We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Half Moon Cottage

Half Moon Camber Sands
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Half Moon Camber Sands
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Half Moon Camber Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarah t
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had an amazing stay in this cottage with our 3 children 12,11 and 8. Situated 5 minutes walk from the beach and a quick drive to Rye we had everything on the doorstep. The cottage is exceptionally clean and has everything you need. A washer and dryer are really handy and a great sized fridge. There is a fantastic hammock in the garden for everyone to rush too and a very large shed to store bikes and beach gear. Parking is very easy and a back gate means no carrying through the house and easy unpacking of the car. We ate out a lot as Rye has amazing pubs,restaurants and even a cinema. Everywhere let us take our dog which meant we had a true family holiday. Wifi was fine for us and husband managed to keep up with work daily with no complaints.
We have always gone to Cornwall and loved the seaside but after staying in this lovely cottage and on this beach we will be back. You really don't have to go in the car at all but Kent is also very near and we did go on a day trip to Bovey Castle which was fantastic. Our children have had a fantastic week and so have we. Rye is so worth a visit and they have some beautiful shops.Thank you for letting us stay in your cottage it is truly great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How close to London and such a beautiful cottage and walking distance to the beach and so close to a beautiful town.
Liked least: only one Hammock
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2015
Thank you very much for the great review. It was lovely to meet you on the beach and hear about this cracking cottage you was staying in! Hopefully this stay has persuaded you to drop Cornwall for Camber! Look forward to seeing you back at Half Moon very soon. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claret196...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet location with a short walk to a gorgeous beach.”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Half Moon Cottage for a week in the Easter holidays. We are a family of four including two teenagers.The house was comfortable and nicely furnished. We were extremely lucky as the weather was fantastic and we were able to spend time in the small garden as well as on the beach.
The welcome pack of yummy goodies was very much appreciated .
I would recommend the house for a family of four but no more as the living area is cosy but it is not huge.
The beach is about a five minute walk from the house and even though Pontins is right next to the development the cottage is in,it did not affect us. We ate at The Green Owl which was a friendly pub.
Only improvement I would recommend is better WIFI which was poor and some padded loungers in the garden. If you are looking for a beach holiday and with the added bonus of being dog friendly then this is a great cottage for you.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2015
Thank you for posting a review of your stay. We are disappointed that you marked the property as only 3 stars when you said that the only improvement was better wifi, which is being upgraded in June when the area is able to have the super fast fibre broadband and some padded loungers in the garden.

The property sleeps 5 people comfortably and for shorter periods there is a sofa bed that can sleep 2 people making it a very cost effective option for 7 people looking for a short break, so I would disagree with your view that the property is for families of 4 people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridgwells...
Deal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pleasant cottage close to the beach”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A clean, warm and pleasant house, within 5 minutes walk of Camber Sands. Would sleep 5 comfortably - a bit small for our group of 6. There are two different photos of the master bedroom on the website which makes it look bigger than it is (although the written information is very accurate) but perfect for smaller groups and very warm, even in January!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare H
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beach bums for the weekend!”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Rented this cottage for our daughters 14th Birthday. Only an hour from where we live but wanted a complete change of surroundings. Beach short 5 minute walk away where we spent having fun on the dunes and in the water (dog included). Cottage itself is very well appointed and garden low maintenance (nautically themed). House immaculate and tastefully furnished. Lovely welcome pack when we arrived including locally made cake, cookies and milk in the fridge. Had a BBQ (gas type) Saturday night which was delicious and everything cooked to perfection. No shops appear to be within walking distance but I bought everything with us no worries there. All beds super comfy (including the sofa bed) so all in all a wonderful weekend!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireDam...
1 review
“Half moon cottage was perfect for our family weekend.”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have a big family but half moon allowed for that. The cottage is beautifully furnished with everything you need for your stay. Even a stair gate and high chair were provided which made our stay a lot easier with my 18month old son.
We came to celebrate my dad's 70th birthday. Both my parents would agree that we had a weekend of luxury. They certainly enjoyed having an ensuite attached to the master bedroom.
I have to say though my favourite part of the cottage was the garden which was surprisingly spacious. The children loved playing out there.
Overall a fantastic place to stay which I would definitely use again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely, relaxing seaside cottage :-)”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Our spirits were lifted as soon as we walked through the door! Half Moon Cottage is perfectly furnished and decorated for that seaside/nautical feel. White Sands village as a whole is very 'sea-sidey' and charming, and Half Moon Cottage itself sits very well within this - it has a nice relaxed atmosphere - both light and airy but also very cosy in the evenings, when the lovely white shutters are closed at all of the windows.

The kitchen/dining room is a great sunny spot (if you have the weather!) to sit and have breakfast overlooking the large private garden before going a walk on the long sandy beach, only 5 minutes away over the dunes. We soon discovered the cottage contains everything you could possibly want on a holiday - from board games, DVDs and plenty of books for those rainy days, to a hammock and barbecue in the garden for the sunny ones. Plus it's always good to have wifi! It was also great to have a family bathroom, en suite for the master bedroom and a downstairs cloakroom.

There was plenty to do in the area, with the picturesque town of Rye only a short drive away. Here we found lots of restaurants, cafes (we loved Edith's House and their resident French Bulldog) and antique shops for pottering. We also visited nearby Dungeness, which has a wonderful surreal atmosphere, and a long shingle beach - bleak and weird for brisk winter walks!

We cannot recommend Half Moon Cottage enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The way the property had been furnished/decorated
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillydUk
UK
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely homely house, dog friendly and close to beach”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a lovely stay here over New Year. The weather was mostly foul but the house was warm, comfortable and well equipped. The beach is a five minute walk away and once the tide is out you can walk for miles on the sand. Our dog loved chasing for a ball for hours! We visited the Green Owl pub which is very friendly and does good food. The surrounding area is beautiful, Rye is nearby which has many pubs and restaurants, although we didn't have time to visit any. We did visit the Queens Head in Icklesham, about twenty minutes away, which we would recommend. Altogether we would thoroughly recommend this house and area to families, especially those with dogs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing