We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changes for the worse”
Review of Zizzi - Surbiton

Zizzi - Surbiton
Ranked #69 of 116 Restaurants in Surbiton
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Zizzi we like to do things a little differently. We don’t do over-complicated recipes or scrimpy portion sizes. We’re all about the well-chosen ingredients, simply put together to make exceptional Italian food.Dine al fresco with an outdoor dining area for sunny weather. The original facade of the converted post office is integrated beautifully with the modern decor inside. Leather booths and chandeliers on the staircase are just some of the features used to pull some of Surbiton’s swankiness inside. And as it was the home of Rupert Bear’s creator, Alfred Bestall, we just couldn’t resist a subtle nod the bear himself here and there.Dine al fresco with an outdoor dining area for sunny weather.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Changes for the worse”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked a table for two at Zizzi on a thursday at 19.00Hrs.

Restaurant was quiet and we attended two quite quickly, but I do wish you were not just given a menu but asked if you would like a drink before they disappear ( do they not wish to make money).

My partners food was good but the same could not be said of mine. I ordered a Calzone which until now I have really enjoyed. What I was given was a Calzone that was undercooked and lacking in filling. The presentation was also very poor, served on a round wooden platter with a small dish of some tomato mixture. This is a Head Office policy of no garnish to save a few shilling. Big mistake as they have lost a frequent customer.

The Calzone was that bad that they removed it from the bill. Had they asked me how the food was part way through the meal it may have been corrected. Another example of service going down hill at chain restaurants and they do not seem to care.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerenceSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    53
    40
    35
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Poor service, uncomfortable special event”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Visited with a large party to celebrate a friend's birthday at a "dinner theatre" evening. A group of actors recreated famous movie scenes set in restaurants over the course of the evening. It would be unfair to review their performance, but it got off to a bad start with a pre-performance speech from an old man who seemed very pleased with himself (not sure if he was part of the troupe or from the restaurant) announcing that there were likely to be various technical hitches and the audience should therefore please bear with them if the performance wasn't very good. He also then made a joke about refunding the ticket price if we weren't satisfied, his punchline being that as we were paying for a set menu, the theatre part of the ticket was in fact free. Audience expectations duly lowered the evening continued...

Service was dismal. The staff seemed flustered and reluctant to take an order or make eye contact until the glass of prosecco as part of the fixed-price menu arrived around half an hour after we had been seated. Food was also from a set menu, and we were served very shortly after the prosecco. Or rather the majority of the table was served: two diners had to wait for an additional half hour, and when the final plate of food arrived it was missing two components. The two vegetarians fared worse, as the waiting staff appeared unable to understand what providing a vegetarian option involved: having been told twice that neither ate fish, the manager suggested calamari as a possible replacement for something with meat in it. No thought had been given to making the experience of non meat-eaters resemble that of the rest of the party, and they too were served when the majority of the table had finished their food.

I'm giving this two stars rather than one because there was a certain accommodation on the part of the restaurant for their running out of the wine we were drinking, and they did, when asked, knock an amount off the bill to account for the delays, the food which never arrived and the shambolic service. But in all honesty, a restaurant which can't deliver a set menu on time to covers who were presumably mostly pre-booked should not be trying to do "special" evenings at all, and certainly making vegetarian diners feel uncomfortable and second-class is inexcusable in 2013. One final irritation was the manager's refusal to be drawn on whether or not the actors were being paid for their efforts: difficult to see where the extra money was going - certainly not on providing enough staff for the evening, nor seemingly stocking enough food or drink.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brother T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went with my girlfriend on a Tuesday evening after we found a 50% of main meals deal. I have been to Zizzi’s a few times and always have good food there, nothing amazing but good. The same could be said about our latest visit. I had a pizza which was half spicy sausage and half prawns which was really flavoursome and well cooked, my girlfriend had a seafood pasta which was very nice just a bit spicy. We washed it down with a very reasonably priced bottle of prosecco at £22. The problem was the service was dreadful, we sat down at about 7pm and the place was almost empty we ordered the prosecco and then it started to get busy and the staff forgot about us we waited ages then had to get up and go and get someone to order our food. Getting the plates cleared away and the bill was just as difficult and again we had to get up, suffice to say we did not include a tip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK food and service”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We chose the restaurant while walking - no plan, no booking. Food was average Italian offerings, no issues with quality. Would I eat here again? Probably.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRAmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very average food, but family friendly”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The food is pasta and pizza and risotto mostly, with a special and a couple of salads. That sounds extensive but as a person who prefers a light carbs, low fat diet there is actually little to eat on the menu. The Sicilian antipasti is nice, the seabream special was dull and served with a ton of potatoes. I like that they have calorie details for each dish, but they should also list the carb and protein and fat content too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lemanieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zizzi - Surbiton also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Twickenham, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Zizzi - Surbiton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing