We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$144
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Motel & Bar(Rye)(Great Value!)
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Winchelsea(Winchelsea)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ship Hotel(New Romney)
$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claverton Country House Hotel(Battle)(Great Value!)
$165
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,555)
Filter reviews
1,555 results
Traveler rating
767
507
165
70
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
767
507
165
70
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant with roomsdeck roomcamber sandssand dunesbeach hutenglish wineslambdungenesswine listopposite the beachsmall roomboutique hotellocal producetea and cakegranolasouth coastone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
928 - 933 of 1,555 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife decided at the last minute to have a night away from London and to not travel too far. We were recommended Gullivant and were not disappointed. On arrival we were received by a very efficient and friendly member of staff and shown to our room which was a little compact but perfectly comfortable and clean. Within five minutes a staff member turned up with two gasses of champagne- a nice touch.
That evening we had the set dinner which was of excellent quality. The wine list was not over large but provided good selection and at reasonable prices.
The following morning we enjoyed an excellent breakfast. Home made muesli, delicious yoghurt and home made bread and jam.
Our excursion was co pleated by a long walk on Camber sands which across the road from the hotel.
All in all a most enjoyable break.
D

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 which was perfectly adequate for our stop over.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normski_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

On a whim, my boyfriend and I decided we needed to get out of London and booked last Monday off work. We settled on The Gallivant as a windy walk on the beach would blow away the cobwebs (it did) and it wasn't too far out of London. As we were there on a Sunday, we went for their package: £145 (we upgraded to the largest room), 3 course lunch, and breakfast the next morning.

Food - Very nice food. Service was a little slow but it gave us breathing space between courses. We were randomly seated on the sofa for 15 minutes even though our table was free, which seemed odd. And then due to a communication error we were brought the bill for the meal because they hadn't realised we were on the package despite telling them. The second time the bill came back we had been charged twice for service, although the waitress was very apologetic. The breads, granola etc were good at breakfast, and I liked that you could select your freshly cooked hot item, but whilst my boyfriend like his, my eggs benedict had undercooked bacon (instead of ham) and was drowned in the hollandaise sauce.

Room - We did upgrade as my boyfriend planned to watch the Superbowl and we thought a larger room would make it easier when I wanted to go to sleep. But we didn't expect the room to be so enormous, with a separate sofa area in front of the TV which was perfect for our needs. Everything was clean, I loved the New England beach house decor, and the little touches such as the biscuits in the jar. I would recommend that they improve the tea, coffee selection though as a hot chocolate would certainly have been appreciated. Also, please add net curtains to the rather large windows. A little more privacy would have been nice.

Hotel - Check-in seemed a little chaotic but everyone was nice. Decor was consistently attractive throughout. It does have a motel feel to it but it still felt luxurious.

Location - We had no problem finding it with google maps but you should plan the route in advance. The beach was literally across the road, which seemed rather quiet as we certainly had no problems crossing. Obviously no views but I already knew that from other reviews.

Overall though, we have already recommended to family members, and would definitely think about returning again, something we always avoid. Maybe in the sunshine this time though!

Room Tip: It would be worth the upgrade to a larger room, especially if you are staying more than a couple of nights.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tal202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight on the 2nd of February in one one the Deck rooms (Room 1) paying £125 B&B.
We thought the room was a little small. Nowhere to put the case down except the floor or on the bed. The only place to hang clothes were on pegs along the wall behind the bedroom door. To have a cup of tea you first have to plug the kettle into a socket and leave it on the floor as there is no where as to put it.
The bed was comfortable but the pillows were too soft for me and I had to use a jumper to bolster them.
Even after turning off all of the heating in our room before going out for our evening meal we were both too hot during the night and had to resort to opening the door to the outside (on to the decked area) from about 1am till after we got up for breakfast. We were surprised that considering the price of the room that there wasn't any complimentary water bottles in the room. So we had to have water from the taps during our hot night in the room.
When we went to bed we found that we could hear sounds coming through our wall from the kitchen area. So we had to listen to the chap who does the washing up as we feel asleep. And in the morning they had the builders in and we were woken to the sound of someone using a drill in the kitchen wall by our heads. GREAT!
One of the lights didn't work within the shower room and also one of the two light on the deck area didn't work.

Room Tip: As far away from the kitchen as possible.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainCowPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed two nights in one of the bigger rooms with our little whippet. Perfect... Great location, fabulous room, lots of little extra touches, genuinely friendly staff and a brilliant breakfast. We would definitely return and were sorry to leave!!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank swannic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The food was exceptional, the jazz music was perfect to set the atmosphere.The interior was modern and good for the beach style look they were going for. The cuisine was seafood/ country and perfectly flavored. The staff are lovely and willing to accommodate you. this place is awesome check it out

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews