We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”
Review of The Gallivant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gallivant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed for a Sunday night at the Gallivant Hotel on the Travelzoo deal. We loved the feel of the hotel - small, cosy and very friendly. The rooms aren't luxurious but perfectly comfortable. The dinner and service were excellent. The only small let down was breakfast where the cooked breakfast was in one case reheated and the other not heated at all. Otherwise a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swotts74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Hello Swotts74. Really glad you enjoyed yourself and loved the feel of the hotel. Surprised about your comments about the breakfast. As a general rule we don't 're-heat' however we do pre-cook at the beginning of service some sausages (they would take to long to cook to order) and the tomatoes (we slow roast these and like the sausages would take to long to cook). When orders come through we cook everything from scratch and put the sausages back on the stove and the tomatoes under the grill...maybe there were a lot of breakfasts going out the morning you were there and one of them was left on the pass for too long and lost some temperature? Will look into this to see if it is recurring problem. Thank you and best wishes
The Gallivant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    439
    137
    58
    35
See reviews for
199
885
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We took the Travelzoo package which seems to be keeping the hotel going over the winter months. Check in was easy, lovely receptionist, room quiet at the back with comfy bed, decent size bathroom and everything worked. There is a communal lounge and about 20 rooms all in a one storey motel-like site. The main road is between the hotel and the dunes so you need to cross the road to get the beach.The speciality is really the food which is a cut above the rest, mind you how practial that is for families with kids I do wonder. If you like dogs (big ones) and walking ask the owner Tudor to let you take his for a gallop along the beach - gret fun!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikMangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Hi MikMangler - glad you had a relaxing time with us. We do some really great kids food funnily enough, not gastronomic or too politically correct but good honest grub that kids like (I know I test everything on the kids menu with my children and they are the harshest critics). Top of the list is Toad in the Hall with Heinz baked beans and Home made fish fingers (using local fresh fish), chips and peas. All kids get an old fashioned flip top bottle of pop and a sugarcane candy stick too with every meal. Only one pudding - Gallivant ice cream Sundae - yum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We've just returned from a lovely, relaxing overnight stay which was a delayed birthday treat. Despite being close to Pontins, this is definitely a place well worth a visit. The beach themed interior decor is lovely & relaxing; the staff couldn't have been more friendly & attentive; our dinner & breakfast were excellent with a strong emphasis on fresh local & homemade produce. Our room was at the back and was very quiet and comfortable, the only downside being the very low water pressure, which made it difficult to have a shower. Even so, this is a lovely place to get away & relax in lovely surroundings & enjoy wonderful food. We will definitely be returning soon.

Room Tip: Be aware of the low water pressure, which might be a problem at peak times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJTJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thanks AJTJ76 - glad you loved the hotel and food. Water pressure is occasionally an issue when the hotel is full and everyone wants a shower at the same time. We are on the cast and will have this fixed very soon. Certainly a think of the past.
best wishes
The Gallivant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed here on a travelzoo deal back in January and both my partner and I just fell in love with the place. As soon as we walked into reception, we recieved a warm and genuine welcome - and this level of service continued throughout our stay. Loved the rooms, and there were some really nice personal touches to show that this wasn't just another chain hotel, but somewhere with a character all of it's own.

Had a fabulous dinner in the restaurant, one of the most enjoyable meals we've had in a long time, the salt marsh lamb being a particular highlight. Good food, cooked well, what more can you ask for? Would also like to mention that our waiter was excellent, attentive without being intrusive, knowlegeable and humorous. Breakfast was superb as well, and again the waiting staff were excellent.

When we checked out, there was one small query with our bill which was sorted out quickly and professionally. A quick walk across the road led us to Camber Sands itself, which was bracing but beautiful on a crisp, clear winters' day. Stunning.

I really can't recommend this hotel enough - it's location, ambience, staff, food all contributed to one of the most satisfying hotel experiences I've ever had.

Will definitely return, and soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliojulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Hi juliojulio
Thank you for such a totally positive review, it's great you enjoyed yourself so much. Next time you come we'll be better I hope!
best wishes
The Gallivant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in very chilly, mid February - we had a comfortable, warm room and like all of the rooms, ours was decorated with a beach theme. Sadly, our room overlooked the car park and was yards from the busy main road, yet was desribed as a 'coastal double'. Ask for a room at the back for a quiter night, but do not expect good views. Food on the whole was generally good and at times excellent in quality; service was friendly if a little on the slow side. If you are in a rush, this is not the restaraunt to visit! Breakfast was a nice spread and the dinner menu offered a variety of meals which would suit most pallets. Bar prices were reasonable. A service charge of 10% is automatically added to the bill, so factor this in. One downside, was the unfortunate location of the loos, situated just off the restaraunt. The loo doors were often left open and allowed an unfortunate 'pong' into the corridor just before you entered the restaraunt. This would be an ideal hotel for dog owners. The communal lounge was very a very nice, relaxed space.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back away from the main road / car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saxy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Hi saxy25
Glad you enjoyed your time with us although your comments about the bistro loos 'ponging' isn't great. We'll look into this - it hasn't been raised before so I wonder if it was particular to the night you were there. Yes we do get quite a lot of dogs and their owners come to stay although they all stay in the rooms that have direct access to the outside and don't walk through the hotel/bistro. Hope to welcome you down again.
Best wishes
The Gallivant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2012

It took me three-and-a-half hours' drive to get from the West Country to Sussex and The Gallivant for a birthday party weekend - and it was so worth it! The Gallivant is a lovely, stylish boutique hotel, with wonderfully welcoming staff and food that is just fabulous. From the outside, you would never guess that inside is a proper, grown-up, hugely relaxing place to stay and I would take on that drive any time to stay again. In fact, I'd take on the drive just to eat Trevor's food again! I'm not sure the four inches of snow on the Sunday was included in the deal, but if you really wanted it, I'm sure The Gallivant could arrange it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stgoesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
stgoesaway - that's about the nicest review we've ever had - I'm thinking of framing it! The snow was a real stretch to arrange - normally we try and sort sun and blue skies. Well done you for making the trip east cross country - I hope your trip back in the snow was not too much of a nightmare.

We got some very welcome news just recently to find we've just been awarded a couple of knives and forks in the Michelin guide - the top award in the area and that same as the Michelin starred uber posh restaurant a few miles away. Trevor, our head chef is doing good!

The Gallivant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex uk
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We wanted a relaxing short break to celebrate our anniversary and couldn't resist this
quirky hotel. It may be small but it had everything we needed, the decor is lovely, it has a relaxed grownup vibe. A really relaxing romantic get away. The food was good quality and although we had planned to explore nearby we ended up eating in most of the time, the service was great and the attention to detail of the staff and their thought and care was delightful to behold. Despite the ice and snow the rooms were toasty. I. Would struggle to find something wrong so quite honestly I am not going to try.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegallivant, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Islean - thank you for your review. I am so glad our staff stood out for you. We think getting great service by people that actually care is about the most important thing a hotel can do and although we aren't perfect we try very hard and most of the time it's recognised so thank you. Pls come again when there's no snow - like now for instance!!
Thank you The Gallivant team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
2.6 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
975 reviews
2.6 mi away
The George in Rye
2.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
2.7 mi away
River Haven Hotel
5.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallivant

Property: The Gallivant
Address: New Lydd Road | Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallivant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our coastal restaurant with rooms, across the road from the dunes of Camber Sands and beautiful sandy beach beyond. Inspired by the coastal motels you might find in California, we're a calm and relaxing hideaway from the stresses and strains of modern life. We have 20 amazing bedrooms all decorated with an eye to the Hamptons and serve great food using almost exclusively locally sourced fresh ingredients. In 2016 we were included in The Times 'Coolest Beach Hotels - No. 4', The Mirror's 'Top 10 Seaside Hotels in the UK' and Squaremeal's 'UK's Best 100 Restaurants'. The private coastal garden incorporates mini secluded decks behind all the Garden and Luxury Garden rooms and is also home to The Beach Hut, where guests can enjoy relaxing massages and lovely facials after a day on the beach using ethical and natural health and beauty products that are exclusively blended in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gallivant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place At Beach
Place At The Beach Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing