We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Sarab restaurant

Sarab restaurant
Ranked #12 of 116 Restaurants in Surbiton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $44
Cuisines: Persian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Excellent ...
Food is excellent ....
is cooked professionally
And the price you pay is worth it big time ,,,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    40
    14
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, authentic experience”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I visited Sarab with friends for my birthday in February 2013. I had a craving to eat Lebanese food and found Sarab through Tripadvisor. The previous reviews didn't disappoint - we had a great evening - the food is excellent and reasonably priced. You can bring your own wine and there is no corkage charge. The staff are friendly and attentive, and the experience feels authentic. Definitely somewhere I will not hesitate to visit again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incompentent and very average.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

As a man married to an Iranian lady, I've been to a fair share of Iranian restaurants in and around London and this really doesn't compare very well.

Service is dreadful and frankly incompetent on many levels. The Saturday night staff (one lady out front, the manager/owner running back and forth, and a chef) struggled to manage service at 30% capacity. Luckily we left before the place filled up. God knows how long those poor folks waited for their meals, drinks or even acknowledgement.

The food is very average. Reading the other reviews and having made a quick assessment of the customers the only conclusion I can come to for those positive remarks is these people have a low benchmark or nothing to compare this against. Iranian rice, when cooked well, is the best rice in the World. What came out was stodgy and at about the same standard that I could cook at home. The meat should be juicy and not like something your dad overcooked on the BBQ.

Iranian hospitality is something they pride themselves on and ingrained in their culture (certainly in the hospitality industry). The Iranian manager is an embarrassment on that front. Our bill was delivered before we were asked for teas or dessert as he tried to usher us out the front door before the next set of unsuspecting and soon to be disappointed customers.

Luckily for this business - there's very little competition in the area and plenty of folks willing to try 'Persian' cuisine with no authentic experience for comparison.

Never again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank dominic p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best local with real atmosphere”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was a surprise treat, with real bread being made next to the table, cheap corkage, friendly banter and a wide range of punters all coming for really good food. Children made to feel very welcome, and as a result were well behaved.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
“Nice family run restaurant”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant after recommendations from friends who lived nearby. It was easy to park near the restaurant.

There were a few tables already seated when we got there and there was only one person serving. So we had a little wait to order but it was ok.

We started on our byo wine while we waited and then ordered the bread, 3 starters and one main to share. She recommended just one bread as they were big so we went on that advice.

The bread was big however it was so delicious and so nice straight out the oven that we ordered another! Plus we had some of the delicious hummus and also eggplant dip left do why not!! Both of these were delicious as was the salad. We had a little bread left so we also ordered some yoghurt and mint dip which then came with the lamb main. The main was pretty big and there was a lot of rice so we were pretty stuffed after this that there was no room for dessert.

The restaurant was full and turning people away by 8 and it had a nice buzz. The owners were friendly and service was a little slow but we didn't mind. A lot of the people in seemed to be regulars as well.

When the bill came they had forgotten the extra dip and bread which we highlighted to her and she added the dip but not the bread to the final bill.

We would definitely return next time we are in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbournep2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarab restaurant also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 

Been to Sarab restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing