We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family weekend away - hired 2 gold 8 berth caravans and 1 silver 6 berth caravan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
A TripAdvisor Member
“Family weekend away - hired 2 gold 8 berth caravans and 1 silver 6 berth caravan”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great time staying at Camber fri - mon, the only thing I found strange was the fact that I paid £321 for a 8 berth gold caravan and one of my sisters paid £271 for a 6 berth silver caravan. Both caravans had exactly the same number of rooms, toilets etc (maybe mine was a bit wider) but didnt warrant the £50 difference. Hers was nearer to the facilities and had a better view :(. Oh I forgot I could book in 1 hour before her :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Great to hear you and your family had a lovely holiday.

I do hope you’ll be coming back again soon.

Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
01797 222 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    463
    336
    207
    291
See reviews for
1,203
137
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
camberley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stay at Camber Sands holiday park, in Lydd, as holiday owners. I would like to say a big thankyou to the maintenance team, who are very helpful...Tweety, you and your team are great .The beach at Camber Sands is fantastic and only across the road from the Holiday Park, and dogs are allowed on the left hand side.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Tan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read your points on the maintenance team who all do an incredible job and I am pleased they deliver for you. The park has sold a lot of holiday homes this year and a lot of new owners have joined us. It is hard work like that demonstrated by the maintenance team that attracts new owners and retains existing owners at Camber sands.

Camber Sands 01797 222 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visit different Park resorts each year using our Tesco vouchers. This is the best one we've visited so far, although the weather did help tremendously. The site was clean, tidy and well maintained. Our caravan was well situated and we were happy with its standard. A little more attention to things like mould in corner of windows and the shower door, would be a good touch. The location of the resort is fab,; just across the road from the fabulous sandy beach with its shallow waters. We don't particularly enjoy the evening entertainment, but that's just us. The only complaints would be the wait to be served at the bars (not enough staff) and the Zumba instructor not turning up for the class I tried to attend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments to the accommodation team re the attention to detail and also to the Zumba instructor. You are right about the location and the beach is fabulous as you say. I hope we will see you again in the future.

Camber Sands 01797 222 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in a gold plus caravan which was remarkably clean. Abit of a pain to find but was lovely! Park is currently renovating chalets which is abit of an eye saw, but it's good it's being done as some are pretty run down. Beautiful area, beach and rye is a beautiful little town. Shop on site could stay open later. Toilets need cleaning more regularly but other than that no problems..... Thoroughly enjoyed out stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajlb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. The chalet areas to which you refer are predominantly old chalets that have been unused for some time and are being sold as development opportunities to private buyers. Some property developers have in fact bought multiple numbers as a project. This is assisting with the speed of the renovation programme. I am delighted you had a good stay with us and I hope we will see you again.

Camber Sands 01797 222 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend break at Camber Sands holiday park and although we had a lovely time we probably would not return. On first impression looks lovely but as you venture deeper into the site you notice a lot of chalets boarded up and although they are currently renovating these it looks like a prison camp. We had a prestige caravan and looking at other reviews I am glad we had booked a van with such high specification. We were in a good location along the sea front and the van was privately owned so was to good standards. The pool was a great size but the flume could be open longer especially as its the school holidays. Shop on site is limited and closes early. Food needs improving, we had fish and chips on the 1st night which we waited 40 mins for as they were so busy and kept getting orders wrong. They were clearly understaffed and the fryers could do with a good clean as the food was awful, avoid at all costs!!!!!! Try the Pelican fish and chip shop just outside the site instead.
Kids Club was good as were the characters and we enjoyed the evening entertainment. Forever Jackson was very entertaining. Be aware the club house gets very busy so arrive by 7pm.
Arcades are a bit of a con we drove 15 mins down the coast to Hastings where the arcades are amazing, if thats what your looking for. A trip in to Rye is highly recommended and make sure you visit the old penny arcade. Beach is beautiful if you time it right as can get windy and you will be swarmed with sand flies.

Room Tip: Go for the best caravan you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly2005x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and you are right about the chalets. There is a renovation programme going on but in order to ensure little disruption to holiday guests most of the work is carried out in the winter, and the chalets waiting renovation are of course not let out and general away from those that are! I will pass your comments re the chip shop to the manager and I am pleased you enjoyed our new entertainment package.
As you say Rye is one of a number of lovely areas to visit and helps keep camber Sands a popular destination.

Camber Sands 01797 222 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The caravan was reasonably clean, the activities for the children were for short periods, the bar was very expensive and the food of poor quality. It cost over £700 to stay in a three bed caravan that had a TV well equipped kitchen basic free view TV, and a disco that ended at mid night leaving bored young adults to play on football pitch or spend money on 2p machines until being asked to leave at 1.00.
Have had much better time with nice staff, great activities for children in other Park Resort sites- you promised so much, but fall short in delievery. If it wasn't for the sandy beach my family would be giving this holiday the thumbs down

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as some do. Our site is a family resort which is why our bar closes and entertainment facilities close at midnight.
We hope this stay has not left you with a bad impression of us and we hope to see you again soon.

Camber Sands 01797 222 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camber hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booking in was poorly organised, the person i spoke to seemed stressed and didn't bothering smiling. The chalet we stayed at was a nice surprise, it was clean and looked well maintained, with parking just outside. However, one of the glasses was cracked and some of the others looked like seconds. The rims felt chipped. The tv remote had no cover on the back. After unpacking we went to get supplies. Unfortunately whilst waiting to pay the fire alarm went off. The staff looked like they didn't know what to do. After being told to leave the building we waited outside for approx half an hour. No one stayed near the building to tell arriving people not to enter, hence some children went into the building. The staff that were there stayed about 15 foot away. It was like the blind leading the blind, no one seemed to know what to do, or how to turn the alarm off.
We went to the restaurant on the evening we arrival and what a state it was. Loads of tables needed clearing, the furniture was miss matched and there were hardly any staff and the 4 we saw looked like they would rather be somewhere else. After ordering our meal, my partner went to get cutlery, there was only 1 fork and 3 knives available when he approached a member of staff to get 2 more forks she said "i'll see what i can do". He then waited 15 mins for the cutlery to be restocked. The state of the restaurant did make me wonder about the kitchen. Needless to say we didn't eat in the restaurant again, we went to a lovely pub down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry we did not live up to expectations. It seems the majority of your issues were centered round the retail venues. I will pass this on to the retail manager who will investigate and ensure there is no repeat of this.

Camber Sands 01797 222 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
0.8 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
3.5 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
4.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Camber Sands Leisure Park New Lydd Road | Nr. Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Camber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 7 miles of deep sandy dunes, with direct beach access from the Park. Camber Sands Holiday Park has it all, including 4 fabulous indoor pools, spa bath, sauna & solarium, all weather sports court and adventure playground. The perfect destination for a seaside holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Hotel Camber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing