We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it”
Review of The Gallivant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gallivant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel has all the ingredients necessary for a fabulous stay: friendly customer service, lovely room and excellent food. Every staff member made us feel valued guests, our dogs were treated to complimentary beds and toys, and the food in the restaurant was exceptional. Our room was enormous, clean and comfortable with all the little touches that make a stay more special: designer soaps, shampoo etc, large flat screen television, and a large comfortable bed. There is complimentary tea and cakes at 4pm in the restaurant, and the breakfast includes all the usual cooked fare, along with a selection of cereals, toasts, yoghurts and fruit. My eggs benedict was perfect: soft egg, well cooked bacon, and thick hollandaise. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfiepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,361)
There are newer reviews for The Gallivant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at the Gallivant,
A great small hotel just over the dunes from the beach. We went for one of the small rooms which was perfectly adequate in size and nicely decorated.
The free afternoon tea was a great touch and the cakes warm and straight of put the oven.
We had a package with a 3 course dinner + breakfast included, the food was great. If I was to make one suggestion it's that the restaurant could do with perhaps one more server. Whilst service was good for me it seemed abit disorganised for some others.
Overall a very good stay but fairly pricey all in

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Eaunoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is an excellent location for a visit to Camber sands, the beach, and rolling dunes which is a good coastal walking area…(dogs not allowed on the beach from May to September though).The hotel itself is a revamped Motel, and the rooms, though small are clean and comfortable, with free wi-fi and free view TV. The hotel restaurant served very good food..(and I'm fussy!) Service was good, staff friendly, so no complaints except the price was a little high for our one night stay…
£200 for 2 adults and a small dog…

Room Tip: There are two 'larger rooms' neither of which are particularly large but they don't requ...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlynisL348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is in an area of stunning natural beauty and i suspect thats why the price for a room is a tiny bit on the high side, but overall probably value for money.

The staff were lovely, helpful and charming
The room was big and clean, we brought our one year old black lab who loved the bed and chew they supplied, a really nice touch. Our room (20) was big and the decor was well done.

We had supper on the second night and it was really rather nice, worth a try if you stay.

Only very minor gripe is that you have to pay extra for a full english, i didnt bother as the dippy eggs were amazing and there is plenty of inclusive food to eat, but at the room prices i think they should just throw in a few sausages.

All in we loved it

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Timbond1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We booked a two night break for our wedding anniversary, and found this little gem.
We stayed in a bigger room and found this very clean, roomy and the decor was a nice change from usual hotels. The Bed was large and extremely comfortable.
The room could have done with another table in for making the tea but The Hotel has nice touches like the free afternoon tea and cakes.
The food is first class, the breakfast was relaxed and the cooked part of the breakfast was so tasty. The evening meal did not disappoint and kept up the very high standard.
Would recommend this hotel, and going in low season was a great idea as i could imagine the area would get very busy.
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.Thank you for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife decided at the last minute to have a night away from London and to not travel too far. We were recommended Gullivant and were not disappointed. On arrival we were received by a very efficient and friendly member of staff and shown to our room which was a little compact but perfectly comfortable and clean. Within five minutes a staff member turned up with two gasses of champagne- a nice touch.
That evening we had the set dinner which was of excellent quality. The wine list was not over large but provided good selection and at reasonable prices.
The following morning we enjoyed an excellent breakfast. Home made muesli, delicious yoghurt and home made bread and jam.
Our excursion was co pleated by a long walk on Camber sands which across the road from the hotel.
All in all a most enjoyable break.
D

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 which was perfectly adequate for our stop over.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normski_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

On a whim, my boyfriend and I decided we needed to get out of London and booked last Monday off work. We settled on The Gallivant as a windy walk on the beach would blow away the cobwebs (it did) and it wasn't too far out of London. As we were there on a Sunday, we went for their package: £145 (we upgraded to the largest room), 3 course lunch, and breakfast the next morning.

Food - Very nice food. Service was a little slow but it gave us breathing space between courses. We were randomly seated on the sofa for 15 minutes even though our table was free, which seemed odd. And then due to a communication error we were brought the bill for the meal because they hadn't realised we were on the package despite telling them. The second time the bill came back we had been charged twice for service, although the waitress was very apologetic. The breads, granola etc were good at breakfast, and I liked that you could select your freshly cooked hot item, but whilst my boyfriend like his, my eggs benedict had undercooked bacon (instead of ham) and was drowned in the hollandaise sauce.

Room - We did upgrade as my boyfriend planned to watch the Superbowl and we thought a larger room would make it easier when I wanted to go to sleep. But we didn't expect the room to be so enormous, with a separate sofa area in front of the TV which was perfect for our needs. Everything was clean, I loved the New England beach house decor, and the little touches such as the biscuits in the jar. I would recommend that they improve the tea, coffee selection though as a hot chocolate would certainly have been appreciated. Also, please add net curtains to the rather large windows. A little more privacy would have been nice.

Hotel - Check-in seemed a little chaotic but everyone was nice. Decor was consistently attractive throughout. It does have a motel feel to it but it still felt luxurious.

Location - We had no problem finding it with google maps but you should plan the route in advance. The beach was literally across the road, which seemed rather quiet as we certainly had no problems crossing. Obviously no views but I already knew that from other reviews.

Overall though, we have already recommended to family members, and would definitely think about returning again, something we always avoid. Maybe in the sunshine this time though!

Room Tip: It would be worth the upgrade to a larger room, especially if you are staying more than a couple of...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tal202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
2.6 mi away
The George in Rye
2.6 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
992 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
2.6 mi away
River Haven Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallivant

Address: New Lydd Road | Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Price Range: $136 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallivant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our coastal restaurant with rooms, across the road from the dunes of Camber Sands and beautiful sandy beach beyond. Inspired by the coastal motels you might find in California, we're a calm and relaxing hideaway from the stresses and strains of modern life. We have 20 amazing bedrooms all decorated with an eye to the Hamptons and serve great food using almost exclusively locally sourced fresh ingredients. In 2016 we were included in The Times 'Coolest Beach Hotels - No. 4', The Mirror's 'Top 10 Seaside Hotels in the UK' and Squaremeal's 'UK's Best 100 Restaurants'. The private coastal garden incorporates mini secluded decks behind all the Garden and Luxury Garden rooms and is also home to The Beach Hut, where guests can enjoy relaxing massages and lovely facials after a day on the beach using ethical and natural health and beauty products that are exclusively blended in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Gallivant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place At Beach
Place At The Beach Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing