We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gallivant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hampshire Lodge Hotel(St Peter Port)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,478)
Filter reviews
1,478 results
Traveler rating
728
488
156
64
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
728
488
156
64
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant with roomsdeck roomcamber sandsbeach hutsand dunesenglish wineslambdungenessopposite the beachwine listsmall roomboutique hotellocal producetea and cakesouth coastgranolacomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
846 - 851 of 1,478 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel has all the ingredients necessary for a fabulous stay: friendly customer service, lovely room and excellent food. Every staff member made us feel valued guests, our dogs were treated to complimentary beds and toys, and the food in the restaurant was exceptional. Our room was enormous, clean and comfortable with all the little touches that make a stay more special: designer soaps, shampoo etc, large flat screen television, and a large comfortable bed. There is complimentary tea and cakes at 4pm in the restaurant, and the breakfast includes all the usual cooked fare, along with a selection of cereals, toasts, yoghurts and fruit. My eggs benedict was perfect: soft egg, well cooked bacon, and thick hollandaise. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfiepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at the Gallivant,
A great small hotel just over the dunes from the beach. We went for one of the small rooms which was perfectly adequate in size and nicely decorated.
The free afternoon tea was a great touch and the cakes warm and straight of put the oven.
We had a package with a 3 course dinner + breakfast included, the food was great. If I was to make one suggestion it's that the restaurant could do with perhaps one more server. Whilst service was good for me it seemed abit disorganised for some others.
Overall a very good stay but fairly pricey all in

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Eaunoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is an excellent location for a visit to Camber sands, the beach, and rolling dunes which is a good coastal walking area…(dogs not allowed on the beach from May to September though).The hotel itself is a revamped Motel, and the rooms, though small are clean and comfortable, with free wi-fi and free view TV. The hotel restaurant served very good food..(and I'm fussy!) Service was good, staff friendly, so no complaints except the price was a little high for our one night stay…
£200 for 2 adults and a small dog…

Room Tip: There are two 'larger rooms' neither of which are particularly large but they don't require entry from the main hotel block so are ideal for dog walking.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlynisL348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is in an area of stunning natural beauty and i suspect thats why the price for a room is a tiny bit on the high side, but overall probably value for money.

The staff were lovely, helpful and charming
The room was big and clean, we brought our one year old black lab who loved the bed and chew they supplied, a really nice touch. Our room (20) was big and the decor was well done.

We had supper on the second night and it was really rather nice, worth a try if you stay.

Only very minor gripe is that you have to pay extra for a full english, i didnt bother as the dippy eggs were amazing and there is plenty of inclusive food to eat, but at the room prices i think they should just throw in a few sausages.

All in we loved it

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Timbond1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We booked a two night break for our wedding anniversary, and found this little gem.
We stayed in a bigger room and found this very clean, roomy and the decor was a nice change from usual hotels. The Bed was large and extremely comfortable.
The room could have done with another table in for making the tea but The Hotel has nice touches like the free afternoon tea and cakes.
The food is first class, the breakfast was relaxed and the cooked part of the breakfast was so tasty. The evening meal did not disappoint and kept up the very high standard.
Would recommend this hotel, and going in low season was a great idea as i could imagine the area would get very busy.
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.Thank you for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews