We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Rent Motel at High Rent Prices - deadful!”
Review of The Gallivant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gallivant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2004

Dreadful staff, cheap motel-style rooms (damp comes as standard),. Only thing going for the place is the food which is imaginative and lively. However, front of house staff unbelieveably offhand and rude. Being shown a 2 x 2 table (cafe/bistro size) for 5 people, we asked if we could move adjacent to a large round table for 6 that had just been cleared, to be barked at "but we have laid this table for you!". "But it's free isn't it?" Waitress turned her back and stomped off, leaving us standing we look at each other in stunned silence and after a few minutes we sit down. Waitress returns and barked "THE TABLE HASN'T EVEN BEEN WIPED DOWN!" We remarked it didnt bother us if it didnt bother her, in response to which she turned smartly, grabbed glasses from other table and slammed a handful of cutlery and glasses in the middle of our table, presumably for us to place ourselves. Without exception, every employee was moody, sullen and completely without motivation. Our order which requested a slight change in the set meal (sea bass but without potatoes please, just extra veg..." was met with muttering and whining (stroppy teenager came to mind) and irritation because the PDA order pad being used made adjustments VERY COMPLICATED DON'T YOU KNOW!! Dreadful, dreadful place. Hard beds, cheap polyester duvets, no power to the shower (and we are talking English expectations of same, not American, here!).

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LornaSW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,395 - 1,401 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2004

Don't believe the hype about the Place. It gets great PR in the travel supplements but it doesn't live up to it. The food is excellent and if I came back I would eat here but not stay. Firstly, it's very definitely a motel not a hotel. For decor and room standard, think travelodge with sea grass matting and pot pourri. Reception is only staffed 9am - 7pm so don't expect any services like wake up calls or newspapers. Hair dryers don't come as standard in the rooms. Anyone arriving/returning after hours is dealt with by the waiting staff who are constantly harassed. when I arrived late I waited 10 minutes being comprehensively ignored before I was checked in. When I was checked out, my bill (prepared by the receptionist who had by then gone off duty) was wrong. The waiting staff are nice but downtrodden and on the first night I ate there, were being pursued by diners for drinks, meals, bills ordered and not received. There is definitely a problem with the management in the Place - they are nowhere to be seen.

3  Thank Carol16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
lincoln, UK
1
Reviewed August 23, 2004

The setting at the foot of Camber sands dunes is enough to make this place a cut above...and the idea of a stylish but simple restaurant with rooms is far too rare in England. The food was imaginative and well done ......but the service was haphazard and they didn't seem a particularely happy bunch (I asked if I could put my cup down on a window sill and was told by a waitress that 'the managment wouldn't approve') which was a shame because I think the plain decor needed a more friendly face.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Windsor, UK.
12
Reviewed August 19, 2004

My girlfriend I stayed two nights with another couple and their 3 yearold daughter. I travel frequently and consider myself a seasoned hotel guest.
I liked the simplicity and location. The rooms are a good size and well equipped, the only downside being the showers that can only muster up enough force to sprinkle you with water. The restaurant was very good overall. Good reasonably priced food and some excellant English wines. The staff are efficient but stone faced and appear stressed, not smiling once during our whole stay which is a shame because I think a smile goes a long way.
You really cannot knock the location as it is quiet and a five minute slog up the sand dune finds you on two miles of glorious golden sandy beach.
There isnt anything worthwhile around it but Rye is only two miles and there is a good taxi service.
In summary, we'll be back

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2004

The hotel is new, clean and IKEA smart. Rooms are quiet and good standard with ensuites. Good restaurant with eclectic menu and great atmosphere, furnished along the same lines. Breakfast is overpriced but you don`t have any competition so what can you do . Carpark as well.
Basically, right on the beach and if you have good weather then it is great. But you would not want to stay for more than a weekend as Camber has nothing else. Rye is up the road so that makes a good day trip.

4  Thank walklim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank U and R E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Simo125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
2.6 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
2.6 mi away
The George in Rye
2.6 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
816 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallivant

Address: New Lydd Road | Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Price Range: $138 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallivant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our coastal restaurant with rooms, across the road from the dunes of Camber Sands and beautiful sandy beach beyond. Inspired by the coastal motels you might find in California, we're a calm and relaxing hideaway from the stresses and strains of modern life. We have 20 amazing bedrooms all decorated with an eye to the Hamptons and serve great food using almost exclusively locally sourced fresh ingredients. In 2016 we were included in The Times 'Coolest Beach Hotels - No. 4', The Mirror's 'Top 10 Seaside Hotels in the UK' and Squaremeal's 'UK's Best 100 Restaurants'. The private coastal garden incorporates mini secluded decks behind all the Garden and Luxury Garden rooms and is also home to The Beach Hut, where guests can enjoy relaxing massages and lovely facials after a day on the beach using ethical and natural health and beauty products that are exclusively blended in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gallivant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place At Beach
Place At The Beach Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing