We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sandy Retreat

What better way to round off your day on the beach!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
What better way to round off your day on the beach!
Overlooking the wilflife rich pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
What better way to round off your day on the beach!
Overlooking the wilflife rich pond
the pefect spot for alfresco dinig!
Wander Rye's cobbled streets
Rye is only 5 mins away!
England's finest sandy beach on your doorstep
The mountainous dunes are just a short stroll away
watch the incredible seaside sunsets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
corgs2006
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a gem! Fantastic location, professionally serviced and well maintained property. Everything you could wish for...every little detail has been thought of - right down to the lovely little gifts left for us.
Richard is a pleasure to deal with too - responds promptly to any and all queries.
Have booked our next holiday already.
Thank you Richard - it's been a hassle-free break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - proximity to beach, well maintained property
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2015
Thank you very much for the amazing review, it was lovely to meet you all. Look forward to seeing you again next year. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very well equipped and well maintained”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The property is ideal for families, situated just five minutes walk from the beach with a secure small back garden and a very quiet neighbourhood.The property is exactly as described on the website and was very clean and the owners had taken the trouble to provide extras eg wifi,computer games ,books and DVDs,the kitchen contained everything we needed right down to foil and greaseproof paper.The letting agents were excellent we needed their help on several occasions and the response was always swift and very polite. Their were eight of us staying in this property and not once did we run out of hot water.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean and well maintained
Liked least: Front windows upstairs were very hard to open and close ,and the gravelled garden meant stones were constantly brought into the house on our footwear
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2015
Thank you very much for this lovely review. As you have mentioned in the feedback that this is an ideal family property with lots of extras to keep everyone entertained when you can't be at the beach! It was lovely to meet you and hope to see you all back again very soon. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marius S
1 review
“Great family house in a fantastic location”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were 8 persons, 4 adults - 4 kids, staying at "Sandy Retreat" for a week in August 2015. The house was very much up to the job, well equipped, clean and tidy. Bedrooms are of a decent size, with two of the rooms well suited for couples.The outdoor space is great, with sunlight for most of the day end evening. Off street parking available just outside the back door.

This was our third time visiting the area and booking with "Beside the sea". Booking experience, and overall service have been super every time, with quick responses to any queries and needs.

Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was exactly as advertised
Liked least: Nothing special - overall a good experience
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2015
Thank you for the review, it was great to finally meet you! We are really pleased you enjoyed Sandy Retreat and hope to see you back again for your 4th stay with us next year. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian...
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
“Beautiful place for a holiday with children”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Very well equipped cottage ideal for a holiday with children. We (a familiy of 5) came to Camber for the third time and it was the best house we staid in so far! Very helpful manager (Richard). The location (Camber) is ideal to go to the sandy beach (5 mins walk) or to explore Sussex and Kent. A day trip to London by train (from Ashford) will take less than an hour. We certainly will come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2015
Thank you very much for posting a review, it was great to finally meet you and the family - the owners will certainly be pleased to hear that its been your favourite house so far. Look forward to welcoming you back next year for your 4th stay with us! Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jill b
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent property and location”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property was extremely well equipped and the property manager was very friendly and attentive to our needs. I would recommend Sandy Retreat to any family looking for a relaxing holiday.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2015
Thank you for posting a review of your stay here at Sandy Retreat. It was lovely to meet you all. We look forward to welcoming you all back very soon. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark h
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“great house in a great location”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

we stayed at Sandy Retreat for a week at the end of May 2015, 4 Adults and 3 children and was ample big enough, the house itself is very well equipped, and was immaculate upon arrival. we will be back again next year. i would absolutely recommend

we barely touched the surface of the surrounding area, Hastings and Rye are both very nice in different ways. If traveling with children the only thing i would be aware of is that generally the local pubs don't serve food until 6pm, which caused us a small issue, that said.
a brilliant family holiday.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, it is very much appreciated. Sandy Retreat is perfect for families with young children as it has everything you need for a relaxing stay with the little ones. Look forward to seeing you again next year! Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great house, great location, great weekend”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Sandy Retreat for a long weekend with two children under five. The house was clean, fully equipped and beautifully furnished. It was the most family friendly place we have stayed and included step up stools, pushchair, plastic tableware and night lights. The house was spacious yet cosy and we enjoyed evenings in by the fire making use of the DVDs, free wifi and selection of games.

Camber beach was only a five minute walk away as were a small selection of beachside cafes and restaurants. The town of Rye was a 10 minute drive away and was good for exploring, it's variety of tea rooms and further choice of places to eat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of Sandy Retreat. The owners have tried to think of everything a young family would need for a relaxing holiday and will be thrilled with your comments. We hope you will come and stay again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing