We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pontins Camber Sands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pontin's Camber Sands Centre
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pontins Camber Sands”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Fun weekend with 3 year old grandson at Pontins, Camber Sands. Chalet not 4 star, so a little dated, but clean with new bedding, leaather sofa bed and smart lined curtains. Heaters in lounge and bedroom sufficient and 3 year old loved the evening entertainment and refurbished playgrounds. We didn't try the food as we brought our own and went into Rye on the bus one lunchtime. Beautiful September weather made it a lovely short break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    443
    530
    407
    1,583
See reviews for
2,048
195
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Well, where to start?! Sun weekend at £38 so can't complain at cost. Chalet was fine: basic but clean & functional as expected. Location great, right on beautiful Camber Sands with its fantastic beach and dunes...

It's the other big groups of "holidaymakers" that are the problem. We only used the place as a base to sleep and have breakfast in the chalet. We had no sleep the first night as a fight broke out in the block we were staying in, police & dogs, 8 arrests, 2 in hospital including assaulted staff as if the job isn't bad enough already... Went out to a crime scene the following morning with police guarding a chalet after a "very serious incident". Fortunately the 2nd night was better as they all got kicked off site and we were armed with earplugs!

Never seen so many feral, feckless scumbags in 1 place, no wonder the place is fenced in. Beirut would feel safer! Jeremy Kyle would be in his element with these "Shameless" folk. Would not go back here EVER!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camber hotels

Basildon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

this place is a disgrace to camber sands and pontins.have just got back from a monday to friday break here and will not ever be returning.
we paid for a club chalet linen,electric,gas,free news paper every day that we was there included in the price.what we didnt pay or ask for was the mould in the shower or the smell of dampness as you opened the door.stayed in this chalet for about 10 minutes looking to see if we could find any good reason to stay here but there was none.
ended up going down the road to park resorts and staying there for our break.
if anyone is thinking of booking to stay here DONT.save your money and stay well away from here.we are in the process of writting to pontins head office requesting a full refund.

Room Tip: the only tip i would give is AVOID
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We visited Pontins from 10th September for 5 days.
We have been using Sun Holidays at home and abroad for over 10 years and have always had brilliant accommodation and service - nowhere have we encountered such filth and lack of interest from staff.
We arrived at the resort unpacked took note of our chalet and it was not in a very pleasant state. We had to do a clean up of the kitchen and bathroom and had to sweep the settee and without exaggeration we got a small dustpan full of dust. hairs etc. We certainly were not impressed. The next morning we had an early start but I noticed a lot of bites on my legs and then I actually saw a flea!!!!
I dropped an eyeliner on the floor and it rolled under the bed -- the state of the floor was disgusting -- about 4 months worth of dust and rubbish we then looked on top of and the back of draws and cupboards and believe me everywhere was appalling!!! You may notice that the the picture of the receipt on top of the wardrobe is dated 2002!!!!
We had to leave early as we had arranged to meet friends a distance away and reception was not opened! We got back early evening to find reception again closed we asked about a duty manager but there was no one available to complain to only a security guard who could not help. What public place does not have a duty manager on call? We saw another flea that evening. The next morning we went to reception - only to find a most unhelpful receptionist who kept repeating “canʼt be fleas we donʼt allow animals in here” had she never heard that there are human fleas? Re the disgusting state of the place she said “Iʼll talk to the cleaners”. She didnʼt or they ignored her because we returned and nothing had been done. I cannot understand how reporting filth and fleas no one apologized. arranged to move us to a new chalet or made some attempt to clear it out.
Nobody did anything to clean or speak to us about our complaint during the rest of our stay - we were tempted to leave but the holiday was a necessary break for us so we stayed it out. On our return home we had to wash everything and clean our bags to try to ensure we did not infest our own home. I have a leg injury with a 6” open wound that I was really worried may pick up an infection, due to our own care in the chalet I do not seem to have agitated it. To make matters worse we were on a limited budget and had to make it stretch to eating out as it was so unhygienic! I am sure that Health and Safety Executive will have a field day!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley-Hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent a five day Liesuretime Coach Holiday at Pontins, Camber Sands East Sussex. Take heed this is the worst place to stay out of many I have stayed at and I will never go there ever again. Not one of the staff gave a welcome talk when we arrived, on Monday the 24th September, in fact our driver (David, who was excellent who helped all he could); had to go and get the keys as he said he didn't want any of the elderly or disabled to walk that far up the road. But, after our keys were handed out we still had to pull our luggage to our apartments ourselves. When we arrived at the apartment no 565 right down the bottom end of the camp, there were no towels, Toilet paper or even a welcome pack of tea, coffee, sugar or milk, so we all at to go and get it ourselves from reception and the shop, when we could find them that is, so actually ended up walking further than David wanted us to. The apartments are supposed to be newly refurbished, not rubbished as we all found them to be, the showers you would have to have a ladder to get in them as the step up into the shower was about a foot high, the room was dirty and the sink was tiny to wash in, even my flannel was struggling to find room, although there were supposed to be a Daily Maid service, they must of been out milking the cows as we never had one for the whole of the stay. We all found the Lunar Entertainment area, and Restaurant too far for many of us to walk to, but we all had to manage to get there for Dinner time at 5 pm. The dinners were mostly awful, cold and greasy, tasteless, if I had taken a dog I wouldn’t of given it even to Him/Her. The next morning we were all relieved to go on our excursion to Hastings... (Please read my reviews of our excursions to Hastings, Battle and Rye.) When we returned at around 2 pm, we did get an apology from one of the Managers, Woopy... who said they were moving us nearer the Venues, he also said it was an upgrade but; yeah of course it was; apart from being nearer; the apartments were exactly the same as above. He also said there would be some lovely goodies in our apartments, we had a bottle of very cheap red wine and an even cheaper box of Fantail Shortbread, so if you like neither of these you don’t get your apology, now do you Pontins. More fetching, re-packing and carrying, and still no Towels or Toilet paper supplied in this apartment. no 223. The entertainment in the evening from 6 pm (Which should have a Watershed at 9 pm if the Adult? entertainment is for us Adults); it was firstly Bingo and tickets sold at £1.00 each, the Disco Bingo was free, but you only got a bottle of vinegar white wine and Children’s items. Then you played Upside down Bingo all this ended around 8 pm when we got Children’s Party Time, loud and dangerous as it was carried out in the Lunar Bar area where people were collecting their drinks and trying to avoid children of all ages up to about 16 running around all over the place and mostly bumping into to your legs. At nine 9 pm there was another game of Bingo for an hour until 10pm and still with the Kids shouting and running around. So here it comes, the EXCLUSIVE ADULT ENTERTAINMENT FOR OVER 55 YEARS AT LUNAR BAR. (Advertised by Liesuretime) What a joke that was the kids still running all over the place, screaming and shouting, bumping into table and anything they could find. If you are four or five you will love this dump. The shows for us ‘Adults’ were short and mostly dull and boring they also lasted for only 40 to 45 minutes until 10:45 pm One consolation was the Bar was open until 12:30 pm which hardly anyone stayed for as it was even more dull than the entertainment, and we were all glad to get out of there. But who goes on Holiday to stay in the Apartments, really who would want to. The Camp at Pontins is disgusting, dirty, and very confusing to find your rooms, they all look the same and also the area around them. The wonderful Big Pontins Breakfast was worse than the Dinners or entertainment, One or two Sausage, one or sometimes two bacon, an egg whish looks and tastes like it has been cooked about 5 times one person even had a rotten egg put on his plate, one hash brown hard and half cooked toast, and Mushrooms which taste like they were cooked in urine. Two words describe this place perfectly ... (DON’T GO)
Two people also had a theft from their room both of which were umbrellas, well I suppose it was raining and also staining the camps reputation of greatness not? Another person an elderly gentleman when getting to his room sat on a plastic and steel legged chair, which promptly fell apart as the legs gave way from their welds. He was in shock and hurt his already bad hip. No one enjoyed this place for numerous and mounting bad reasons, and the coach Holiday passengers were not the only ones.
We spent a five day Liesuretime Coach Holiday at Pontins, Camber Sands East Sussex. Take heed this is the worst place to stay out of many I have stayed at and I will never go there ever again. Not one of the staff gave a welcome talk when we arrived, on Monday the 24th September, in fact our driver (David, who was excellent who helped all he could); had to go and get the keys as he said he didn't want any of the elderly or disabled to walk that far up the road. But, after our keys were handed out we still had to pull our luggage to our apartments ourselves. When we arrived at the apartment no 565 right down the bottom end of the camp, there were no towels, Toilet paper or even a welcome pack of tea, coffee, sugar or milk, so we all at to go and get it ourselves from reception and the shop, when we could find them that is, so actually ended up walking further than David wanted us to. The apartments are supposed to be newly refurbished, not rubbished as we all found them to be, the showers you would have to have a ladder to get in them as the step up into the shower was about a foot high, the room was dirty and the sink was tiny to wash in, even my flannel was struggling to find room, although there were supposed to be a Daily Maid service, they must of been out milking the cows as we never had one for the whole of the stay. We all found the Lunar Entertainment area, and Restaurant too far for many of us to walk to, but we all had to manage to get there for Dinner time at 5 pm. The dinners were mostly awful, cold and greasy, tasteless, if I had taken a dog I wouldn’t of given it even to Him/Her. The next morning we were all relieved to go on our excursion to Hastings... (Please read my review of Hastings.) When we returned at around 2 pm, we did get an apology from one of the Managers, Woopy... who said they were moving us nearer the Venues, he also said it was an upgrade but; yeah of course it was; apart from being nearer; the apartments were exactly the same as above except the Toilet was leaking here. He also said there would be some lovely goodies in our apartments, we had a bottle of very cheap red wine and an even cheaper box of Fantail Shortbread, so if you like neither of these you don’t get your apology, now do you Pontins. More fetching, re-packing and carrying, and still no Towels or Toilet paper supplied in this apartment. no 223. The entertainment in the evening from 6 pm (Which should have a Watershed at 9 pm if the Adult? entertainment is for us Adults); it was firstly Bingo and tickets sold at £1.00 each, the Disco Bingo was free, but you only got a bottle of vinegar white wine and Children’s items. Then you played Upside down Bingo all this ended around 8 pm when we got Children’s Party Time, loud and dangerous as it was carried out in the Lunar Bar area where people were collecting their drinks and trying to avoid children of all ages up to about 16 running around all over the place and mostly bumping into to your legs. At nine 9 pm there was another game of Bingo for an hour until 10pm and still with the Kids shouting and running around. So here it comes, the EXCLUSIVE ADULT ENTERTAINMENT FOR OVER 55 YEARS AT LUNAR BAR. (Advertised by Liesuretime) What a joke that was the kids still running all over the place, screaming and shouting, bumping into table and anything they could find. If you are four or five you will love this dump. The shows for us ‘Adults’ were short and mostly dull and boring they also lasted for only 40 to 45 minutes until 10:45 pm One consolation was the Bar was open until 12:30 pm which hardly anyone stayed for as it was even more dull than the entertainment, and we were all glad to get out of there. But who goes on Holiday to stay in the Apartments, really who would want to. The Camp at Pontins is disgusting, dirty, and very confusing to find your rooms, they all look the same and also the area around them. The wonderful Big Pontins Breakfast was worse than the Dinners or entertainment, One or two Sausage, one or sometimes two bacon which I think really came from an Horse, an egg which looks and tastes like it has been cooked about 5 times one person even had a rotten egg put on his plate, one hash brown hard and half cooked toast, and Mushrooms which taste like they were cooked in urine. Two words describe this place perfectly ... (DON’T GO)
Two people also had a theft from their room both of which were umbrellas, well I suppose it was raining and also perhaps they like staining the camps reputation of greatness not? Another person an elderly gentleman when getting to his room sat on a plastic and steel legged chair, which promptly fell apart as the legs gave way from their welds. He was in shock and hurt his already bad hip. No one enjoyed this place for numerous and mounting bad reasons, and the coach Holiday passengers were not the only ones. Families with young children left the Camp early, as they would of stayed 5 days and went in three, how they lasted that long I don’t know, they must of got lost around the Camp. This Place is really awful I think Pontins in Camber Sands, should quickly sink into the wet sands and never be seen again. Liesuretime Please scrap this place from your Brochure’s, really or you will also get a bad image from all who travel there with you, for choosing this really awful place and wrongly stating how good it is.

Room Tip: The best room here would be ... The Toilet. As there isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just had 5 days mon-frid at camber sands, had Club chalet, linen, elec, shower gel, all kitchen bits, heating, all included our chalet had been refubished, all good till you look at the state of the chalet. Mouldy,everywhere, broken light pull (which they mended) couldnt open shower window, handle had been broken off, could have been cleaner.Beds were very uncomfortable/felt every spring.
We were half board, food plentyfull but not very good,
Staff were helpfull and friendly.
We wouldnt go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltslil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed in Chalet 327 and the sofa bed collapsed in the early hours, poor attempt at repair was made, we asked them to exchange it but they didn't. So, had to sleep on the floor.
Toilet bowl not screwed to floor and wobbled during use!
High steps by our chalet unsuitable for disabled!
Not recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
2.8 mi away
River Haven Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontin's Camber Sands Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontin's Camber Sands Centre

Property: Pontin's Camber Sands Centre
Address: New Lydd Road | Camber Sands, near Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Camber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pontin's Camber Sands Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontin`s Camber Sands Centre Hotel Camber
Pontins Camber Sands Centre Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing