We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pub food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Owl

The Owl
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Camber
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Grill, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are an independent, local Free House Pub and Grill, nestled at the foot of the glorious Camber Sand dunes. You are welcome to come in for drinks, lunch, dinner or to stay. We aim to provide a friendly relaxed atmosphere, throughout the year for our local and regular customers, those on holiday or just passing through, we are dog friendly so your best friend can join you. To drink - We have a well stocked bar with a wide variety of drinks, including a great selection of Ales and guest Ales from a number of very local breweries to enjoy from the bar. To eat - Our food is cooked to order, fresh and locally sourced. We aim to use free range, good quality and local produce - directly engaging local quality suppliers for the best from the sea and land around us. We also have a selection of Kent/Sussex cheeses and locally produced chutneys and mustards. We have lunch, dinner and special menus to choose from, which will vary with the seasons and to reflect the freshest options available to us, you are welcome to eat in the Bar or in the Grill. To stay - If you are looking to stay, we have a selection of Rooms (double and twin) available through the year. We also show main event sport for our customers to enjoy, have "Littler" menus for children to choose from and are dog friendly so your best friend can join you!
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Green Owl is an odd-looking building from the outside, but within is a 50s pub with restaurant behind (there are also rooms). The pub is well patronised by locals (big screen football!) and the restaurant has a good choice of local dishes, including Romney Marsh lamb. Portions were generous; well-cooked; nice vegetables on the side. Excellent ice-cream (also from a local supplier). Reasonable wine list but of course a good choice of draught ale.

The staff, including the owner Paul, were very friendly and helpful. There was a bit of a wait after ordering, but this was hardly surprising for freshly prepared food. The bill for two was very reasonable.

Camber is not blessed with high-end eateries, but the Green Owl would be very unlikely to disappoint. Should you be staying in one of the holiday lets, or even Pontins, you should try it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andrewnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    90
    21
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“slow start but worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stumbled upon the Green Owl one Saturday night and were looking for a nice meal before going back to our hotel for the evening entertainment. When we arrived it didn't seem very busy but we were told we had to wait 45 minutes as people had booked, this turned out to be about an hour's wait at which point no other customers (or not many) had seemed to come in so we weren't sure why the 2 of us couldn't have sat down sooner...

However, the food was so much nicer than expected. We each were expecting "pub grub" and this was a league above, I had the pork with a cheese and apple crumb and my partner has the rack of lamb and although this was a while ago (new to tripadvisor) still remember the place for it's great food! brilliant quality, can't fault the food at all.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenMarie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Appearances can be deceptive....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were attending a Fitness Fiesta at Pontins, Camber Sands and left it late to book a restaurant. We booked a table at the Green Owl and needed to change the time of our booking due to exercise class commitments. They were very helpful and accommodating. When we arrived it appeared that we have gone back in time to the 1980's and were slightly dubious about our decision to eat here. Well, how wrong we were!! I chose the Lamb French Style and it was absolutely superb. The lamb was so tender and the vegetables were cooked to perfection. Everyone in our party thoroughly enjoyed their food and the older gentleman who helped serve our food was very attentive. Thank you very much:)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crown27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The decor wasn't very inviting but we had a really nice meal that was good value for money. Staff very good. we went back a second night and again it was very good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristabelSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best of a bad bunch, by a long way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We came here whist spending the weekend in camber and very quickly realised the selection of restaurants in the village is very poor. Based on trip advisor reviews we chose this one, and we were treated to tasty home cooked English pub food and a good selection of real ales. The only down side is that you pay London prices for food and drink (£11 for a main, £5 for dessert, £3.50 for a pint of ale). The pub itself is nice and newly decorated (08/2012) and the music is tastefully quiet.
We arrived at 9pm on a Friday and they kindly squeezed us in- there is only a small seating area (the rest has the atmosphere you would expect in a pub on a Friday night) so it is advisable to book.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Owl also viewed

 

Been to The Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing