We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,625)
Filter reviews
1,625 results
Traveler rating
799
533
174
73
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
533
174
73
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant with rooms deck room camber sands english wines sand dunes beach hut lamb dungeness wine list opposite the beach dog friendly hotel tea and cake small room boutique hotel local produce south coast granola
Filter
Updating list...
1,208 - 1,213 of 1,625 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I recently stayed at the gallivant for my sisters wedding (from 4th - 5th April 2012). with my husband and our two small children (age 7 and 3).(along with a lot of other family members) From the moment we arrived, the staff were fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble and very helpful and friendly. We had a family room which was simply gorgeous. Decor was stunning and the dvd player came in handy when keeping the children amused while we were unpacking. It was also fantastic, that just a quick cross over the road and the children were playing on one of the most gorgeous beaches and sliding down the sand dunes. The meal on the wednesday night was absolutely beautiful, and again, the staff were second to none (especially Peter, who went out of his way to accomodate my 3 year old, who is quite fussy with his food.) The wedding day itself was nothing short of a fairytale. The attention to detail was phenomenal, the canapes and drinks on the beach, the little touches on the tables and yet again the staff were fantastic. If you didn't know any better you would think the wedding was all undertaken by family as it was that perfect. I can't thank the hotel and staff enough for all that they did to make my little sisters and Simons wedding a true day to remember, perfect in every way and a true FAIRYTALE. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.xx

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you very much, we loved looking after you all and are glad it was so memorable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you're looking for a quiet double room, I suggest room 15. It's at the end of the hallway and faces the rear of the building (rather than the noisy road). Few constructive comments: the WiFi is painfully slow in all parts of the hotel. The walls and doors are quite thin, perhaps some sound-proofing would be sensible when the next renovation is scheduled. The water pressure in the shower is poor. There were some stains on the carpet in the hallway leading to the guest rooms. We enjoyed our stay, the rooms were tastefully decorated, helpful staff and good food.

Room tip: rooms with windows facing the road and parking lot may be noisy. I bet the largest and quietest basic double room is 15
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChickenHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you for your comments. WiFi is all about BT I am afraid - a bore but nothing we can do, at least it's free! Most of the time water pressure is fine, just when everyone has a shower it falters - we are looking at ways to remedy this however. Carpets should be clean - perhaps these occurred recently and because we have been so full we haven't had a chance to get the carpet guys in. We have sound insulated the walls, although you weren't clear as to what noise pollution you experienced, if a baby is screaming next door it's a tickly issue. Thanks again and hope you will come back sometime soon.
The Gallivant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, on the beach and close to the picturesque town of Rye. The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed despite it being busy (I think they were fully booked). The room ticked all the boxes - comfortable bed, hot water, clean and well kept.

The food in the restaurant was extremely good. We had the local lamb which was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was also of a very high standard.

The only thing that let us down was the lengthy waiting times at both dinner and breakfast for our food. At dinner we were left for 40 minutes before even being served with some bread and looking around it didn't seem to be just our table. There were enough waiting staff but it seems to me that it was poorly organised. It's such a shame as everything else was superb.

Having said that I wish we could have stayed longer and I would definitely recommend it to all ages.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uniquelyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Hi uniquelyme - thanks for all the positives - service in the Bistro has been a intermittent issue over the months, hopefully shortly resolved with the arrival of Peter, our new Rst Mgr...
The Gallivant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Rooms a bit basic . Great dog to walk . Food v good. Wine good value. Oh for some proper bitter!

Date of stay: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meddprivate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Meddprivate
Proper bitter (and local lager) is coming v v soon - can't wait. Thanks for your comments.
brgds
The Gallivant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Myself and my family have stayed last weekend the place is amazing with great polite staff that makes you fell very welcome and they also show that they really care about their guests ,what is a great sign of good training and great management .
The place was clean and perfect ,if you are looking to have a break from all your problem and have great time with your family this is the best place to go .
We had an amazing two nights stay and would defintitely reccomend!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

ana a
Thank you, we love it that you love it so much!
brgds
The Gallivant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews