We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Curry in the area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prithi Cuisine

Prithi Cuisine
Ranked #25 of 114 Restaurants in Surbiton
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A great dining experience. A great atmosphere. Prithi Cuisine offers the most delicious & most unique food in the world of Indian dining, with probably too many mouth watering & flavorsome dishes for you to discover. Prithi Cuisine treat all customers as family, enjoying every moment to offer the best. Offering experiences such as Banquet night on Wednesdays, a stunning 5 course meal. And more...
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Curry in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have been eating at Prithi for a few years now and we think its the best. When ordering a curry we always have the meat tikka'd so it gives the dish an extra dimension. The tikka is the best i have ever had its succulant, moist and spiced just right, you couldnt cook it better. The staff are always friendly and helpful, i noticed a few comments on long delays getting their food, i have never experienced this but we do tend to eat early so thi smight help. I couldnt recommend a better place to have a curry than Prithi

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryBausor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We very often visit prithi for special occasions and have never had any previous complaints. Sadly on our Christmas Eve trip with our 3 children this was not the case. The food was its usual high quality and delicious. However the service was so so slow. Waited ages to order, an hour for our main course and needed to ask for drinks, popadums etc 3 or 4 times. Not sure what has happened at our favourite Indian, but the waiters did not seem to be able to cope or organise themselves.

Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I was ill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The visit to the restaurant was great, staff were very polite but two of us in our party who ate the similar thing fell ill within hours. When we spoke to the manager he was not going to take any responsibility and suggested I go to the doctor to prove it wasn't him but a virus. He then also suggested that I had a dairy intolerance and I shouldn't have had the cream based dish.
Very disappointing as I heard good things prior to the visit. Unfortunately I won't be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Overall Good rather than average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Yummy Onion Bhajee, naan and pilau rice. The chicken tikka masala sauce was colourful, but bland and seemed to be watered down. Polite and speedy home delivery. Although Not rude, they do need to answer their phone in a warmer, welcoming manner. We will give them another try when we next 'fancy an Indian' :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliaJade2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Abysmal service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This restaurant is appalling. Nothing wrong with the food but the service and staff are absolutely dreadful. We were kept waiting an hour just for our starters, and almost two and a half hours for our main meals. Despite complaining numerous times, all we got were rude and dismissive comments from the staff. We weren't the only ones either, with just about every table complaining about the service. Even customers waiting for take aways were kept waiting over an hour, and some even asking for their money back. The problem is that this restaurant does a home delivery service and this clearly takes priority over their restaurant customers. They then cram so many people in to the restaurant that they simply cannot cope. In addition, they try and do take aways as well which means the restaurant is full of people standing around waiting for their orders. Altogether a very unpleasant experience. We certainly won't be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hunterdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prithi Cuisine also viewed

Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 

Been to Prithi Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing