We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“New Years Break”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large outside deck area. Push back the patio doors and bring the outside inside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Large outside deck area. Push back the patio doors and bring the outside inside
We now have chairs!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BryGiddy
1 review
“New Years Break”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Absolutely stunning place. Well thought out decor and layout. Everything you could need and more. Great to have a log burner on the winter nights too. Close to beach which is a stunner of a beach. Closed in garden which was good for the dog when not at the beach. Will be back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
Hi Bryan
Many thanks for this kind review, very pleased you had such a nice time.

All the best, many thanks

Dominic & Anabel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katecD121...
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfectly, perfect Camber retreat!”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Just the perfect cabin by the sea. Beautifully decorated for Christmas by the owner (but still with a seaside theme) - if you have children to stay they would love the little Christmas sacks hanging on the bedroom doors! So many little surprises left for us; chocolates, luxury Christmas crackers, wine, milk, bread...etc. Spotlessly clean (which is very tricky with all that sand) and everything is the best quality. A roaring log burning fire (logs provided) and a very secure, fenced garden (also decorated for Christmas) - this really was perfect for us. We had the very best weather here, Rye is a stunning harbour town nearby and a lovely walk out along the beach if you are in the mood. We walked this there and back a couple of times; after a stop at one of the many great pubs. Do try and eat at 'The Globe' in Rye; it is very dog friendly, one of the few places that serves food all day and the food / staff were excellent! P.S Camber Sands is a super dog friendly beach during the winter months with two cafes - try it you won't be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2017
Hi Kate

Many thanks - so glad you had a nice time. And so lucky with the weather, it was glorious down there.

This being our first year, this was the first time we have rented the place at Christmas and felt it a big responsibility. So we are so glad it went down so well. Not that it was a chore visiting camber to put everything up.

And so pleased you liked the Globe - it is a fantastic pub, next time try the breakfast on a sunny day. You can sit outside, read the paper, drink Monmouth coffee and wait for the locally source breakfast.

Take care & thanks

Dominic & Anabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T
1 review
“You won't be disappointed”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stayed at this little gem for a long weekend and it was just perfect. Warm and cosy, beautifully furnished and quality in abundance. A lot of thought has gone into kiitting out this stylish holiday cottage and you are assured of absolute comfort, Winter or Summer. We played golf at Littlestone GC a short drive away, a friendly and challenging course. We walked into Rye as recommended, had lunch and a few drinks and got a taxi back. We really enjoyed the whole weekend, I haven't done many reviews but this was so impressive It deserved an excellent review and we will be returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2016
Thanks Tracy, glad you had such a nice time - and lucky(ish) with the weather.
Dominic & Anabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaB41...
1 review
“A lovely relaxing weekend away from busy lives”
Reviewed November 26, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Thank you Annabel and Dominic for a lovely relaxing weekend away escaping from the stresses of every day life.
Unfortunately we didn't have the best of luck with the weather but that meant we had a great excuse for just staying in and making use of the excellent facilities and wood burner while catching up with some TV shows.
Everything about the place is top of the range and very stylish.
It was very welcoming and homely and definitely somewhere I will be going back to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2016
Many thanks Nicola - so glad you had a nice stay. Thanks for looking after our house during the storm!

Good point you made on the Netflix we have in the house, we've added an Owlers profile to the account now.

Thanks

Dominic & Anabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace R
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Writers Retreat”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is the perfect place for a mid-week escape. I had a deadline to meet and needed to avoid the distractions of London. The house is so tranquil and zen like and I felt at home as soon as I walked through the door.

Owlers Retreat is stones throw away from the beach and is tastefully decorated with a fully equipped kitchen with all mod cons. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2016
Many thanks, a pleasure meeting you and good luck with the dissertation.

All the best, I look forward to you staying again

Dominic & Anabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian D
2 reviews
“Lovely couple weekend away. A wonderful beach house with attention to detail”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at Owlers as a couple, at the beginning of November and literally fell in love with the place at the first sight! The welcome pack was very much appreciated - thank you to Dom & Anabel (the owners) for making us feel so welcome, right from the arrival.
The house is immaculate, with beautiful sea themed decoration (we could have stayed indoors all weekend) and well stocked with full kitchen equipment, a great dining table, a shower, very comfy beds and most importantly a lovely fireplace that kept us warm in the evenings (while relaxing on the sofa, sipping mulled wine).
Literally a stone's throw from the beach, the location couldn't be any better. In the evenings, you can hear the sound of the sea while sitting outside in the garden - that's how close it is! The kitchen/ living area is very bright. It was a lovely feeling to wake up to a sunny weather and enjoy the view of the sand dunes from the kitchen area while making a cup of coffee!
Having said all that, we had a very enjoyable weekend stay and we will definitely be back in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely house decorations, fireplace, sand dunes views, location, fast wifi, dining equipment, comfy beds
Liked least: we didn't like the fact that we had to leave :(
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2016
Hi Adrian
Thanks so much for your kind review - I am so glad you had a great weekend - sounds very relaxing.
And I'm pleased you liked the welcome pack!
Thanks again
Dom & Anabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Climber52...
1 review
“Lovely place to stay very close to Camber Sands”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely bungalow with 2 bedrooms and further snug for additional space or sleeping.
Clean, tidy and easy to manage whilst on holiday. Warm and available wood-burner and lots of candles to make a cosy place to rest. Well fitted kitchen and open plan living area. Separately heated towel rack so towels always dry. Lovely white cotton sheets and towels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2016
Many thanks for your review, I'm glad you had a nice time.
Kind regards
Dominic & Anabel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing