We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WON'T BE RETURNING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
A TripAdvisor Member
“WON'T BE RETURNING”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were really excited to be taking our 2.5 year old son on his first caravan holiday. What a disappointment. We will not be returning to this park again.
We signed up with The Sun holiday deal, again a first for us, along with my parents. Unfortunately we were located two properties miles apart on the park. Not only this, the properties we were allocated weren't even caravans. Our first, K93, was extremely old and dilapidated. It was stark, cold and had no home comforts in whatsoever. We drove over to my parents' property to find they had been assigned essentially what I would call a garage with some thrown together pieces of furniture. It smelt of cigarettes and damp, and it didn't even have curtains! We were greeted with a huge pile of dirty laundry and a pile of rubbish on the front door. I immediately phoned reception who to be fair dealt with the rubbish and dirty laundry within ten minutes and invited myself and my father over to reception to discuss changing property. We had already made our mind up that we couldn't stay in k93.
Despite the long queue of unhappy customers at reception, the lady dealt with us calmly and professionally. She managed to swap one of our properties to a silver caravan (what we had been hoping for and what we had paid money to upgrade to in the first place). As it turned out we all slept in the caravan (5 adults, 1 toddler and a baby), and I have to say it was warm, clean and comfortable. Why were we not just given two of these caravans in the first place? It would have saved a lots of upset and perhaps we wouldn't be writing such a negative review now. Overall, we paid £78 each, when one property we didn't even use.
Please bare in mind if you visit this site and it is raining, you will need your wellies! There is a huge drainage problem and none of the caravans have individual paths leading up to them so wherever your car is parked you will have to walk over swampy grass.
Rye is lovely and well worth a visit, but Camber has seen better days and the only thing it has going for it is the beach, which I'm sure in the summer months would provide enough entertainment for a family with children.
I can't comment on the entertainment or leisure facilities as we decided against using them. One of the reasons we did this was simply on the standard of cleanliness of k93 and y2 (our initial allocations).
Sadly we won't be doing The Sun holidays again or visiting this rundown park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello and thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, and despite the initial inconvenience I am pleased to hear my team dealt with your issues efficiently when the matter was brought to their attention.
Our chalet development does form part of our holiday rentals and although booking via The Sun doesn’t always guarantee the type of accommodation you require, in the majority of cases we are able to ensure complete satisfaction. Unfortunately when you stayed with us we had endured a sustained period of very heavy rain. Camber tends to flood at the entrance during heavy rain but generally the remainder of the park is dry and any excess water disperses as quickly as it arrives. I can confirm that many of our chalets are receiving a major overhaul for 2013 and I hope this has not deterred you from holidaying with us again. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    477
    343
    210
    293
See reviews for
1,234
144
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

first ever vist but won't be last kids had great time with lots going on day and night.
staff very friendly and helpfull , and as it was the end of season still acted as if it was start.
sparkys breakfast is good value for money also allowed to take own photos .
madness and mayhem is really good for children to join in fun and games and win prizes ,then there is family entertainment.

Room Tip: go for silver or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences onto Trip Advisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Camber Sands Park Resorts. I will be sure to show the team your comments as they do make every effort to ensure entertainment is consistent throughout the season, from beginning to end. The team and I all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were very disappointed with our weekend stay this year. Firstly we were charged for a pitch and a half as we were told that our van (23 ft) was too large for the site, very strange as last year we were only charged the normal one pitch fee. As this was for a weekend we accepted, but it would have made a massive difference to the cost of a 2 week holiday. When we arrived the site was waterlogged which was never mentioned at the time of booking and was causing some caravans to park up on the roadways to try to avoid the massive boggy areas. We took our grandchildren over to the clubhouse for the under 5s entertainment on the Friday evening and could not believe how awful it was. The lady in charge of their 30 minutes entertainment played a game that children of that age would never understand how to participate, which led to her having to "find" a winner of the game just to end it. She also announced during the session that her friend was walking out of the bar to "go for a pee" and told the children to wave goodbye to her ! The site is kept relatively clean and the gentleman that met us on our arrival was very pleasant but I doubt we will return again unfortunately.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi Tina and thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Our standard touring pitches are 6Mx6M and unfortunately your tourer wouldn’t fit on a standard pitch. We do have a number of larger pitches available however, and should you decide to visit us again, please feel free call the office first and we can assist you to reserve a larger base. In the event of heavy rain we would always recommend to call the park beforehand and if the touring area has flooded we will be happy to offer alternative dates should there not be a suitable pitch. We do try and cater our entertainment for all tastes, however it is a very personal choice and for the most part our guests and their children love the wide variety of entertainment we provide, however I am sorry that it was not to your satisfaction on this occasion. I have passed your comments on to Richard, the gentleman who met you on arrival, who has done a fantastic job this year, and was very pleased to be recognised in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camber hotels

Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had booked through the sun as we thought this would be a good trial with our grandchildren and their parents. Had booked two silver caravans, booking was sent in one envelope to ensure the same weekend. We arrived to find that we had been allocated one chalet (something resembling the holiday camps of the 50's) which looked as if it should be demolished. The other accommodation we were given was a brick bungalow (garage) completely on the other side of the park to the chalet. So disappointed at the lack of communication between The Sun and Park Resorts. The chalet and bungalow,both silver, were not the same low grade quality. We complained very politely as the chalet was not fit for purpose. We then were allocated one silver caravan, this is what both families had reserved and were quite happy. The receptionist was very helpful in dealing with this problem, but she was under immense pressure from so many unhappy customers who had booked with the sun. My daughter and family stayed in the bungalow one night and then moved in with us as the bungalow was damp, no curtains, very smelly, hole in the wall, generally not fit to stay in.
Not the parks fault that it rained all weekend but there is a serious drain problem that appears nothing is being rectified.
Never ever again will we go there.

Room Tip: Tried very hard to advise of a good tip but really just don't go there would be my advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your holiday on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. I am pleased to hear that our Reception team were able to offer you alternative accommodation during your stay. We strive to ensure our ten 3-bed bungalows are well maintained to a high standard and we have received good feedback this year from pleased guests however, I am sorry you weren’t satisfied with this initial accommodation. Many of the chalets are being renovated this winter for the 2013 season. The drainage issue was following a period of over 24 hours non-stop rain and is not something we generally have an issue with. The water does drain away as fast as it appears but with the amount that fell we were a little unfortunate. I’m sorry you were disappointed on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EGHAM SURREY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Booked through sun holidays and upgraded to a gold caravan for extra £80 (well worth it) Had read all the bad reviews so was worried it would be bad.Arrived at check in to be greeted by polite staff was given m247 caravan which is about 5 min walk from the entertainment bit so not too far but far enough for it not to be noisy at all, small car park close to caravan so no lugging bags for miles. Walked into accommodation pleasantly surprised looked like this years model, sofa bed never been used from the looks of it wooden flooring in living area and kitchen/bathrooms. New & clean carpets in bedrooms, modern kitchen and bathroom no bath just a shower, separate wc as well so 2 toilets which was handy as there was 7 off us. Net curtains in living area and bedrooms and blinds in the bathrooms and kitchen. Kitchen was stocked with all the pans and utensils you could possibly need and had more cupboards than my kitchen at home, the oven was sparkling. Fridge and microwave both spotless. Not totally perfect as one of the bedrooms was very small, had too push 2 single caravan size beds together and hardly any walking room it was basically open door and straight onto the bed to get in. Double room was sufficient as was the other single room. A small problem with ants (in october that was a bit odd) but within an hour staff came out sprayed some stuff and that seemed to sort it. Sofa bed unfortunately had 2 bars going across underneath which stuck in your back no matter which way you slept so that was a shame. It did get cold at night but you can set the multiroom heating on timer so it was kept warm also had a modern electric fire/heater in living area which was really good and made it cosy. Going onto the park very clean no litter anywhere, walked into the entertainment again very clean noticed the whole time we were there that there was staff always cleaning in the arcades and always seemed to have a spray and cloth on them, carpets in the arcade and bar area spotless, all tables clean and shiny. Again not perfect, restaurant was clean and modern but food took ages to arrive and was overpriced and seemed to spend ages at the bar but may have been understaffed. Food was always hot though and cooked properly. Fish and chip shop on site again food takes ages but they do cook everything to order nothing is just left sitting there. A tip we found a lovely pub on our last day in between pontins and park resorts called The Castle, cheap homecooked food served quickly and it was delicious big portions, they do a kids menu as well from £3, kids are welcome even had a kiddies size pool table in there, it was cheaper than the on site and we would have eaten there everyday if we had found it sooner. Back to the park, being the end of season a lot of things not stocked. Shop was practically empty and overpriced and closed at 6pm. Another tip would be too go down the road to the Pontins Nisa or the premier stores across from it just down the road closes late and better prices, Pontins shop even had a £1 shop and they were both well stocked. Entertainment was great and kept going til 1am, bar also open till this time, the usual party dances for the kids and cabaret act everynight and disco, in house band brilliant and entertainment staff worked really hard to entertain. They finish late and then they are there again early next day. In fact all staff very helpful and polite. Do please remember this is a family holiday park if you want a quiet relaxing break this is not for you, lots of excitable loud kids, 2 of them being mine but this is to be expected lots of people getting merry and drinking again our group included in that. Everyone in great spirits no thuggish behaviour from anybody that we saw. Pure sandy beach is just across the road 7 miles of it with brilliant sand dunes going on for miles, took me back to my childhood absolutely fantastic and the best beach we have ever visited, no litter at all that we could see. We came for a 3 night break and actually didn't want to come home. We will be booking a week next year and we are going for a platinum caravan to add a bit more luxury.

Room Tip: Always upgrade, heard complaints about budget and silver accommodations from other people staying on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOANNE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi Joanne and thank you for posting your review on trip advisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do spend a lot of time supporting and training our staff to deliver excellent service and I am very pleased to read that on this occasion we all got it right.
The issue with the shop is that unfortunately our last holiday guests depart on the 5th November this year and as such we do have to manage our stocks down towards the end of the season. We always stock the essentials (bread, milk and papers etc.) but anyone arriving to a holiday park late season should be advised to do a shop at the local supermarket beforehand. Any of our team will point you in the right direction in this respect. For information the different grades of accommodation relate to their size and their age. Any person wishing to book or who has booked can call the park at any time on 01797 222000 and speak to one of the team who will confirm exactly what their accommodation is and if an upgrade is requested we will absolutely help where we can. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

After having been invited on holiday by our siblings, we were more than happy to go along with thier plans of an exciting British holiday and thier choice to go to Camber Sands. We arrived here in early October 2012 to a medium sized caravan as this was the only one we were allowed with the dog. Although the caravan was cosy, we arrived to find a few dissapointments after a 9 hour journey from the north and all we wanted to do was settle down and start our holiday. We found it hard to find our specific caravan as the way they were numberd was in no particular order and so had to go back to reception after circling the whole site about 3 times. When we finally found it and got settled in we found there where no covers for the beds, there where no cushions for the sofa ( which where replaced until the day we left) and the room for sleeping (there were 3 couples) was very very small and one couple had to sleep in seperate twin beds. We found the walls quite thin in the bronze caravan we where staying in. We decided to make the most of the facilities and venture to the long beach bar where a comedian was performing. We found him sexist, racist, arrogant, homophobic and overall vulgar and offensive and consequently we (as well as many other guests) left not long after the start.
On the posotive side there where good washing and cooking facilities and if you like the people you are going with then it is good for bonding and getting to know people due to the cosiness. It's a very short walk from the nearest beach and has entertainment for all ages such as playgrounds. swimming pool, bar and arcade.

Room Tip: If you are not traveling with a dog then its probably worth getting a bigger caravan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandG1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and I am pleased to hear that on the whole you had an enjoyable experience here at Camber Sands. I am so sorry that the comedian offended you. We do occasionally offer a more adult entertainment and this is advertised accordingly and is in a separate venue to the family entertainment. That said, I will of course review the situation and take appropriate action to ensure there is never extremely offensive material in any act. The caravan numbering can be a little confusing and this is why at arrival you should have been issued with a map detailing the exact location and if this was not the case we sincerely apologise. Just as a general piece of information, Bronze caravans can be as big as Gold caravans but they would however, be a little older. If you have any future queries regarding any accommodation at Camber Sands or any Park Resorts parks, please do not hesitate to call the parks team on 01797 222000 and we will be only too happy to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Silver plus Chalet accommodation would have been fine in the summer - but the heating, even multi-room is not enough for an October weekend stay.

It was 9.30 pm and to watch telly, we had to have outdoor jackets and duvet on to keep warm in the living area! They seem to be pulling down and replacing the chalets (I think) which is a good thing, however you do feel a bit like you are staying in a building site......

Not that we stayed in the caravans, but this side of the site seem very clean, and well kept - so all I would recommend is ensuring you are put there, unless you have confirmation the chalets have been finished or don't mind a not so pleasant view.

The positives are the fab beach, with amazing sand dunes, that the children loved exploring and nearby Rye. You can't the location, and for that only I would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakeybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Camber Sands. The beach is beautiful and great for exploring so glad your children loved this. I am delighted to confirm that the chalet development at camber sands is being modernised this winter and the work has already commenced to ensure completion for the new season in 2013. We apologise to you and to anyone who has experienced any inconvenience due to the building works taking place. A significant investment is being made in this respect and we are very excited for the future and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
0.8 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,289 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
756 reviews
4.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
951 reviews
3.5 mi away
River Haven Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Hare and Hounds
The Hare and Hounds
#1 of 2 in Rye Foreign
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Camber Sands Leisure Park New Lydd Road | Nr. Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Camber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 7 miles of deep sandy dunes, with direct beach access from the Park. Camber Sands Holiday Park has it all, including 4 fabulous indoor pools, spa bath, sauna & solarium, all weather sports court and adventure playground. The perfect destination for a seaside holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Hotel Camber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing