We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,575)
Filter reviews
1,575 results
Traveler rating
772
517
169
70
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
772
517
169
70
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant with roomsdeck roomcamber sandssand dunesbeach hutenglish wineslambdungenesswine listopposite the beachsmall roomboutique hoteltea and cakelocal producegranolasouth coastone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,161 - 1,166 of 1,575 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Rooms a bit basic . Great dog to walk . Food v good. Wine good value. Oh for some proper bitter!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meddprivate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Meddprivate
Proper bitter (and local lager) is coming v v soon - can't wait. Thanks for your comments.
brgds
The Gallivant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Myself and my family have stayed last weekend the place is amazing with great polite staff that makes you fell very welcome and they also show that they really care about their guests ,what is a great sign of good training and great management .
The place was clean and perfect ,if you are looking to have a break from all your problem and have great time with your family this is the best place to go .
We had an amazing two nights stay and would defintitely reccomend!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

ana a
Thank you, we love it that you love it so much!
brgds
The Gallivant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was taken here as a surprise by my partner for my birthday at the weekend and what can I say... This place truly is a rare pebble.
The drive towards this beautiful hotel is stunning, layered with green, open fields and touched with an instant feeling of tranquility.
We were greeted at the hotel by a very friendly member of staff who showed us to our deluxe room which had a superking size bed and lovely furniture made from drift wood. It also had tea and coffee making facilities, a large widescreen TV with DVD player, books and a lovely bathroom with a few spoils from the L'Occitane range. The hotel also had a private lounge and decking area for quests.
The restaurant was presented beautifully and was made to feel maritime without the tackiness. The food is so fresh, you can hardly believe how good it tastes and delicately presented to a very high standard. Staff were always attentive, polite and willing to help with any question and/or request.
As it was my birthday, staff had placed a few items in the room for my arrival and it was done to perfection. The bed was so comfortable and was made with luxurious bed linen. My partner couldn't have the pillows as they were feather but staff were on the case and within minutes, we had a couple of hypoallergenic pillows.
I cannot say anything negative about this hotel, it really is a lovely retreat away and I would thoroughly recommend a stay here. Thank you to all the staff who made this stay, a very special one. A special mention to Perrie for the special touches. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuinnDLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Hi Antipastos
Thank you for choosing to come and stay on your birthday - we really appreciate your trust in us. If we are forewarned about a special celebration/b'day/anniversary we will always try and do something a little bit special.
best wishes
The Gallivant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The food and the staff here were phenomenal. Dinner was absolutely delicious and every staff member we encountered was helpful, smiley, apologetic if necessary and keen to please. The beds in the standard rooms are only 4'6 (currently getting bigger ones in apparently) but the room is comfortable, warm, quiet and clean. Lovely rustic/marine decor. There is also a great sitting room for guests. Very enjoyable stay. Great staff. Amazing food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Hi alex t
Glad you liked everything so much. All the beds are moving up in size of the coming 2 months, a lot are already Kings or Superkings so Doubles will shortly be a thing of the past.
b wishes
The Gallivant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Lovely Room with giant bed, hotel staff very friendly and welcoming, great location for walks on the beach, food fantastic (service slightly slow). We had an amazing three nights stay and would defintitely reccomend!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Emily H
Thank you and come back soon!
b rgds
The Gallivant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews