We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Owl

The Owl
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camber
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Owl
Ranked #2 of 2 Camber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unexpected gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived on the off chance for a meal and we're told they were fully booked, but while we were having a drink the land lord said they could fit us in. Very helpful and friendly staff, beautifully tasty food, nothing was any trouble. Would go back every day.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bigbandcarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    11
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was fabulous! The best food my mum had ever tasted, the service was brilliant.The people were very friendly and kind to me.Your food came in a reasonable amount of time but it was worth the wait. I had gone there on a holiday. Overall 5 star!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Came upon this little gem whilst walking back to our holiday accommodation from the lovely beach at Camber Sands. We were looking for somewhere to eat the following night for my daughter's 10th birthday. The homemade Steak and Ale Pie had already caught our eye, but my daughter being pasta mad didn't fancy the spinach and mushroom lasagne. A member of staff overhead our conversation and assured us that if we called ahead and booked she was sure a beef lasagne could be made for her. We called to book a table and put in our request and were told they could easily cook an individual beef lasagne. The upshot being the amazing food (the steak and ale pie was delicious and the other half was very impressed with his fillet steak) and the staff who were very accommodating and attentive and made a real fuss of the birthday girl, turning the lights off to bring out the cake we'd brought with us and singing happy birthday to her. Overall a fantastic meal with good quality ingredients, very well cooked. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellytots2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for evening meal on our first night in Camber having read the reviews before hand. We had not booked but the staff were very accommodating and we sat in the nest which was good for us as we have a 2.5year old and 9 month, they were able to sit on the bench seats as the only downside was they had no highchairs. They advised the childrens meals might be too big so that the boys could share one but we decided that they would share our meals and there was more than enough food for all 4 of us. Food was good quality we all enjoyed the spicy lamb starter and the Eton mess was a yummy end to the meal.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hec79red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay whilst visiting our daughter and grandchildren who were holidaying in Camber. As a long time visitor to Camber I knew the location and this was ideal for our purpose. We booked to stay and to have dinner with our family on the Sunday evening and on all counts we were delighted.
Our room was perfect for a one night stay with a really nice bathroom and shower. The real surprise came at dinner. The food was excellent, all six of us eat something different during a three course meal and nobody was disappointed with their choices. For a relatively small venue the wine list was interesting and well priced - and once the owner found that we were into good wine he produced one or two that were not yet on his list.
The owners and the staff could not be faulted, being attentive and friendly without going over the top. The Green Owl is a little gem and on it's own is a great reason to visit Camber Sands.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miller2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Green Owl for two nights while attending a wedding at the Gallivant. 7 of our family members had a meal the night before the wedding and we all loved the food. Staff were all very polite. Great location if attending a wedding at the Gallivant, two minute walk.
Rooms - Power shower. Hair dryer. Slippers. Dressing Gowns. Shower Gel/Shampoo.
Lovely stay and would recommend the Green Owl to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateNDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal, service was fantastic and they catered to every need. Locals very friendly and talked to us. Dog and child friendly although they don't have a high chair it didn't effect our time there. Very good food.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littleblueeyedboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
0.2 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.8 mi away
The George in Rye
4.0 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Owl

Property: The Owl
Address: Old Lydd Road | 11 Old Lydd Road, Camber, Rye TN31 7RE, England (Formerly The Green Owl)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Camber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional, cosy village Free house Pub and Grill nestled at the foot of the sand dunes at the wonderful Camber Sands beach. We offer a warm welcome, a great nights sleep with comfortable accommodation in either twin or double rooms with refreshing power shower in your en-suit bathroom. Enjoy a hearty breakfast with us as part of your stay. We also offer freshly cooked, locally produced food from our Grill for lunch and dinner and our Pub bar offers good, local ales and beers to choose from. Whether you are a local, a frequent visitor to Camber, of just passing through we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing