We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Go!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't Go!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

As with other reviewers, problems straight away. Bedding not in chalet as ordered. Electric heater in chalet and TV next to each other, but only one plug socket! Therefore had to choose between heating or TV on arrival. Waited 4 and half hours for double adapter to arrive after phoning reception/security 3 times! Left site a day early as had no water on Wed pm and Thursday am. Husband needed water for his medication, told by security bottled water available from them. Sent my son to fetch it but they had run out! Had to wait further half hour for this. Upon checking out manager was clearly not interested with our problems. Has tarnished my view of park resorts!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise2000_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are all terribly sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately we did experience severe staff shortages during your stay due to a flu bug and in addition to this we suffered a burst water main that affected the water supply. We did offer bottled water to all those affected and it was a most unfortunate situation. You can be assured your experiences are not indicative of our park and we hope we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in us at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    458
    331
    206
    288
See reviews for
1,190
131
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Signed up with The Sun holiday deals, and paid to upgrade to the silver caravan due to holidaying at other parks and seeing the state of Bronze ( eg no heating, old models). Upon arrival we made our way to the check in point, along with lots of other holiday makers. When we received our keys to our caravan we discovered we were unable to park by our caravan. On opening the door we were met with dirty floors, damp walls, and curtains hanging off the rails. Went straight back to check-in to complain. After a short discussion we managed to get a move to another caravan. This caravan was cleaner and the curtains were actually on the rails but the beds were not made up (something we had paid extra for). My Husband went to reception to complain, where he joined a very long que of other upset holiday makers all with various complaints. This was about 3pm, by 6pm still no bed linen!! Husband went back up again and was told they would be down straight away!!! 7pm....still no linen!!! Husband went back to reception, which was closed by this point and spoke with secruity who said it would be done within 10 mins. Finally bed linen 7.45pm!!
Shop on site was terrible, nothing in there. You could definalty tell this was the last week of the season.
Swimming pool was the only good point, except when having to wade through 3 inches of water to reach it, due to a flood just outside the doors. The whole of the site seemed very water logged to us. Thank god for wellies.

Top tips, Dont bother going, nothing in Camber. Site is awful, Caravans disgusting.

Room Tip: Dont bother, stay at home rather than here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenF801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello Helen and thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations. There is no excuse for your accommodation not being prepared to the highest standard or for second rate service so I must apologise that we failed to respond efficiently on this occasion. Unfortunately on the day you arrived we had lost over 20% of our workforce with the winter flu bug and the remaining team were under incredible pressure. As a result of this your caravan was not prepared as one would expect and the service was a little slower than our usual speed and standards. I do offer my sincere apologies for these issues, and regret that unfortunately we were somewhat stretched. The drainage here at Camber Sands has always been good but we have suffered such heavy rainfall in the last couple of weeks and it is certainly taking its time to disappear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camber hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Really good value for money, all of us enjoyed every second of this holiday. All staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the teamstars (Scott especially!!) Arcade on site was fantastic and the 4 pools provided good entertainment in morning and afternoon. Will soon be returning!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indigo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for your kind words. The whole team at Camber Sands Park Resorts work incredibly hard to ensure your holiday is a good one. It is particularly pleasing that you mention the quality of our team. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were really excited to be taking our 2.5 year old son on his first caravan holiday. What a disappointment. We will not be returning to this park again.
We signed up with The Sun holiday deal, again a first for us, along with my parents. Unfortunately we were located two properties miles apart on the park. Not only this, the properties we were allocated weren't even caravans. Our first, K93, was extremely old and dilapidated. It was stark, cold and had no home comforts in whatsoever. We drove over to my parents' property to find they had been assigned essentially what I would call a garage with some thrown together pieces of furniture. It smelt of cigarettes and damp, and it didn't even have curtains! We were greeted with a huge pile of dirty laundry and a pile of rubbish on the front door. I immediately phoned reception who to be fair dealt with the rubbish and dirty laundry within ten minutes and invited myself and my father over to reception to discuss changing property. We had already made our mind up that we couldn't stay in k93.
Despite the long queue of unhappy customers at reception, the lady dealt with us calmly and professionally. She managed to swap one of our properties to a silver caravan (what we had been hoping for and what we had paid money to upgrade to in the first place). As it turned out we all slept in the caravan (5 adults, 1 toddler and a baby), and I have to say it was warm, clean and comfortable. Why were we not just given two of these caravans in the first place? It would have saved a lots of upset and perhaps we wouldn't be writing such a negative review now. Overall, we paid £78 each, when one property we didn't even use.
Please bare in mind if you visit this site and it is raining, you will need your wellies! There is a huge drainage problem and none of the caravans have individual paths leading up to them so wherever your car is parked you will have to walk over swampy grass.
Rye is lovely and well worth a visit, but Camber has seen better days and the only thing it has going for it is the beach, which I'm sure in the summer months would provide enough entertainment for a family with children.
I can't comment on the entertainment or leisure facilities as we decided against using them. One of the reasons we did this was simply on the standard of cleanliness of k93 and y2 (our initial allocations).
Sadly we won't be doing The Sun holidays again or visiting this rundown park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello and thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, and despite the initial inconvenience I am pleased to hear my team dealt with your issues efficiently when the matter was brought to their attention.
Our chalet development does form part of our holiday rentals and although booking via The Sun doesn’t always guarantee the type of accommodation you require, in the majority of cases we are able to ensure complete satisfaction. Unfortunately when you stayed with us we had endured a sustained period of very heavy rain. Camber tends to flood at the entrance during heavy rain but generally the remainder of the park is dry and any excess water disperses as quickly as it arrives. I can confirm that many of our chalets are receiving a major overhaul for 2013 and I hope this has not deterred you from holidaying with us again. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

first ever vist but won't be last kids had great time with lots going on day and night.
staff very friendly and helpfull , and as it was the end of season still acted as if it was start.
sparkys breakfast is good value for money also allowed to take own photos .
madness and mayhem is really good for children to join in fun and games and win prizes ,then there is family entertainment.

Room Tip: go for silver or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences onto Trip Advisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Camber Sands Park Resorts. I will be sure to show the team your comments as they do make every effort to ensure entertainment is consistent throughout the season, from beginning to end. The team and I all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were very disappointed with our weekend stay this year. Firstly we were charged for a pitch and a half as we were told that our van (23 ft) was too large for the site, very strange as last year we were only charged the normal one pitch fee. As this was for a weekend we accepted, but it would have made a massive difference to the cost of a 2 week holiday. When we arrived the site was waterlogged which was never mentioned at the time of booking and was causing some caravans to park up on the roadways to try to avoid the massive boggy areas. We took our grandchildren over to the clubhouse for the under 5s entertainment on the Friday evening and could not believe how awful it was. The lady in charge of their 30 minutes entertainment played a game that children of that age would never understand how to participate, which led to her having to "find" a winner of the game just to end it. She also announced during the session that her friend was walking out of the bar to "go for a pee" and told the children to wave goodbye to her ! The site is kept relatively clean and the gentleman that met us on our arrival was very pleasant but I doubt we will return again unfortunately.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi Tina and thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Our standard touring pitches are 6Mx6M and unfortunately your tourer wouldn’t fit on a standard pitch. We do have a number of larger pitches available however, and should you decide to visit us again, please feel free call the office first and we can assist you to reserve a larger base. In the event of heavy rain we would always recommend to call the park beforehand and if the touring area has flooded we will be happy to offer alternative dates should there not be a suitable pitch. We do try and cater our entertainment for all tastes, however it is a very personal choice and for the most part our guests and their children love the wide variety of entertainment we provide, however I am sorry that it was not to your satisfaction on this occasion. I have passed your comments on to Richard, the gentleman who met you on arrival, who has done a fantastic job this year, and was very pleased to be recognised in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had booked through the sun as we thought this would be a good trial with our grandchildren and their parents. Had booked two silver caravans, booking was sent in one envelope to ensure the same weekend. We arrived to find that we had been allocated one chalet (something resembling the holiday camps of the 50's) which looked as if it should be demolished. The other accommodation we were given was a brick bungalow (garage) completely on the other side of the park to the chalet. So disappointed at the lack of communication between The Sun and Park Resorts. The chalet and bungalow,both silver, were not the same low grade quality. We complained very politely as the chalet was not fit for purpose. We then were allocated one silver caravan, this is what both families had reserved and were quite happy. The receptionist was very helpful in dealing with this problem, but she was under immense pressure from so many unhappy customers who had booked with the sun. My daughter and family stayed in the bungalow one night and then moved in with us as the bungalow was damp, no curtains, very smelly, hole in the wall, generally not fit to stay in.
Not the parks fault that it rained all weekend but there is a serious drain problem that appears nothing is being rectified.
Never ever again will we go there.

Room Tip: Tried very hard to advise of a good tip but really just don't go there would be my advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your holiday on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. I am pleased to hear that our Reception team were able to offer you alternative accommodation during your stay. We strive to ensure our ten 3-bed bungalows are well maintained to a high standard and we have received good feedback this year from pleased guests however, I am sorry you weren’t satisfied with this initial accommodation. Many of the chalets are being renovated this winter for the 2013 season. The drainage issue was following a period of over 24 hours non-stop rain and is not something we generally have an issue with. The water does drain away as fast as it appears but with the amount that fell we were a little unfortunate. I’m sorry you were disappointed on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
0.8 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
3.5 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
4.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Camber Sands Leisure Park New Lydd Road | Nr. Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Camber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 7 miles of deep sandy dunes, with direct beach access from the Park. Camber Sands Holiday Park has it all, including 4 fabulous indoor pools, spa bath, sauna & solarium, all weather sports court and adventure playground. The perfect destination for a seaside holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Hotel Camber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing