We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful weekend in the perfect place!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Rock

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
928AlexA
Hesingue, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend in the perfect place!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A group of us stayed here to celebrate our 30th birthdays and it was just perfect for what we needed. We had a 14month old with us and it was very well equipped for her. The house was immaculate and very nicely presented. All of the bedrooms were a good size and the kitchen was well equipped.

The location was very good, walking distance to Camber Sands and a short drive into Rye. The town is beautiful and now holds special memories for us all.

We had a wonderful weekend and really hope to make a return visit one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The presentation of the house and location
Liked least: Noisy frogs mating in the pond at nighttime!!!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika S
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“♥ Simply perfect ♥”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Rock is the perfect place for a family to stay. A lot of toys are there for children to play with. Also the beach equipment is super.
The rooms are tastefully furnished and made us feel at ease with The Rock at once. We have been awaited by some homemade cake and biscuits - thanks for that. The recently redecorated house is the ideal place for our family and we sure will return a third time! The Rock is located near the picturesque town of Rye and if you are travelling from abroad you can easily spend a day in vibrant London going by train.
All five of us love The Rock. Thumbs up! ♥ Simply perfect ♥

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Customer service.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJKnott
Bedfordshire UK
2 reviews
“Perfection!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

This stunning holiday cottage is by far one of the best we have stayed in.
From the moment we walked through the door we knew we had chosen the right weekend retreat.
Every room greats you with fine attention to detail and a cosy inviting feel.
A luxury rental, where the guests are indulged with high end quality, from cosy furnishings, Molton Brown toiletries and .delicious Nespresso coffee.
A stone throw from stunning Camber beach, a few minutes walk over the dunes leads you to breath taking views of one of UK's finest beaches.
A short drive is historic and quaint Rye, with the best hot chocolate cafe- Knoops, This is a must!! I defy you to find a finer hot chocolate!
We both enjoyed a romantic meal at Webbs restaurant in Rye, the service, food (both taste and presentation) and ambiance was spectacular.
Hastings and Battle are so close by.. not to mention a host of other recommended visits (which the Rock recommends in its visitors book).
Don't hesitate in booking your stay here, you will not be disappointed!
Thank you to Richard and his team for making our romantic weekend getaway a memorable one, we will be returning!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goofy6000
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than we expected”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

The rock was our this year's christmas getaway home. My wife and me, our 16 year old daughter, her grandma and our two dogs came over from Germany to spend one week in Camber Sands.
With chrismas-like decorated rooms (even a christmas tree), mulled wine and a chocolate cream cake we had a very warm welcome.
The house was absolutely clean and comfortable. A place to feel like home from the first moment on.
The endless beach in camber is also worth a visit. Our dogs loved it!
The weather was terrible (storm and heavy rain) but one would not visit the UK for the weather :-)
The Wii + approx 10 games, Wifi, a dvd player and lots of dvds helped a lot to forget the weather outside easily.
We had a very good stay at The Rock and can highly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA740
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Rock was Superb an Excellent home away from home we loved it there and will be going back again most definately!!!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay, we felt as though we were at home as soon as we stepped through the door, the house caters for everything, a beautiful well equipped kitchen with tv, a lovely garden fully decked, which was excellent as we brought our dog along for a holiday too, the lounge has very comfortable huge sofas to fall asleep on not forgetting the huge Tv on the wall, Wii Games, Dvds it was amazing. The house and bedrooms were so beautifully designed and decorated huge soft double beds with so many pillows you could disappear under it was heaven, Wardrobes, Cod's,Dressing table, Night Lights, there was even a twin room for children with toys and books - superb,Great Bathrooms, the list is endless everything we needed and more was there for us, its was a fabulous, comfortable, warm and cosy stay and we didn't want to leave. Not forgetting the amazing Camber beach just around the corner. We recommend The Rock at Camber so Highly and look forward to our next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Rock Cottage and Camber- All of it
Liked least: Nothing to say
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield
Reviewed September 24, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous location and the fact the house was really well equipped
Liked least: The bedding and the house feeling a little cramped by the end of the week
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage was excellent
Liked least: Quite a way from a large supermarket
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing