles of sandy beach. Not too many attractions and a friendly cafe.

I will be returning again for another holiday with Pontins. I don't know if we were lucky as we had booked in the October half term and we upgraded to club, but I found it to be friendly, safe, and relaxing.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can spare the extra cash. Sounds like this was the difference between those who hate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boddie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    438
    525
    400
    1,549
See reviews for
2,004
193
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

been to pontins in camber sands a few times, just got back from halloween half term week , it was fantastic...entertainment was great, facilities are getting better, painted and new furniture and the blue coats and staff as always was the best. we did book 'executive' which now turns out to be the billy basic apartments but with all new furniture, so was ok. The pool changing rooms are still not very good, but pool and slides kept kids entertained...as long as you know and dont bother using changing rooms, just change and shower in your apartment...the entertainment in the evening was great, did manage to have a walk over the beautifull camber sands so was all good. Also had a mishap and needed wheelchair and was very pleased to see their were some there for hire!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I only ever write reviews when I've had a very good experience or a very poor experience unfortunately this time it's the latter!!
We are a family of 2 adults, 3 children we were in a big group of around 25 people, when we arrived our friends had already checked us in, although we could not find our apartment!! Even the staff didn't seem to know! Eventually we found it, although it was the wrong apartment! Finally got in our chalet it was average, Definately needed a complete refurb though and my god was it drafty! There was a huge gap under the door!! One family from our party paid extra for a double bed, only to get to their chalet and find 2 single beds! When complaining, staff at reception said they were fully booked, nothing they could do!! Didn't even offer a refund! Checked out the swimming pool changing rooms were tiny and not enough of them! Pool was freezing and filthy got out rather quickly!! Apart from the tribute acts, the entertainment was very poor, we felt very bored, even our kids were saying they were bored there was not much else to do except waste money in the arcade! On one of our days we didn't leave the chalet till13.30 due to having nothing to do!! We had one dinner there which was very average, but apparently the sausages are disgusting (according to a number of people!) spoke to quite a few people whilst a pontins and nobody had anything good to say! By our last day all 5 of us had sickness bugs! Never wanted to leave somewhere so quickly!! We went to Butlins in may and the standards are so much higher, Definately won't be choosing pontins again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilminxcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camber hotels

Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We've just come back from a 4 night stay and after all the bad things I've heard I was expecting Beirut! Upon arriving I thought it looks a little run down but after getting to a chalet we was pleasantly surprised that it was nice and clean. Beds nice, clean ad sturdy. Sheets NOT mouldy. Bathroom was clean and not covered in grime. And kitchen had everything we needed. Service. Absolutely no complaints about the service, when we needed more pillows we went to reception and they sent some to our chalet. Bluecoats were brilliant, my 5 year old niece loved them all especially JAKEY! He put so much effort into entertaining all the kids. Shows were good, only problem were two of the Cabaret acts, they were lacking talent, although they did put the effort in. So thank you to all the staff for making our week memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank austin_lad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

we went to pontins for halloween weekend and at first we thought it wasn't too bad considering the awful reviews on here (after reading these reviews we were prepared for the worst). When we got in our apartment we were pleased to see that our chalet was one of those that had been 'done up' - wooden flooring, painted etc. We unpacked all of our stuff, but then to our horror discovered a plug in the childrens bedroom with a massive gap at the side of it! Someone had just put the wardrobe over it hoping it would cover it up!! This was the plug to the heater so we would have had no choice but to use it. I couldn't take any risk of my children putting their hands in it so I took a photo of it and went straight to reception to show them. the blue coat at reception was brilliant, she upgraded us to a Club apartment straight away. We had the hassle of having to move apartments but at least they moved us. The apartments have been done up but they are really not up to scratch and really this hazard shoud never have been passed off as complete. The entertainment was ok for a long weekend away. So overall if youre looking for a cheap weekend away it's good, and a lovely location, but just have a good look around your chalet before you unpack!!

Room Tip: have a good look around your room before unpacking incase you have to move!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Was expecting the worst having read the reviews online.
on arrival was given a free upgrade. The apartment had recently been upgraded, very impressed, not perfect, but nothing to really complain about. Had a welcome pack with your hot beverages, and washing up bits!
Did not use the swimming facilities so can't comment. Cooking facilities were spot on and clean. Evening entertainment was perfect for kids, jakey now has an admirer...keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezi1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just come back from a weekend at Camber Sands Pontins, after reading the reviews we where abit concerned. We stayed in club accomadtion and it looked like somethings had been refurbished but not all, the bathroom was still dated and the kitchen was done by basic builders, It was livable and cleaniness was ok. We just went over things to be safe, as we had 2 young children. Customer service and security good on camp and facilites etc basic. It is good to use as a base camp to explore the area. the first room we got allocated i asked to be moved, as next door to us a family of 4 adults and 9 kids where staying and had no consdieration for other guests, we had only been in the room 30 minutes and new they would be a problem. Reception kindly moved us to a quiter area but still close to everything. There needs to be more ligting along the roads, as very dark at night to see people. Overall if your looking for a cheap place to stay this is a place to go. The biggest thing that lets it down is alot of people staying there don't have respect for the place, chuck litter and no consideration to others.

Room Tip: Close Club accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
0.4 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
3.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#3 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontin's Camber Sands Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontin's Camber Sands Centre

Property: Pontin's Camber Sands Centre
Address: New Lydd Road | Camber Sands, near Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Camber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pontin's Camber Sands Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontin`s Camber Sands Centre Hotel Camber
Pontins Camber Sands Centre Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing