We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“this was the perfect cottage for us”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large outside deck area. Push back the patio doors and bring the outside inside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Large outside deck area. Push back the patio doors and bring the outside inside
We now have chairs!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ellie R
1 review
“this was the perfect cottage for us”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018

We were a group of two young mums a nan (thats me !) and three very small children and it worked perfectly for us. The cottage was smart and stylish but still child friendly with a lovely safe enclosed garden. The weather was very much in our favour, we were able to keep the bifold doors open and keep an eye on the children and the tennis! The location for the beach meant we we could walk easily back and forward. We really didn't venture far we didn't need to! Would highly recommend Owlers to anyone wanting a relaxing break with all the comforts of home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2018
Thanks for your kind review, so glad you had a nice time.

All the best
Dominic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandyStaf...
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent beach location.”
Reviewed June 10, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We booked this beach house due to the location of the fantastic dog friendly beach.
Driving through Camber is not great, Pontins holiday camp ugly building and a boarded up post office it looks very run down and was initially off putting, however the beach which is a stones throw away is amazing! The house is very well equipped and very comfortable with a safe private garden area which is great for children and dogs.
The complimentary prosecco, bread, orange juice and milk etc was very welcome and a nice touch. The owners have finished the decor well with Laura Ashley furniture which was very much to our taste making it feel very homely.
The neares town which is Rye is great with lots of good restaurants and cafes, a particular good bistro is Landgate - excellent. One to avoid is the Gallivant in Camber and walking distance from the house, very expensive horrible place, don’t waste your money. Lots of brilliant antique shops to browse and great pubs.
All in all we had a really fabulous week making it even better as the weather was just superb. Definitely recommend to my dog owner friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2018
Thanks very much for the kind review Mandy. I've removed the Gallivant from our website and look forward to checking out the Landgate.
All the best, thanks for looking after our house so well - the perfect guests

Dominic & Anabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jia S
1 review
“Beautiful house in the perfect location”
Reviewed June 4, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

What a fabulous holiday rental. Literally minutes walk from a vast sandy beach. Very clean and well equipped. Very child friendly inside and out. Garden is the perfect extension of the house. Plenty of games and DVDs. Lots of attention to the little details. We had a lovely stay and will definitely return again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2018
Many thanks, so glad you had a nice time.

See you again I hope, thanks for looking after the place

Dominic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed May 27, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We found Owlers retreat just as shown on their website. It is a wonderful light and airy cottage only a few minutes walk from the beach (10 mins walk to beach where dog are allowed during the summer). I loved the decor/furnishings and could have quite easily moved in permanently! The kitchen is very well equipped. The completely enclosed garden feels very private and is a sun trap. Dominic the owner was very quick to respond to any queries that we had.
I have to admit that Camber is not the sort of location that we normally stay in, but the great walks ,nearby countryside and Rye made up for the few holiday type camps that are based in Camber.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2018
Thanks so much for your kind review, all the best
Dominic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfie2
1 review
“Owler’s Retreat”
Reviewed April 30, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Second visit this year ... perfect place to hold up and slow down, cozy by a fire or to let off steam and kick up your heels on the the endless beach and dunes. We love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2018
Thanks so much for your kind review, so glads you had a nice time.

Dominic & Anabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay with our dogs”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This secret hide away is a pea green tardis. Fabulously appointed throughout with a kitchen that was a delight to use. The refurbishment in 2016 was tastefully done and the nautical theme fits well. There is a log burner and central heating too. A Nest system monitors your safety day and night . Brilliant place
The beach is only a 5 minute walk away, although only before May. However, a short car journey of 10 minutes and you have a vast expanse of beach for the dogs with no restriction.
I would highly recommend Owlers Retreat

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2018
Thanks so much for your kind review - I am glad you had a great time.
Dominic & Anabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas Retreat”
Reviewed December 31, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Our second Christmas at Owlers and hopefully not the last. When the weather was bad, we stayed snug inside with the cosy log burner and the beautiful kitchen had everything we needed to cook a full Christmas dinner. The beach at Camber is simply stunning, backed by high dunes and an enjoyable walk into beautiful Rye. Simply perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2018
Thanks so much for the review. So glad you had a nice time.

All the best

Dominic & Anabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing