We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dim-sum, nice decor.”

Naturally Chinese Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Naturally Chinese Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 117 Restaurants in Surbiton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $91
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good dim-sum, nice decor.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very pleased to have found a restaurant in Surbiton that serves dim-sum and a full menu during lunch time - me and my boyfriend were impressed!

Being around 3:30PM, the restaurant was quiet, although the decor was stylish and modern with fresh green colours, also booth seats were very comfy. The presentation of the dishes were great, they looked like they had been prepared with care, and the chef's made use of the colourful vegetables/herbs.

Ordered 4 or 5 dim-sum dishes (can't remember) and was very pleased with all of them! The prawns in the prawn & chive dumplings were fresh and crunchy, and didn't have that 'chewy' pre-frozen texture, which is good. The char-sui buns were fluffy and the pork center was delicious. However, my favourite were the pork sui-mai, as they had a flavorful broth and delicious flavour, I highly recommend them.

My boyfriend (sadly not a fan of dim-sum) ordered egg-fried rice, smoked chicken, and beef in black bean sauce. Had a little taste of these too, and all were very nice!

I would have given the experience a 5/5, however unfortunately our meal was let down by couple of minor things; Firstly the chocolate ice cream we ordered was 'icy' and rather than creamy, and I kept finding myself crunching down on bits of ice - I feel that maybe it'd been frozen for too long/too low temp. Secondly, the coke I ordered was almost completely flat. Also, just a suggestion: It would be nice if dipping sauces were brought out along with the dim-sum.

Other than that, we had a lovely meal in your restaurant, and will definitely visit again! It will be interesting to see if the minor issues we had will be resolved next time. :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steff_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    81
    25
    9
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“yummyy”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Delicious dim sums,the only place to get them around here,friendly staff,good atmosphere,will defenatelly go back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“mediocre at best”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We just had dinner at naturally chinese and after reading all the good reviews I must say I am very very disappointed! The orange juice didn't taste like oranges and the vegetables used to cook came from a can!!! We order half a bottle saki and they brought over half a glass saying thats all they have but its on the house. Unless the people who reviewed this restaurant as 'excellent' or 'best meal I ever had', never tried good, fresh chinese food, I cannot explain the positive reviews. Everything tasted fake and bland and we pray we won't get food poisoning from the canned prawns!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not your average Chinese”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I am not usually too fussed about going for a Chinese but this place has changed my mind. Wonderfully fresh and more authentic than your average Chinese restaurant. We had some nice simple dumplings to start, but the star of the show were the clay pot stews, so delicious. We had two steaming pots... One minced pork and aubergine, and one beef brisket. Both smelled amazing and tasted even better, just wonderful. Rich and satisfying. We'd also been tempted by the crispy pork belly but we ate early and were told it wasn't out of the oven yet. We'll definitely be back for that...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SirLance80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Tasty”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Really enjoyed eating here .Food was full of flavour and distinctive though portions are on the small side.Service was fine but they did seem to find it a personal affront when we ordered plain tap water for the kids.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naturally Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Teddington, Richmond-upon-Thames
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Naturally Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing