We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wedding present”
Review of The Gallivant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gallivant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were given some Mr & Mrs Smith vouchers which we used to book for a weekend stay at The Gallivant. Admittedly we were very lucky to choose a rare weekend with bright sunshine, but still we really enjoyed our stay here. The room was a Coastal Delux, very spacious & well presented. Yes the bathroom is a little tired, but only in comparison with the rest of the room & was very clean. Staff were friendly & helpful, in fact I managed to leave some clothes there & they were posted back immediately. The best thing about here though is the food which is fantastic. For lunch we had the fish of the day with new potatoes - so simple, but delicious. For dinner the Kerala cod was fantastic, very tasty. Breakfast is a pleasure in itself with fresh ingredients all very well presented. I can't describe how good the food was - go & taste for yourself! We'll be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

918 - 924 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

had a fabulous overnight stay at The Gallivant Hotel... food was fab, (dinner and breakfast)... the locations great.. ( forgotten how pretty and special nearby Rye is)!.. would definately recommend the Hotel and look forward to staying again sometime in the future...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y5cad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having had such a memorable stay earlier in the year, we decided to pop down to Camber for a one night 'foodies getaway'. I was concerned that my memories of the first visit would be spoiled by something not quite so good, but we went anyway!

I shouldn't have worried as we experienced the same blend of friendly informality, comfort, good service and outstanding food as before.

We love the quirky nature of the place. It in not run of the mill. Don't go expecting a typical chain hotel, but do go if you want something a bit different in a fantastic location with food that ranges from the great to the spectacular!

In fairness the sun was shining, but I don't think that was the only reason we had such a great time! We did book a beach hut room this time, which was well worth the small additional cost for a lot of extra room.

Enjoyed the lady behind us at dinner complaining about the 'shabby furniture' to her long-suffering partner! Go somewhere else for old fashioned, stuffy, service and decor. This is a modern hotel that succeeds in being truly different.

Room Tip: would grab a beach hut room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here and ate at the restaurant. This is British hospitality at its best. I wish all hostelries could be like this, serving up great English food in a well thought out setting. This was a birthday treat and we had a lovely time. The staff were very professional and polite. The only marr on the occasion were loud, screaming children and for a while the place seemed like a kindergarden but that's not the Gallivant's fault. The rooms are rather like a posh motel - they are all on ground level and decorated in a seaside Camber Sands design.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and cant wait to go back. We had the sharing menu in the galivant restaurant on the first night which was gorgeous. Breakfast on both days was very tasty so well presented and cooked perfectly there is also a lot of choice. We loved the bedrooms and the beach theme. All staff were lovely especially the blonde lady on the reataurant who just couldnt do enough for us.

We spent time in Rye and Dungeness too and had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themccarthysxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, small very relaxed, cosy and chilled out. The food is really nice and staff are so friendly.
It is opposite a great beach with amazing sand ( you just need to climb a big sand dune to get there).
Ideal for a relaxing weekend, lots of local attractions to see. Great size family rooms.
A wonderful venue for a cosy, relaxed and unique wedding. The rooms are a great size for an intimate wedding and the venue has a really homely feel to it. After the ceremony onto the beach for cocktails which is a great unique way to celebrate and fantastic for children. Then back to the marquee for an intimate meal of amazing food on sharing plates which really gets people relaxed and talking. Highly recommend the venue for a wedding.
The only slight niggle we had was with the wedding planner who took a long time to reply to emails and did not complete all the little things we asked for, however this did not ruin our day and I would say a definite consideration for anyone wanting a non-traditional seaside wedding.

Room Tip: Go for one of the outside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband treated me to a couple of nights at The Gallivant for my birthday in July. When we first drove into the car park I didn't know what to think of the motel style complex, but as soon as we stepped inside I was enchanted by the modern, stylish seaside chic! The receptionist was extremely polite and helpful on arrival and when we wished to change the time we had booked for dinner that night, she went out of her way to arrange this for us. The rooms are small but very tastefully decorated in accordance with the rest of the hotel, the beds are big and extremely comfortable - we struggled to get out if it in the mornings! Breakfast is superb, we really didn't need to eat anything until late afternoon there is so much choice. After biking 25 miles around the countryside we were looking forward to dinner in the Beach Bistro and it did not disappoint! Both nights we were treated to a fantastic three course meal - I couldn't pick a favourite dish as all the food was exceptional. They source the majority of ingredients from local suppliers and most of these are within 30 miles of the hotel. The waiting staff were very friendly and polite, they made the evenings so comfortable for us. On the last night we enjoyed the recommended dessert wine followed by cocktails (English 75 was my favourite!). If we had one quibble, it would be that the side dishes are not included in the price of the weekend and these were added to our bill along with the drinks. Overall, a real treat and a birthday to remember - I would definitely recommend this to other food-lovers wanting a special seaside experience.

On a side note, I wish we had discovered this place before we got married as the marquee and wedding package look magical!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara1B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
2.6 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
2.6 mi away
The George in Rye
2.6 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
812 reviews
5.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
39 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallivant

Address: New Lydd Road | Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Price Range: $137 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallivant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our coastal restaurant with rooms, across the road from the dunes of Camber Sands and beautiful sandy beach beyond. Inspired by the coastal motels you might find in California, we're a calm and relaxing hideaway from the stresses and strains of modern life. We have 20 amazing bedrooms all decorated with an eye to the Hamptons and serve great food using almost exclusively locally sourced fresh ingredients. In 2016 we were included in The Times 'Coolest Beach Hotels - No. 4', The Mirror's 'Top 10 Seaside Hotels in the UK' and Squaremeal's 'UK's Best 100 Restaurants'. The private coastal garden incorporates mini secluded decks behind all the Garden and Luxury Garden rooms and is also home to The Beach Hut, where guests can enjoy relaxing massages and lovely facials after a day on the beach using ethical and natural health and beauty products that are exclusively blended in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gallivant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place At Beach
Place At The Beach Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing