We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Tarte

The French Tarte
Ranked #18 of 114 Restaurants in Surbiton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 3 friends had afternoon tea.
In short it was delicious and great value for money there was enough for the 4 of us and we had plenty I would definitely recommend and go again. It puts all the overpriced London afternoon tea experiences to shame.

Helpful?
Thank Serena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    40
    19
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“So pleased it opened”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

As with anyone who has dined in the French table I have lusted after their bread, and now they've opened a bakery. All the flavour and quality diners in the French Table have come to expect in take home portions. Fantastic

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rangi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Thursday Moules & Frites night, great value at £10 - Food was lovely and the service excellent. Very friendly. Would def go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jez200London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“VERY RUDE, BAD MANNERED & IGNORANT MEMBER OF STAFF!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

After dropping my son at the school opposite & popping in to this wonderfully inviting place for a latté to go! I was left with a bitter taste in my mouth & rather upset by an immensely rude member of staff; who I might add also attempted on two occasions to intimidate me!!

Upon placing my order I respectfully asked the barista if he'd object to me sitting on one of the chairs whilst I waited for the arrival of my friend?
He rudely retorted that yes he would personally object to me sitting outside! Although I might add it was 9am & there was no-one sat outside or indeed inside at the time!!
I, quite astonished my his tone & response, replied with dignity saying I just thought it respectful to ask!
He then curtly added that I could pay for my coffee at the 'drink in' price & then be seated, I said no thank you.
He hurled the price at me with no please & when I asked if the money was correct? He neither thanked me for its receipt, answered my question or said goodbye!!

I then perched myself on a built up wooden flower bed overlooking the shop next door & not the 'TFT'!
Between serving customers on two occasions he came outside, loudly & unnecessarily dragged chairs 'more' into place & shot me an insolent glare! On both occasions I was speaking on the telephone to my sister explaining the situation & my shock at the treatment I had received from this member of staff!

Although I cannot be sure, I'm quite certain, had I not been using my telephone, he'd have asked me to move on; why else would he look me up & down & glare at me in an intimidating manner?!!

The 'TFT' looks a delightful place & I would have loved to have frequented the establishment & indeed dined there, indulging my passion for French cuisine!!
I will however after this dreadful first impression & treatment from a member of staff; NEVER go there again & will speak negatively in an animated fashion about the appalling treatment I received there...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Wutine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mussels and frites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went to one of their early evening dinners for mussels and frites. The food was good the service was warm and friendly, and the experience was excellent value £10. Will definitely go again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lance f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Tarte also viewed

Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 

Been to The French Tarte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing